We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #243 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Front Royal, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is in a great location within walking distance to Times Square, Rockerfellar Plaze, Fifth Avenue, and Central park. The staff was friendly and it was very quiet. The elevators are super fast and we never waited more than a minute or two on a busy weekend (Thanksgiving). The rooms were spacious by NY standards (bathroom large enough to get dressed in it).

Room Tip: don't be afraid to get a room high up; you don't hear the street noise and the elevators ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
VADocMom,

Thank you for the great feedback. It is great to hear that our guest rooms and amenities met your needs and expectations and our location added convenience to your trip. Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    760
    1,024
    447
    132
    84
See reviews for
673
643
89
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We recently stayed at the Sheraton New York and loved the location. It is the perfect proximity to Times Square, 5th Avenue, Broadway and Central Park. The hotel was recently renovated and has nice amenities to boot. We have stayed at the Ritz Carlton Central Park, NYC Hilton, W Times Square, The Marriott Marquis, The Waldorf, The Hudson, The Renaissance Times Square, The Crown Plaza and many others but loved this location best. Outstanding value - Definitely would go back!

Room Tip: Recommend the upgrade to the Club Lounge Floor (44 or higher) for the lovely views and use of the cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
imagointraveling,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Our location is one of our best assets making it simple and easy for our guests to get just about anywhere in the city. It is amazing to hear that you loved our location the best! There is no better feedback we can ask for, we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Still waiting in the slowest ever checkin line. We've been here for over 40 minutes. This hotel should be embarrassed about such a brutal wait. There is ONE person checking us in and the line extends for up to 40 people. An aircrew showed up and took one of the personnel. Stay somewhere else

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
George A,

Thank you for your review. First and foremost we would like to apologize for the unpleasant check-in experience you had. We can assure you this is not the norm for us and we would love another chance to give you a great experience. We hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here two times in November in 2012~!!
Mrs. Joy helped me so much--she is a such wonderful lady.
Because of her nice and amazing service made me went back to use this hotel again.

Thank you so much for great service:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
kiminyoung,

Thank you so much for the kind words regarding Joy from our front desk team. Joy is an example of the type of friendly service we always strive for. We look forward to passing on your feedback to Joy and the rest of our front desk team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Only stayed for the night before thanksgiving. The hotel was very crowded due to the parade right outside their door! The room was immaculate, the staff very friendly altho we didn't need anything so can't really judge. There was no food to speak of, limited hours for lunch, but you're in midtown, everything is outside your door. Room service is more overpriced than expected After the parade the lobby was packed (as was the entire area) attesting to its convenient location. Maid service friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

it is a big and busy hotel. however the nice and warm welcome and help by the recetion desk person (Ms. Akada Phillip) made the hotel enjoyable.

the room isin good shape and renovated. the bathroom is clean. location is great and close to the theater district. i recommnd this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
samuelNyc,

Thank you for the feedback and kind words regarding our front desk team member Akada. Akada is a true shining star and we are lucky to have her as part of our team. Our goal is to make each and every guest experience a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
image1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I just came back from our trip to New York to see our family. We have family on the Upper East Side and Soho, so we wanted to be somewhere in between and the Sheraton hit all of our wants. We checked in minutes after arriving around 5 pm on Sat. Nov. 24 with Warren - he was extremely professional, yet accommodating. I had requested a nice room on a high floor and he said 2401 was available. It was a corner unit that had a Queen-size Murphy Bed that folded out of the wall unit, but he assured us it would be more than roomy enough for us. I had also mentioned that it was our 10 year anniversary, which he congratulated us on. Warren had told us that he stayed 3 floors above our room during Hurricane Sandy several weeks before and that he thought we would like the room. Best of all, he said that there were express elevators to floors 21-29 (I think it was these floors) which were one hallway away from the elevators to the other floors.

When we got to the room, the bed was folded up and the room looked like it would be appropriate for a business meeting, but was a good size. When we folded down the bed, however, it seemed a little cramped. After rearranging the furniture around the bed, however, we were able to make the room a lot more sensible and easier to navigate. Now, a couple of years earlier, we stayed at the Warwick Hotel nearby and the rooms were a lot bigger, but we knew that was abnormal for Manhattan. So, I thought the room size was probably on par, if not slightly bigger, than other rooms in Manhattan, so I was pleasantly surprised at the size once we had made the adjustments. Warren had mentioned that he wanted more space so he folded the bed up every day, but we just left it as is our whole trip and it was fine.

Our view was okay, not the best, but not like when we stayed at the Warwick (we basically faced a wall, so the view sucked). This time around, we had a decent view of Times Square - if we were 3 floors above, our view would've been great, as there was another building clipping the complete view. The view from the other side (corner unit, remember?) was decent as it wasn't directly facing a building, but the open street.

The room was great as it was newly renovated - everything seemed new and even had that new smell. The bathroom was nicely done - the only complaint was that the shower head didn't have enough water pressure - I suspect it was a low flow shower head as the tub faucet's pressure was tremendous. The only other complaint in the room was that there was definitely a draft of cold air from the windows. I made sure that they were all shut properly (which they were), but there was still a slight cold breeze when the heat wasn't on. I called for maintenance and they came up rather quickly to fix it (another plus!), but it didn't seem to change anything... probably just a fact of life when you're on the 24 floor in 30 degree weather. Oh well, it wasn't a big deal as I blocked the wind from my wife when we were in bed.

All in all, I would rate this hotel a 4, but I forgot to mention one other thing. Shortly after arriving in the room, someone knocked on the neighbor's door and then eventually ours. He said it was room service, but I insisted we hadn't ordered anything. Then he said it was service from the hotel and proceeded to place a wonderful cheese plate and complementary wine on the table. I'm guessing it was sent by Warren on behalf of the hotel for our 10 year anniversary. Warren is the MAN! Anyway, that type of special service more than makes up for all of the little minor complaints I could bring up (oh yeah, Wi-fi was $15/day - kinda sucks, but oh well). I say stay here as the price was great and the service was excellent!

One last thing: definitely order from Carnegie Deli down the street - they delivered their famous Pastrami Sandwich hot and ready to eat. Just don't order any chicken breast - too dry and not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
image1,

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that Warren was so helpful with your room accommodations, he is an example of what we strive for every day! We are so proud of our new look and feel nothing makes it better than hearing it from our guests too. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#167 Family Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. Our Executive Conference Center has 11,000 sq ft of premium meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.