We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Times Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #248 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
La Habra, California
1 review
“In the heart of Times Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a newly remodeled hotel. joy at the front counter was very helpful friendly and takes the extra step to ensure guests are satisfied. This hotel is in walking distance of Broadway Shows Times Square and The David Letterman Show. The hotel is extremely busy. I recommend this hotel. Drop in and see Joy at the front counter she is awesome!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    765
    1,029
    454
    135
    86
See reviews for
680
645
89
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have stayed several times at this hotel, but our recent experience was not as good as previous ones. it is still fantastically located at least, that hasn't changed!

What you need to know: If you book through a third-party instead of directly with the hotel (Which we did, this time) , you will get an inferior room, and no advance service. At the desk, once you get there, they will tell you that there is no problem and they will attempt to address your issues, but the reservation staff will say, "we cannot see the reservation because it is wirth a third-party." While this may be true, is just silly because third-parties like Expedia and others let you make special requests and then tell you to follow up with the hotel.

Check your room: we were booked in a room where things were broken, and it took forever to get us assigned to a new room. The staff are very busy, and it is not their fault, but no one should have been put in the room in the first place. We were then moved to a connecting room, and got to hear our neighbor singing and talking all night.

Room service: , very slow because of how busy the staff is. Again, this is not staff's fault.

No extra cots or roll ins: . The hotel used to offer a the possibility of a roll in bed , but this has since been abolished because of "renovations" again, this is just silly. It is also a real pain for families with a single older child because you then have to take the "full size" beds, which are basically the size of doubles and not very comfortable.

Room Tip: upper floors are better, do not take a room that connects to the neighbors room unless you are fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

wonderful location, right next to times square and all the action! Smaller rooms though, but that's understandable given that it's nyc and every inch of real estate counts! Nice and friendly staff too. They did not give me an upgrade even though I am platinum with starwood, but well.. I was lucky to even get a reservation the day before a nice and sunny March weekend.
And yea, free wifi is always a bonus at Sheraton properties!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in the area and competition. By far this is the best hotel of them all. The rooms have been renovated although a little small they are very comfortable. The house keeping staff is very nice same as room service. I stayed in the hotel for three weeks. Any request i made was completed in the time communicated to me. From room requests to food. This hotel always has a chaotic lobby given by the amount of conferences in the building. So there is also significant noise in the hallways. I would say this is given by the size of the hotel. So i dont recommend staying here if your looking for the romantic getaway type hotel Other than that i think the hotel was great and in a close location to all key areas of the city

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had a great experience while staying here for a conference. Staff goes above and beyond, particularly Joy at the front desk. She helped out greatly! You cannot beat the location, tons of great restaurants and attractions within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent the Easter weekend here - lovely hotel - very busy but still plenty of room in the lobby and coffee/bar. Fantastic location for all NYC tourist spots - the hop-on hop-off buses leave from just up the road. The beds were unbelievably comfortable - 4 amazing nights sleep!

Room Tip: We had a 34th floor room - the lifts are very fast so no time wasting and no noise up high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We chose the hotel because of it's location near Times Sq and weren't disappointed. There was no issue with getting the rooms changed (we wanted the kid's room to be on the same floor) so we got 2 rooms on the 19th floor. The rooms itself are very small but adequately equipped. The hairdryer in our room was defect and we didn't get a replacement until departure, luckily that in the other room was working. Talking about small room, the bathroom is tiny but up to normal US standard. The rooms are serviced daily. We once had a problem in the bathroom and the service arrived within 10 minutes to fix it.
A metro station is just around the corner (B,D,E trains) and there's just a 5 minutes walk to Times Sq.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in New York City
#134 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#176 Family Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. Our Executive Conference Center has 11,000 sq ft of premium meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.