We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #259 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Huge hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Old renovated and huge hotel in midtown, fantastic location, internets free in the lobby. Rooms were large for NYC standards, dated a bit, but clean. Bathroom was older but again clean. Priced lower than most surrounding places, based mainly on the age of the place I guess. Checkin was slow by the sheer volume of people checking in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
SugarSammy,

Thank you for the review. We are excited to be celebrating our 50th anniversary this year! Our new renovation has given us a whole new look and feel and we are so proud of the new product. Our location is second to none and we are pleased it met your needs and expectations, we hope you will be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    1,313
    611
    195
    110
See reviews for
924
850
110
618
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and the location was just fabulous. It was right next to Radio city where we saw the Rockettes Christmas spectacular. We went during the holiday season and so we were very close to the big Christmas Tree at the Rockefeller center. It was only a two-minute walk to Times Square. Also, quick walk to several different subway stations. It was also an easy walk to Madison Square Park where we had lunch and dinner.

The rooms were very nice and clean. Since everything was great, we didn't have to deal with any of the hotel staff.

Room Tip: higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Kathy P,

There is nothing better than hearing that everything was great during your stay! Like you said, our location is so close to so much it is ideal for any type of traveler. We are glad to hear our location added convenience to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went to New York for Christmas and were very happy with this hotel. Very clean hotel with really fast lifts. We were on the 45th floor at the end of the corridor and had a lovely view. Enjoyed the filtered coffee machine in the room which you can use for tea also. Lovely big, comfortable beds with flat screen TV,s and iPod speakers.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor in quite location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
LittleKent,

We are glad you chose to spend Christmas with us! There is nothing quite like NYC during the holidays and we are glad our hotel met all of your needs and expectations. Our team hopes to welcome you back next holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I normally stay at the Marriott in New York (Eastside) as we are platinum members but the prices were very expensive at the time we wanted to travel. We got a good rate for this hotel on priceline.

We were impressed by this hotel and especially the customer service. It is an extremely busy hotel so you aren't getting that personalized service you would get at the Marriott but it was worth the price.

We arrived around 6pm on a Saturday night and requested a room on a higher floor and possibly a corner room (Murphy room) as I had read good reviews about them. We were served by Marcia who was wonderful. She tried her best to get us a Murphy room but there were none available. She upgraded us to a superior King room on the 48th floor. The room wasn't available at that time so Marcia gave us a voucher for dinner at the hotel restaurant. It was much appreciated as we had travelled from Seattle and hadn't had dinner yet.

The room was lovely and had everything we needed.

As most reviewers have mentioned the location is excellent. It is in between times square and central park.

We ate at the Halal Guys cart on 53rd and 6th a couple of times. Their food is DELICIOUS and a must while in New York. There is often a line for a reason. It is well worth the short wait.

Don't bother with the deli opposite the hotel. It is very expensive and nothing has prices on it. If you want a bottle of water, go to one of the local supermarkets / Pharmacies which are nearby.

We weren't able to get late check-out on the last day which meant we had to pay $3.75 per bag. If you want a fridge in your room you also need to pay for that.

The internet wasn't working one night in the lobby so we were given free wifi in our room for 24 hours without hesitation. Again, good customer service.

We would stay here again for the right price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor that is not directly facing another building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
HonestAndFair11,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Our team is glad to hear that you chose to stay with us and enjoyed your time here. Marcia is another example of the friendly and helpful service we strive for here. We hope you chose to come back and stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

helpful at check in although a very busy hotel - stayed on the 26th floor corner room looking down 7th avenue - nice view - nice room ( 42 ich plasma), clean as would expect . Bathroom nice clean - be warned new york bath is in not a uk bath more a deep shower to stand in ! and the toilet plumbing made me laugh the sounds made me think super mario bros lol not quite sure of the link there !!!!! concierge as well as lift concierge! maybe they give him another name ( little stand by the lifts)always helpful, the hotel is like old worldy meets new (refurb) style of hotel and location perfect - if we come to New York again would more than likely stay here again - big shout to my crazy Senegalese taxi driver who picked us up from qm2 to hotel and took us to JFK-
fn- no funny smells on linen and can confirm they are not using the recycled water company anymore to clean sheets in etc ! crazy Americans if you wash things in dirty water it wont come up clean even if eco friendly - bet the person who thought that that idea drives a Toyota Prius
cannot comment on food as always out and exploring

Room Tip: go higher corner of 7th for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
sean b,

Thank you for your feedback. Our new guest room renovation has given us a whole new look and feel and we love to hear our guests opinions. We are happy our facilities met your needs and expectations and we hope you come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel has a great location - a quick walk to several subway stations, across the street from a tourism Center and near a lot of restaurants. It's an easy walk to Times Square. Our room was spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: A room on a higher level will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Spooky C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. There is nothing better than hearing that all aspects of our hotel met your needs and expectations. Please come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile


What a fabulous hotel. The room (36th Floor) was superb. The location was unbelievable a two minute walk in the heart of Times Square (Theatre (spelt the English way!) Land). The price was very reasonable (considering the location and comfort of the hotel). The breakfast was first class. I have stayed in many hotels, in many cities, but what made the Sheraton stand out for me was the staff. They were so attentive and friendly and went out of their way to make you feel welcome.

If you are planning on visiting NYC the Sheraton Towers is a great base. I might even see you in the future because I am certainly going back to NYC and the Sheraton Towers.


Angela Harney

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Angela H,

Thank you for the great feedback! We are so happy to hear that we stand out among the hotels you have stay at in the past. Our team works hard to make each guest experience a great one and we love to see that shine through! Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Family Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. Our Executive Conference Center has 11,000 sq ft of premium meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Amex, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.