We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy moldy bathroom, dusty small rooms, slow service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #244 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Filthy moldy bathroom, dusty small rooms, slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this property each of the last 5 years as I have an annual convention here. By now I know what to expect - small rooms and bathrooms, well worn furniture and facilities and service that is uneven at best. So I came with minimal expectations. The first day was as expected but satisfactory given expectations. Then took a shower and found black mold in a number of spots! Requested the hotel take care of it and was greeted by a mg on duty who tried her best to address it, returned later to find the black mold was less and now gray. Room was beyond dusty, my allergies are a disaster. Watched housekeeping hang out in chairs in a guests's room for over a half hour one afternoon-hope it was on break. Most front desk staff appear resentful-no warmth. I'm guessing it comes from guests that are constantly complaining. One day watched guests in checking line for close to an hour! In summary, the hotel is just a notch up from a dump but acceptable at the price given it's location. I could go on and be more expansive with specifics but you get the idea.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello Sfwolff888


I apologize for all the challenges you had while visiting us recently but thank you for giving us this review so we can address all of your concerns.

First and foremost we would like to apologize for any unpleasant experiences you had with our Staff and Management during your stay.

I would like to arrange a time to speak with you directly to discuss all of your concerns and offer you some options that will help resolve the matter. Please contact me directly at (joseph.giordano@ Sheraton.com).


Thank you,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    765
    1,029
    451
    134
    85
See reviews for
677
645
89
474
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our first trip to the US to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday and we planned the
last week for New York! We stayed 4 nights at the Sheraton then moved to Greenwich.
We were feeling a little more weary than we had expected having already had 4 weeks of travel, after visitng Boston, Chicago, Washington and a fabulous 8 day New England "Fall" bus trip.
A very friendly welcome at check in and an unexpected upgrade lifted our spirits immediately.
Our recently renovated King room was on the 42nd floor with a glittering view up 7th Avenue to Times Square.
This hotel is very well located for all one would want to do around Time Square and Broadway.
Although the hotel foyer is never quiet with flight crews from several airlines coming and going as
well hundreds of guests, our room was a quiet sanctuary. Apart from room service on one occasion (very nice) we never ate at the hotel. One negative was our safe door faulted and they had to drill it open which then meant we didn't have a safe for part of our stay. We didnt
use the mini bar fridge which appeared to be one of those if you touch or remove any item even to have a look, you may be charged! There was a coffee machine and tea making facility, an iron and ironing board. Bathroom well equipped with shower over a tub. We found the shower control difficult to manage for temperature settings and the water pressure was not brilliant.
Overall the room was quiet, clean, well equipped, comfortable and in a fabulous location. All staff we had dealings with were extremely helpful, especially the doormen who knew their city and surrounds very well.
We were surprised to find that a "charge applied per bag" for storage for a few hours after check out! The first time ever that we have been charged in all our travels elsewhere in the world!
Would our good experience at the Sheraton have been the same if we had not been upgraded? Who can say, but from this experience, we would definately stay here again.
Beware of all the taxes which are added to your room rate and may not be emphasised when booking, unlike in Australia where the price includes the taxes. These multiple taxes can add hundreds $ to your bill.

Room Tip: Definately ask for a renovated room, well away from the lifts which are busy day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello Hopejoy13.



Thank you for taking the time to give up a review and for acknowledging how enjoyable your Front Desk service was with us we look forward to sharing your comments with our Staff! Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel met all your needs during your stay!

I think our location is the best for sightseeing located near Times Square, Central Park and Rockefeller Center and access to great shopping. It provides such easy accessibility you are able to see the entire city in short travel time it’s a quick subway ride to everywhere.

I do want to apologize for the difficulties you had with the mal function of the safe during your stay. Our Director of Engineering takes this feedback very seriously and has been notified. We are always trying to improve our service and I want to thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us know what service specifically needs to be improved.

We at the Sheraton New York Times Square are so happy to hear you will be back for another stay in the future!



