We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Front Desk Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #246 of 455 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great Front Desk Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I had an overnight stay and was compelled to mention the check in experience. I was greeted with the warmest welcome from guest service agents Nicole, Molly and Shirnette. They expertly handled the check in line engaging every guest on queue including yours truly.

Across the lobby, the concierge team of John, Kendra and Mike were extremely helpful as well.

Personable staff and great customer service makes all the difference in a large convention hotel. It adds the element of warmth in a hotel where a customer can easily get lost in the hustle and bustle pace of New York City.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello JPC789,


Thank you for taking the time to give up a review and for acknowledging how enjoyable your Front Desk check in service was with us we look forward to sharing your comments with our Staff! It is so wonderful to hear that our Front Desk and Concierge Staff were able to make your stay with us more enjoyable! Our staff truly cares for our guests and we love to see that shine through. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.

Thank you and please ensure you do visit us again and spread the happiness!


Warm regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    1,217
    562
    176
    92
See reviews for
848
784
103
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I had a wonderful time at this Hotel. The woman who checked me in amazing and helpful, she gave me her name but I misplaced the piece of paper :(. I look forward to my next stay and this she radon in the NYC.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hello Chrisflany,

Thank you for submitting this glowing review. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! Your kind words regarding the friendly check in service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team.

I agree our location is perfect. Being located near Times Square, Central Park and Rockefeller Center it is so easy to get around and see all parts of the great city of New York.

We at the Sheraton New York Times Square are so happy to hear you will be back for another stay in the future!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I stay often becuase of SpG but it's need of overhaul and staff needs retraining. I'm there every week and staff doesn't do anything to accommodate upgrades or even requests. The bathrooms are so small you can't sit on toilet without closing door first and then you still hit your knee. I've had numerous bad experiences with non helping bell hop people and security and baggage storage people are the worst. One redeeming is the concierge lounge staff I love.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hello TravelQueen15,

Thank you for offering us your review and guidance about your recent visit with us. I do want to apologize for the difficulties you had with the Security Staff during your stay, also your experience regarding the poor service response for our Bell Staff. Our Directors of Security and the Front Office have been notified. We are always trying to improve our service and I want to thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us know what service specifically needs to be improved.

On behalf of our team we apologize for your unpleasant experience while staying at the Sheraton New York Times Square and would love another chance to show you the experience you deserve.

Sincerely,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with my mum from the 16-21st Feb, it was booked as a package holiday with British Airways. We definitely were not dissapointed by our room, a little small but very comfy and cosy and the beds were amazing. The mini bar prices were very over the top but if you fancy snacks there are plenty of shops around to choose from. Whilst there we did not need an alarm clock as the building works next door started every morning at 7:30 sharp but that was not something the hotel could control. Our maid Hilneth Hunter was an absolute star, our room was spotlessly cleaned every day and she was a pleasure to chat with. The only things that let the hotel down were adding a huge $45pp booking fee to broadway tickets, book them direct with the box office and making you pay $4 a bag so you had some where to store your luggage! The Wardolf does not charge to store luggage!!! Overall we had an amazing time x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello Minuth79,

There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! I am happy you enjoyed the comfort of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper and our newly renovated rooms. We are happy to provide our guests a space where they can relax and renew.

Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! It is so wonderful to hear that Hilneth was able to make your stay with us more enjoyable! We are happy our hotel met all your needs during your stay!

Thank you and please ensure you do visit us again and spread the happiness!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Despite only staying for one night, the room I stayed in left a great impression on me. Although the rooms are small, they are also pretty cozy, and have a warm atmosphere. In addition, some rooms have a great view of the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello Soxblue,

I am so glad to hear that you had such an excellent stay with us. We try our best to go above and beyond and I am glad to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations.

I am happy you truly enjoyed the comfort of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper, spacious renovated rooms and great room views of the City. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We had recently (February 2014) stayed at the Sheraton NY Times Square hotel for 4 days with my husband. Our room was on the 49th floor. We had a King size bed which was comfy/firm but a little bouncy. The size of the room was great compare to other NYC hotel rooms. Bathroom was spacious, very clean, and comfortable. Room fridge had various drinks, and snacks as well as compact shaving kit, toothbrush, universal charger and adapter which I thought was very cool for international travelers. We had wifi included in our price but I don't think it's complimentary with all rooms. (We were on the preferred guest floor.) we had room service once and had the quesadilla which was delicious. Location is great. Only less than 5 min away from Times Square yet far enough from all that crowd and noise. Rockefeller center, 5th Ave only 5-10 min walk. Central Park 10 min walk away. My only issue was that the walls were pretty thin so if you had a loud neighbor you could hear everything. Other than that loved the Sheraton. Recommend it!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello Laural_M75,

Thank you for the great feedback regarding our newly renovated rooms and the comfort of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy to provide our guests a space where they can relax and renew.

I agree our location is perfect. Being located near Times Square, Central Park and Theaters and of course great shopping.

There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing that you would recommend us when coming to New York City! We look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Of course the location is perfect if you're coming to visit NYC.
This is a grand hotel and has all the attributes to it... great location, great looking lobby, good valet system, all facilities you need (incl. FedEx office).

Rooms: good size for NYC, if you're lucky to get a high-level room, you'll get an amazing view on the city! the air is quite dry due to the air conditioning, but that can be arranged with the room-service air humidifiers. The beds area really comfy and good.

Gym: good gym! pretty large and with a lot of equipment.

Lounge: the lounge is sort of hot and cold for me... I found it convenient as you get hot drinks all day... and some cereal bars and fruits... but the breakfast and snacks there are really cheap and disappointing (if you're not a fan - like me - of cheap bagels).

Overall great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello Travelholism,

I think our location is the best for sightseeing the great city of New York. It provides such easy accessibility you are able to see the entire city in short travel time. It is a quick subway ride to everywhere in the city.

I am happy you truly enjoyed the renovated rooms and the comfort for our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper and also the great room views of the City of New York. We are thrilled to hear your wonderful service comments our staff constantly provides great service daily and look forward to sharing your comments with our team.

I do want to apologize for the difficulties you had with the Buffet and condition of our Club Lounge. Our Directors of Food and Beverage has been notified. We are always trying to improve our service and I want to thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us know what service specifically needs to be improved. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in New York City
#137 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#181 Family Hotel in New York City
#190 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. Our Executive Conference Center has 11,000 sq ft of premium meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.