We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel) (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #272 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed over the Easter holiday so the hotel was really busy, the rooms are nicely renovated, the only down-side is the sound proofing within the hotel could be improved, but not bad enough to impact on your stay. The location is great in the heart of Times Square, also next to the subway so very handy, lots to explore in the local area. Try Rosie O'Grady's opposite for a great prime rib steak!

Room Tip: If I was staying again at a less busy time I would ask for a Times Square room just for a better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    1,458
    689
    219
    128
See reviews for
1,022
928
118
713
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Took my 13 year old granddaughter, who thought the beds were wonderful. Staff helpful, and it was nice to be able to check in early and leave luggage last day (for a price: $3.25 @ bag).

Be sure to check your bill. A couple of items we did NOT order were added, but when pointed out to them, they were immediately removed. The concierges were very helpful. If wifi is only available in the lobby, more seating should be provided. We had to sit on the stairs to use our ipads.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed in New York for 2 nights and 3 days. I would say its a nice hotel with a nice location. Everything in this hotel is expensive, snacks in the room are way over priced, plus our room never came with wifi it was only free in the lobby! Customer service was rude every time we called to ask a question.

Paid 190$ per night and got such a small room smallest hotel room I've ever stayed at!

I would rate this hotel 2.5/5 nothing better. Would I go here again no! There are hundreds of hotels in New York try and avoid this one

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Hall, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

While our stay over the Easter weekend was busy for Sheraton, the customer service was excellent. From the time we walked in to the hotel, the friendliness of the entire staff including hotel cleaning staff was great.
My 8 year old left her most favorite boots in the room when we left, and when we returned to Maryland I called to see if they found them. I believe the phone call back was from William Russell, Jr. He immediately sent me an email with a form to fill out and as soon as I faxed it back, I had the boots 3 days later by fedex. Props to Mr. Russell.
We had such a great time. Thanks for making our stay a memorable one. Definately be back soon.

Room Tip: Get a high room due to traffic noise. You can still hear it but it will lull you to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

my friend and i stayed for 6 nights late february. it was our first time in NYC. and it was awesome. Check-in was extremely fast (only one person before us). The staff was so friendly to us, the receptionist (Alex) was very nice. he was able to find a room at the 38th floor, beautiful view!!!! He also gave us a map and very useful advices!!! The cleaning ladies were great. They did a great job, when we left one even said to us :Bon Voyage!!! It was nice.
if we have the chance to come back to NYC it'll definitly be to SHERATON Times Square!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is great! The service is wonderful and you can't beat the location. Walking distance to the MOMA, Times Square, Central Park. If you don't want a long walk, subway is literally around the corner. Gian, who worked at the tickets and tours counter, was fabulous in getting tickets and great tips for local spots. We're already planning our return trip...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our original arrival time should have been 1am but due to police activity our train was held up in Philadelphia, I called around 12am to let them know we would be late and I was put on hold for 10 minutes with a soothing voice telling me that we were going to sleep in the best bed and have the best night sleep than any other hotel....we finally got through just to be told "yes that's fine" and hung up on....we did not arrive until almost 3am (Saturday night), we jumped straight into a taxi which took us the 10 blocks or so to the hotel and then charged us $27 so as you can imagine we arrived tired, a little upset and just wanting to go to bed. When we arrived their was 2 men behind the checking counter arguing with a single gentleman, we stood patiently for 20 minutes before we were finally given our key.

The room was just ok, clean but nothing special. In the morning we tried to use our coffee machine but it was broken so we called guest services the conversation went as follows:
Me: Hi, i'm just calling because my coffee machine isn't working
Her: Whats the problem?
Me: oh well it just won't switch on
Her: OK...................................and she hung up the phone. We got dressed and hung around for an hour but nobody came so we went downstairs and bought an over priced coffee before heading out. 5 hours later we returned to find nobody had been in our room at all, I tried to open the mini bar to take out my complimentary bottle of water only to find the top fall off and a circuit board fall out. I again called downstairs to tell them about the coffee machine and now the mini bar. 10 minutes later somebody came to fix them both.

Their was nothing about this place which would make me want to stay again. The only positive I can give the hotel is for the 2 young men at the concierge desk, they were very helpful with taxi advice and maps and tours and apologized for the rude woman at guest services. They gave us a complimentary umbrella when it was raining their friendly manner is the only thing stopping this review from being a one star!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in New York City
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Family Hotel in New York City
#207 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. Our Executive Conference Center has 11,000 sq ft of premium meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.