We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the hotel equivalent of McDonald's: okay, but mass production” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel) (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #288 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“This is the hotel equivalent of McDonald's: okay, but mass production”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have stayed several times at this hotel, but our recent experience was not as good as previous ones. it is still fantastically located at least, that hasn't changed!

What you need to know: If you book through a third-party instead of directly with the hotel (Which we did, this time) , you will get an inferior room, and no advance service. At the desk, once you get there, they will tell you that there is no problem and they will attempt to address your issues, but the reservation staff will say, "we cannot see the reservation because it is wirth a third-party." While this may be true, is just silly because third-parties like Expedia and others let you make special requests and then tell you to follow up with the hotel.

Check your room: we were booked in a room where things were broken, and it took forever to get us assigned to a new room. The staff are very busy, and it is not their fault, but no one should have been put in the room in the first place. We were then moved to a connecting room, and got to hear our neighbor singing and talking all night.

Room service: , very slow because of how busy the staff is. Again, this is not staff's fault.

No extra cots or roll ins: . The hotel used to offer a the possibility of a roll in bed , but this has since been abolished because of "renovations" again, this is just silly. It is also a real pain for families with a single older child because you then have to take the "full size" beds, which are basically the size of doubles and not very comfortable.

Room Tip: upper floors are better, do not take a room that connects to the neighbors room unless you are fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    1,666
    804
    258
    158
See reviews for
1,191
1,072
139
799
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (971)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

wonderful location, right next to times square and all the action! Smaller rooms though, but that's understandable given that it's nyc and every inch of real estate counts! Nice and friendly staff too. They did not give me an upgrade even though I am platinum with starwood, but well.. I was lucky to even get a reservation the day before a nice and sunny March weekend.
And yea, free wifi is always a bonus at Sheraton properties!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels in the area and competition. By far this is the best hotel of them all. The rooms have been renovated although a little small they are very comfortable. The house keeping staff is very nice same as room service. I stayed in the hotel for three weeks. Any request i made was completed in the time communicated to me. From room requests to food. This hotel always has a chaotic lobby given by the amount of conferences in the building. So there is also significant noise in the hallways. I would say this is given by the size of the hotel. So i dont recommend staying here if your looking for the romantic getaway type hotel Other than that i think the hotel was great and in a close location to all key areas of the city

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had a great experience while staying here for a conference. Staff goes above and beyond, particularly Joy at the front desk. She helped out greatly! You cannot beat the location, tons of great restaurants and attractions within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent the Easter weekend here - lovely hotel - very busy but still plenty of room in the lobby and coffee/bar. Fantastic location for all NYC tourist spots - the hop-on hop-off buses leave from just up the road. The beds were unbelievably comfortable - 4 amazing nights sleep!

Room Tip: We had a 34th floor room - the lifts are very fast so no time wasting and no noise up high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We chose the hotel because of it's location near Times Sq and weren't disappointed. There was no issue with getting the rooms changed (we wanted the kid's room to be on the same floor) so we got 2 rooms on the 19th floor. The rooms itself are very small but adequately equipped. The hairdryer in our room was defect and we didn't get a replacement until departure, luckily that in the other room was working. Talking about small room, the bathroom is tiny but up to normal US standard. The rooms are serviced daily. We once had a problem in the bathroom and the service arrived within 10 minutes to fix it.
A metro station is just around the corner (B,D,E trains) and there's just a 5 minutes walk to Times Sq.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our group of 12 had been scammed by an apartment resident, who had rented out his apartment at 211 W. 53rd St., NYC to 7 different parties for the same period of time. This guy claimed there was a plumbing problem in the building and referred us to "his sister property", the Sheraton. After presenting 2 credit cards that were not valid, and the promise to "follow up later", the guy left us with the Sheraton bill unpaid, and never refunded all of our full week's payment on the apartment.
Alexander Fish, manager at the Sheraton was aware of our predicament and immediately discounted our hotel rooms, and allowed our group to use the corporate hospitality lounge for the stragetizing meetings to work our way out the financial losses. The hotel staff really went above and beyond expectations. Thank you Sheraton!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
New York Hilton Midtown
#339 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 6,933 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#179 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 5,124 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#116 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#60 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,465 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#47 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,321 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#175 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 6,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Green Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#209 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
#228 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. Our Executive Conference Center has 11,000 sq ft of premium meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.