We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #248 of 457 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Sheraton is within walking distance to everything! One way, you will be at Central Park within a few blocks, the other, Time Square. We prefer rooms on the higher level floors because you do hear sirens and noise outside at night the city that never sleeps! For a nice hotel; not much on toiletries as you would expect to find. Bring your own and you will be fine. Beds are super comfy. Room service is prompt and excellent. They offer a kids menu for room service as well which is a nice touch...the kids portions are generous.

Room Tip: Head to the higher level floors to escape street level noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello Americangirl64,

Thank you for the great feedback regarding our newly renovated rooms and the comfort of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper. We are happy to provide our guests a space where they can relax and renew. We are happy our hotel met all your needs during your stay

Your kind words regarding the quick and friendly service of our Food and Beverage Staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that!



Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    1,253
    585
    183
    95
See reviews for
875
811
106
601
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We arrived at the Sheraton in the midst of a hotel crisis. The hotel was completely full due to 200 passengers on a canceled plane going to Europe. We were greeted upon our arrival by a member of the hotel staff who very kindly explained the situation, apologized, and offered us $100 dollars in credit, free internet, and a 10:00 P.M. check-in. We felt the hotel handled things as well as possible and were not upset about the situation. We finally checked into our room in the evening and found it to be clean and fresh. The room was a decent size for Manhattan and the bed was very comfortable. My one real complaint would be the noise in our room which sounded like a wind tunnel. We never determined exactly the source but it continued throughout the entire weekend. (This was on the 10th floor.) Other hotel clients on this floor also were hearing the noise. Although there was nothing particularly great about this hotel, neither was it a bad experience. I would go back again to see how the hotel operates under a less stressful situation.

Room Tip: Avoid the wind tunnel noise on the 10th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello Mek99,

Thank you for the great feedback regarding our newly renovated rooms. We are happy to provide our guests a space where they can relax and renew. Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that!

I do want to apologize for the difficulties you had with the room noise during your stay. Our Director of Engineering takes this feedback very seriously and has been notified. We are always trying to improve our service and I want to thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us know what service specifically needs to be improved.

We at the Sheraton New York Times Square are so happy to hear you will be back for another stay in the future!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

When staying in NYC in the middle of winter it would be really nice to retreat to your hotel and relax in the surroundings... Not to be, this is the most chaotic hotel I've ever seen. The lobby is very small, for the amount of people checking in and out. There are 3 or 4 small lounges in the Lobby, one evening we found a seat at the front of the bar and were quickly told that if weren't ordering we could not sit there.
The hotel seemed heavily booked with conferences and business people.
Rooms are small, they accepted my booking for 2A/2C but realistically we didn't fit!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello Chebejos,

Thank you for offering us your review and guidance about your recent visit with us. I do want to apologize for the difficulties you had with the busy time in our Lobby, also your experience regarding our Staff service response while visiting our bar lounge. Our Directors of Food and Beverage and the Front Office have been notified. We are always trying to improve our service and I want to thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us know what service specifically needs to be improved.

On behalf of our team we apologize for your unpleasant experience while staying at the Sheraton New York Times Square and would love another chance to show you the experience you deserve.

Sincerely,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Busy but a very good hotel. Staff is friendly and rooms are decent size from NYC city perspective
. pls select a room with king size bed... Slightly bigger. location if fantastic though I was a bit
Apprehensive. Sleep quality was good as a very comfy bed and good linen

Room Tip: Avoid the floors which you access from first elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello Kash8813,

Thank you for the great feedback regarding our newly renovated rooms and the comfort of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper. We are happy to provide our guests a space where they can relax and renew. We are happy our hotel met all your needs during your stay

Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team. I agree our location is perfect. Being located near Times Square, Central Park and Theaters it is so easy to get around and see all parts of the great city of New York.

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Bustling part of town - this is a great location to stay at - easy walking to Central Park / Times Square and beyond. Staff are friendly and efficient - Like all NY hotels the cost is high so value for money is not really relevant in this supply vs demand world.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello K9TLS,

Thanks so much for your kind review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed our location and its proximity to all that New York has to offer but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to provide our guests a space where they can relax and renew. We are thrilled to hear your wonderful service comments our staff constantly provides great service daily and look forward to sharing your comments with our team.

We certainly hope you will choose to stay with us in the future the next time you are in New York City.

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto De Caza
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

it is near the theatres, central park and shopping. it is a crowded hotel. people everywhere. one great thing is the concierge. he steered us to restaurants, how to walk to the theatres. and gave us a clue for breakfast at Georgios diner that was the best.

rooms are not large. the beds are comfy and the one complaint is the air vent is right next to the bed so when I kicks in you know it.. nice TV and friendly staff at the main counters.

Room Tip: we were on the 36th floor. I think the view can be a big difference but how long are you in the room...
See more room tips
Green Features: very eco green..they paid attention to that. sheets towels and daily bed changes. they also had good coffee in the room
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello KathleenS


It sounds like you had such a memorable stay with us. It is so wonderful to hear that our Concierge Staff was able to make your stay with us more enjoyable! Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team. I am happy you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and the great comfort of the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper. It is great to hear that our central location added convenience to your stay. We hope to see you soon!


Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We booked a twin double bedded room for two nights for my husband and I and our 17 year old son. The trouble was my little boy (at 6’2’ & like a giraffe) had to have his own bed & indeed enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep in one bed whilst my husband and I left fighting for the doona in the smallest double bed of our trip - the worst night’s sleep since the plane trip over! It appears that all the twin beds in the Sheraton are the same size, it’s a small double it certainly ‘wasn’t the best night’s sleep you’ve ever’ and the only ‘incredible aargh from the Sheraton Sleepmaker bed’ was when one of us rolled over and elbowed the other, not quite as promised in the publicity.

Let’s talk about what is great about this hotel - if you like to be in the liveliest parts of New York, when you walk out at night into the lights of Times Square and say ‘Wow’, then this is for you. Our rooms were surprisingly quiet, given the location and had great black out window furnishings. The bed for one, is to give the marketing it's due, comfy. The berries at breakfast were superb. The majority of staff (once you got the right ones) were great and a special shout out to Joseph and Seher for their professional and concerned approach to make it right for us. The concierge, bell balls and baggage storage ($4 per bag bit of a what??? $4 a bag!!!) all delightful. The gym was good. The price was great booked through booking.com.

Not so great - The rooms are small but forgivable for New York, and still big enough for bigger sized double beds, you need to pick your time to check-in and checkout as there were queues, on the higher floors expect the lifts to be slow, and renovations to the front entrance are ongoing. No free wifi in the rooms (my pet hate) although complimentary with Starwood Membership and offered free of charge in the lobby. However the lobby is a zoo at all times of day and night - It did cross my mind to leave the giraffe down there to sleep…

In the end not needed as Seher sorted out a room for our second night, large enough for a rollaway bed. The giraffe still eyeing up one of the twin beds - Oh no you don’t, I roared that’s mine, you slept last night!!

Thanks Guys for a memorable stay, we do appreciate all you did to help us. My rating at Very good reflects the high service support and sheer effort to make things right for us :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello Little W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review there is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Your kind words regarding the service of our Staff are greatly appreciated. It is so wonderful to hear that Seher and Joseph were able to make your stay with us more enjoyable! Our staff truly cares for our guests and we love to see that shine through.

I do want to apologize for the difficulties you had with our delayed elevators and busy time in our Lobby. Our Director of the Front Office has been notified. We are always trying to improve our service and I want to thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us know what service specifically needs to be improved. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#138 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#183 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#204 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. Our Executive Conference Center has 11,000 sq ft of premium meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.