We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #259 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Sheraton was a good place to stay.
Rooms were comfortable but a little small but i guess that's New York.
A bit of noice from the street during night but i guess that's as well New York.
Otherwise everything else was perfect.
As they figured out that we were in NY due to my partners birthday they sent up a complimentary snack of cheeses and two bottles of wine. That's very much apreciated.

Room Tip: The higher up the less noise from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Wittsjo,

Thank you for the great review. Guest satisfaction is always our number one goal and we are so happy to have succeeded. We are glad you enjoyed the wine and cheese and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    1,313
    613
    195
    110
See reviews for
924
851
110
619
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for a week as part of a package. It is very well located within a short walking distance of many subway lines and not far from Times Square and Central Park. But because of this they are extremely busy. We arrived exhausted at 6pm and our rooms weren't ready. They very kindly sent us off for a free meal in their burger restaurant...but I would have preferred a shower! They seem to do this every night so don't expect your room to be ready even if you arrive well past check-in time. Very good room, but the window was broken and so the room was a little noisy. When we reported it the next day they tried to fix it but couldn't and offered to find us somewhere else. But the hotel was too full to find us anything nearly as good or an upgrade that we were happy to pay for, so we decided not to move. Staff try their best in the hotel, but are so busy that they are limited in what they can do so don't expect to be made to feel special, just enjoy the location.

Room Tip: higher floors have extra fast lift which is fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Braithwaite422,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that our central location added to your New York experience. On behalf of our team we do apologize for your broken window and being unable to move you to a different room, the holidays are such a busy time in NYC. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is in a great location within walking distance to Times Square, Rockerfellar Plaze, Fifth Avenue, and Central park. The staff was friendly and it was very quiet. The elevators are super fast and we never waited more than a minute or two on a busy weekend (Thanksgiving). The rooms were spacious by NY standards (bathroom large enough to get dressed in it).

Room Tip: don't be afraid to get a room high up; you don't hear the street noise and the elevators ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
VADocMom,

Thank you for the great feedback. It is great to hear that our guest rooms and amenities met your needs and expectations and our location added convenience to your trip. Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We recently stayed at the Sheraton New York and loved the location. It is the perfect proximity to Times Square, 5th Avenue, Broadway and Central Park. The hotel was recently renovated and has nice amenities to boot. We have stayed at the Ritz Carlton Central Park, NYC Hilton, W Times Square, The Marriott Marquis, The Waldorf, The Hudson, The Renaissance Times Square, The Crown Plaza and many others but loved this location best. Outstanding value - Definitely would go back!

Room Tip: Recommend the upgrade to the Club Lounge Floor (44 or higher) for the lovely views and use of the cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
imagointraveling,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Our location is one of our best assets making it simple and easy for our guests to get just about anywhere in the city. It is amazing to hear that you loved our location the best! There is no better feedback we can ask for, we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Still waiting in the slowest ever checkin line. We've been here for over 40 minutes. This hotel should be embarrassed about such a brutal wait. There is ONE person checking us in and the line extends for up to 40 people. An aircrew showed up and took one of the personnel. Stay somewhere else

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
George A,

Thank you for your review. First and foremost we would like to apologize for the unpleasant check-in experience you had. We can assure you this is not the norm for us and we would love another chance to give you a great experience. We hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here two times in November in 2012~!!
Mrs. Joy helped me so much--she is a such wonderful lady.
Because of her nice and amazing service made me went back to use this hotel again.

Thank you so much for great service:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
kiminyoung,

Thank you so much for the kind words regarding Joy from our front desk team. Joy is an example of the type of friendly service we always strive for. We look forward to passing on your feedback to Joy and the rest of our front desk team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Only stayed for the night before thanksgiving. The hotel was very crowded due to the parade right outside their door! The room was immaculate, the staff very friendly altho we didn't need anything so can't really judge. There was no food to speak of, limited hours for lunch, but you're in midtown, everything is outside your door. Room service is more overpriced than expected After the parade the lobby was packed (as was the entire area) attesting to its convenient location. Maid service friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Family Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. Our Executive Conference Center has 11,000 sq ft of premium meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Amex, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.