We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #252 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
No. VA
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had several events at the Rockefeller Center and Radio City Music Hall, so the Sheraton New York was a great location. The rooms were very nice, but just a bit small. The Front Desk staff were excellent and very helpful. Its a good place to stay if you're going to be in the Times Square/Rockefeller Center area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
mlowder500,

Thank you for the review. It is pleasing to hear that our location and facilities met your needs and expectations during your time with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and look forward to passing it on to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    1,261
    594
    183
    99
See reviews for
883
819
107
601
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in October and absolutely loved it!

Like all Sheraton's, the Sheraton New York Times Square was fantastic! Being so well located, we felt we were in the best position to see New York for the first time.

The hotel is right above a subway station, so we found ourselves easily being able to come back if we forgot something or just wanted a quick rest during the day. It is also within easy walk distance of Times Square, some great restaurants on 9th Ave, Central Park, shopping on 5th Ave, plus the David Letterman studios which we were lucky enough to get tickets to in the lottery draw.

The wi-fi is only free in the hotel lobby which is unfortunate as it is quite a busy area! Although we would prefer free wi-fi in the room, we were able to make do by using it on our way out / in via the lobby.

Rooms are nice and large with modern furnishings, and the beds are perfect for a great night's sleep after a long day site-seeing!

Overall we would definitely stay here again for a short trip! However now that I feel I know my way around I would probably consider staying closer to less touristy areas e.g. Soho.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
annav88,

Thank you for the great review, we are glad you thought our hotel was fantastic! It is great that you were able to take advantage of our central location and nearby transit stops! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Just came back from a 1 night stay at this hotel. It was perfectly located for us to walk everywhere. The hotel lobby was busy, especially the bag check, but otherwise we had no problems. Room was big by NYC standards, and beds were very comfortable. Overall, it was a good experience and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
jw9691,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. There is nothing better than hearing that our guests had absolutely no problems during their time with us. Our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds get a lot of attention for how comfortable they are! We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Sheraton was a good place to stay.
Rooms were comfortable but a little small but i guess that's New York.
A bit of noice from the street during night but i guess that's as well New York.
Otherwise everything else was perfect.
As they figured out that we were in NY due to my partners birthday they sent up a complimentary snack of cheeses and two bottles of wine. That's very much apreciated.

Room Tip: The higher up the less noise from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Wittsjo,

Thank you for the great review. Guest satisfaction is always our number one goal and we are so happy to have succeeded. We are glad you enjoyed the wine and cheese and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for a week as part of a package. It is very well located within a short walking distance of many subway lines and not far from Times Square and Central Park. But because of this they are extremely busy. We arrived exhausted at 6pm and our rooms weren't ready. They very kindly sent us off for a free meal in their burger restaurant...but I would have preferred a shower! They seem to do this every night so don't expect your room to be ready even if you arrive well past check-in time. Very good room, but the window was broken and so the room was a little noisy. When we reported it the next day they tried to fix it but couldn't and offered to find us somewhere else. But the hotel was too full to find us anything nearly as good or an upgrade that we were happy to pay for, so we decided not to move. Staff try their best in the hotel, but are so busy that they are limited in what they can do so don't expect to be made to feel special, just enjoy the location.

Room Tip: higher floors have extra fast lift which is fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Braithwaite422,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that our central location added to your New York experience. On behalf of our team we do apologize for your broken window and being unable to move you to a different room, the holidays are such a busy time in NYC. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is in a great location within walking distance to Times Square, Rockerfellar Plaze, Fifth Avenue, and Central park. The staff was friendly and it was very quiet. The elevators are super fast and we never waited more than a minute or two on a busy weekend (Thanksgiving). The rooms were spacious by NY standards (bathroom large enough to get dressed in it).

Room Tip: don't be afraid to get a room high up; you don't hear the street noise and the elevators ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
VADocMom,

Thank you for the great feedback. It is great to hear that our guest rooms and amenities met your needs and expectations and our location added convenience to your trip. Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We recently stayed at the Sheraton New York and loved the location. It is the perfect proximity to Times Square, 5th Avenue, Broadway and Central Park. The hotel was recently renovated and has nice amenities to boot. We have stayed at the Ritz Carlton Central Park, NYC Hilton, W Times Square, The Marriott Marquis, The Waldorf, The Hudson, The Renaissance Times Square, The Crown Plaza and many others but loved this location best. Outstanding value - Definitely would go back!

Room Tip: Recommend the upgrade to the Club Lounge Floor (44 or higher) for the lovely views and use of the cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
imagointraveling,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Our location is one of our best assets making it simple and easy for our guests to get just about anywhere in the city. It is amazing to hear that you loved our location the best! There is no better feedback we can ask for, we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#204 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. Our Executive Conference Center has 11,000 sq ft of premium meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.