We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel) (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #272 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fab hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed in a superior room on 36th floor. The hotel staff were polite and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed with great views, along with a massive bed, flat screen TV, well appointed fridge and well appointed en suite bathroom. We were provided with free Wifi for the duration of our stay. The location was fantastic, right in the centre of Times Square. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Times Square and many NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    1,455
    687
    219
    128
See reviews for
1,022
924
118
713
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (845)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great location, right on 7th Avenue, in walking distance to many tourist attractions, dining venues, shopping venues.
Joy at Front Desk and John at The Market buffet restaurant are extremely kind and helpful who really cared how we felt. We arrived at the hotel at about 1030am and Joy was doing the best to look for a room for us. Though she could not locate the room due to high occupancy, we had a very warm welcome and good chat about the hotel. We went to the Market to have breakfast and the team has extended the breakfast offer for us though it will end at 11am followed by a brunch. John has given us a lot of tips and guidance how to enjoy New York. He has personally approached the concierge for guide books and showed us the way at the hotel exit how to walk to different venues after breakfasts. We enjoyed the most the friendship and kindness of Joy and John. Wonderful staff that made the different and made us to remember and return to the venue in the future

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay! Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Times Square and many NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation. We look forward to your next visit!



Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Excellent hotel in a superb location, within an easy stroll of everything you could wish to see in New York. Our room was on the 27th Floor and facing to the side of the hotel so we didn't have any traffic noise which was great. It was spotless and cleaned each day. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was very clean with lots of nice white towels. THe reception staff were friendly and check in/out was smooth and easy. The concierge was really helpful with arranging our airport pick up- nothing was too much trouble. If we return to New York in the future we would not hesitate to stay at the Sheraton again

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet on the 27th floor and the lifts were very fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Times Square and many NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for four days at the end of May with my wife and daughter. We paid extra for the superior room and it was more than adequate for the 3 of us. We were up on the thirty second floor looking out onto Seventh avenue which was a great view.
As most other people have said it's a great location, three minute walk from Times Square and really walking distance to everything. Walked up to Central Park a few times which takes about twenty five minutes but there's plenty to see on the way.
We arrived at 2.45pm on Saturday afternoon expecting a wait to check in but it only took five minutes queuing.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were cleaned everyday with the towels changed daily.
All in all a good hotel which I would use again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Times Square and many NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at this hotel and first impressions were not too good as the front of the hotel was surrounded in scaffolding, however once inside reception it was lovely. The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in a superior room and requested two double beds as we had our grandson (aged 9) with us. The room was spotless and the rooms were cleaned daily. The bath is on the small side - my grandson almost managed to lie down! The wardrobe was large and surprisingly for hotel rooms there were plenty of coat hangers! On the Sunday my husband tried to use the safe within the wardrobe but it didn't work (it was probably his fault!). He reported it to the reception staff and they said that someone would be straight up to sort it out. Days later it still hadn't been sorted so I rang down to tell them and a maintenance man arrived a few minutes later. What a surly, unprofessional, ignorant, grumpy, nasty man he was too - although he did sort the problem out. We asked the Ticket/Tour desk to book tickets for a helicopter ride for my husband and grandson and Joshua was extremely helpful and very friendly. He told our grandson that he looked cute and that certainly made my grandson's day! Joshua made sure that we knew where we had to go and how to get there and to be there in plenty time - an absolute credit to Sheraton Hotel. One tip about the sightseeing buses - always use the Grayline red buses as there are hundreds of them. We bought tickets for the green sightseeing bus and always had to wait ages for one (they must only have a couple!). There were loads and loads of red ones. They are slightly dearer than the green bus but well worth the extra couple of dollars. The meals within the hotel are very expensive so we ate out all of the time. Great location. Would definitely stay again - as long as we didn't have to see the horrible, nasty maintenance man.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationManager, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is so wonderful to hear that Joshua was able to make your stay with us more enjoyable! Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Times Square and many NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation. There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing that you will return on your next visit to New York City!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The great thing about this hotel is it's location,a short walk to time square and a short walk the other direction to central park,there's also a subway station next door.
The rooms are comfortable with plenty of draws and stowage space and there are plenty of electrical sockets but don't forget your adapter.
We were on the 5th floor which meant that we did get some traffic noise mainly from sirens etc.
Our room was cleaned everyday and the whole hotel was spotless.I did notice that at least two airlines chose this hotel for their air hostesses,so it can't be that bad.
We did not eat anything in the hotel going across the road to the Premier dinner for breakfast and trying the New York restaurants in the evening.
The hotel has a very good gym but as most of the people in there were on the running treadmills it made me think why not run north two blocks to central park as we did and enjoy the park ?

Room Tip: The higher that you are the less noise you get from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Times Square and many NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days before our cruise.This is a great location,we were able to walk to many of the shows,and places to eat.I was so impressed with the staff,especially the management! I lost my phone in a cab,and happened to mention it to the manager,it wasn't their fault,and nothing really they could do about it.When we got in from our show there were chocolate covered strawberries,and champagne waiting.The managment left a note saying they felt bad about my phone,and hoped this would make it a little better.I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our hotel and staff met all your needs during your stay! Our location is second to none! We are just close enough to Times Square and many NYC attractions but a few blocks from the hustle and bustle to give our guests some relaxation. There is nothing that makes us happier than hearing that you will return on your next visit to New York City!

Warm Regards,

Joseph Giordano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in New York City
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Family Hotel in New York City
#209 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. Our Executive Conference Center has 11,000 sq ft of premium meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.