We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Home Away from Home in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sherry-Netherland Hotel to your Saves list
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Windsor, Ont, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Home Away from Home in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We recently stayed at the Sherry with my husband's parents - for my father in law's 80th birthday. Our suite/rooms were amazinginly spacious for NYC, charming, and comfortable. The hotel was clean, quiet, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel offers more of a "residence" feel than a standard hotel, and the locations is unbeatable - across the street from Central Park, in the heart of Fifth Avenue shopping, and within walking distance to Rockfeller Center and Times Square (if you enjoy walking). We found the hotel quiet and a terrific place to relax in the evening after exploring the city all day and night. We only used the fitness facility once because the weather is perfect for jogs in Central Park instead, but did find it a bit small and outdated compared to other high end hotels. Room service is available at Cipriani downstairs, and we used it for breakfast, which was good - although the breakfast cutoff hours and staff at Cipriani were not ideal - no fault of the Sherry though, as they are not under the same management and operate independently. We loved our stay at the Sherry overall and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    36
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
115
169
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orlado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great staff, best location and old world charm. We love the Sherry! Just across the street from the park and if you are up for walking, a walk to and from the theatre, my husband and I did it and we are in our 50's.We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Location location... across the road from central park and walking distance to many attractions, with character and old world charm...thankyou Mr Louis Sherry for founding such a beautiful hotel. Beautiful decor and the rooms are well furbished with antiques and chandeliers. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite...absolutely fabulous. Apartment living in the best locale in town....lounge, dining, kitchen and bedroom with plenty of closet space and a glorious bathroom. Staff were very helpful ...very friendly ....fabulous service. The king room in which we started was also a reasonable size....nice decor with small bathroom...still value for money considering the location ...which is the most outstanding feature and benefit. Central Park to escape to and breathe...with many attractions within near or around the park....strawberry fields, walk trails, the lakes, zoo and gardens plus perimeter shopping and museum mile and much more... subway on the corner....and a fifth avenue address....uptown living at its best. Overall oustanding Sherry Netherland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Sherry is my home away from home. My business takes me there often, I arrive with chocolates, flowers and a hand written note from the Management. No request is denied, there is a sense of old world service which at most hotels are a thing of the past, well 5 Star Service is alive and well here.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Excelent hotel, staff, location and accomodations. Big, nice and clean rooms and suites. Expectacular view to Central Park from rooms.
Service was incredible. If you ask something by phone, concierge send someone that arrives to your room in less than two minutes to solve the problem. I had never seen a fast and efficient service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Was a experience to remember. Great place to stay and place to be for a visit while in new york city... ,ALSO look forward to going back in the near future and making the sherry netherlands hotel my honeymoon stay...BE...The sherry netherlands hotel and staff made me and my lady feel very welcome to be there....Thank you all again

Room Tip: Would Advise a corner room on the south side where you have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is a gem, old world charm, beautiful appointed rooms, stunning location right across the road from Central Park and 10 minutes walk to Times Square, 7 of us stayed in 3 rooms and all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Sherry-Netherland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherry-Netherland Hotel

Address: 781 Fifth Avenue, At 59th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#7 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sherry-Netherland Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary of excellence and impeccable service in New York's most exclusive neighborhood. Majestically overlooking Fifth Avenue and Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland is recognized as one of New York's most important hotels.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sherry-Netherland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherry Netherland Hotel
The Sherry Netherland Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sherry-Netherland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.