Sincerely,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've been this week at the Sheraton Hotel Times Square with my wife and it is a great hotel for business or leisure. We were there for a week on vacation and the accommodations, location and service received by the hotel staff were excellent. We recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to stay in the heart of the Big Apple, close to everything that happens in the city.

Ricardo and Eliana Garcia

Room Tip: Suite # 4911 is very spacious and has a great view to 7th avenue and Time Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello Rpgarcia,

Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel met all your needs during your stay!

I think our location is the best for sightseeing located near Times Square Central Park and Rockefeller Center and access to great shopping. It provides such easy accessibility you are able to see the entire city in short travel time it’s a quick subway ride to everywhere. There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing that you would recommend us when coming to New York City! We hope to see you soon!

Warm regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

For a short weekend visit to New York, this hotel worked out perfectly. The rooms were fine (nothing stood out as special, but they were comfortable, clean, and everything worked), but the location was terrific. It's just a few minute walk from sites like Central Park, Moma, and Times Square. I wish I could have stayed longer.

The biggest surprise was that I got lucky and was able to find free street parking a couple of blocks away (probably only due to weekend). The Best Parking app and website was really helpful, showing which streets had free or metered parking during your designated time period.

I used Starwood Points so can't really comment on value if paying cash.

If there was a downside, it was that the club room was crowded and we couldn't get seats for everyone. Despite that, the overall stay was excellent and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello Whode,

Thank you for the great feedback there is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.

I agree our location is perfect. Being located near Times Square Central Park and Great Shopping it is so easy to get around and see all parts of the great city of New York.

We at the Sheraton New York Times Square are so happy to hear you will be back for another stay in the future!


Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a very busy Times Square Hotel catering to everyone - business, leisure, family - who needs a high-quality hotel at a reasonable rate. While not a luxury NYC hotel, the Sheraton provides everything you need to enjoy your visit - space, comfort, location, service, amenities.

I am most impressed by the attitude and personal attention of the staff and management. I stayed with a group of fellow colleagues and we had a couple of room snafus, that the manager, Adam, quickly resolved. That personal attention given, on a moments notice during a bustling time at the front desk, makes a world of difference when you're on the road and just need a place to settle down.

I will definitely return to this hotel when back in NYC on business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello CFRHallett,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review. There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Your kind words regarding the service of our Staff are greatly appreciated. It is so wonderful to hear that Adam was able to make your stay with us more enjoyable! Our staff truly cares for our guests and we love to see that shine through.

I agree our location is perfect. Being located near Times Square, Central Park, and Rockefeller Center with easy access to great shopping. We are so happy to hear you will be back for another stay in the future!

Warm regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand haven michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This Hotel is in a great location, close to everything. The rooms are spacious for NYC compared to others I have stayed at in the city. The staff was friendly but we did have to wait 45 min to check in on a Friday around 4pm.
the housekeeping is great and the rooms were very clean.The bathroom could have used a little update for a 4 star but was still clean.
we would defiantly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello Caseyathome03,

Thank you for the great feedback there is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. It is great to hear that our central location added convenience to your stay.

I do want to apologize for the difficulties you had with the delay check- in at the Front Desk. Our Director of the Front Office takes this feedback very seriously and has been notified. We are always trying to improve our service and I want to thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us know what service specifically needs to be improved. We look forward to your next visit!


Sincerely,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

$150M renovation is materially felt, if you're lucky to get an updated room. Speedy, friendly, and professional Starwood Platinum/Gold preferred check-in. Club lounge serves great wines (cost not included) by the glass and stunning views uptown and downtown. Overall, clean and centrally located mega-hotel and far better option for Starwood loyalists that need to keep budget under control.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello Knak,

I am very lifted by your review and very glad to hear how you enjoyed the great views and comfort of our Club Lounge. Your kind words regarding the quick check in and friendly service of our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team!

I think our location is the best for sightseeing located near Times Square Central Park and Rockefeller Center and access to great shopping. It provides such easy accessibility you are able to see the entire city in short travel time it’s a quick subway ride to everywhere.

Thank you and please ensure you do visit us again and spread the happiness!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. Our Executive Conference Center has 11,000 sq ft of premium meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.