We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with a lot of patience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #246 of 455 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice place with a lot of patience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here a long time ago when I was much younger. In honor of the holidays, I just wanted to say what a great convention hotel this is. Twice I stayed here when I performed in the Macy's parade, me and a thousand other cheerleaders all in high school. Looking back as an adult, I have to say bless the hearts of the Sheraton staff for putting up with our shenanigans. This hotel is in a great location, close to everything you could possibly need, shopping, dining, the park, and the subway. We had an amazing corner room with great views.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if you love views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
IndyRunner1984,

What a nice review to receive, it is so great to hear from one of our guests that has true memories at our hotel. We love knowing that we were a part of your holiday traditions and you still remember us! Thank you for such kind words and we would love to have you back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    1,217
    563
    177
    92
See reviews for
851
784
103
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Sheraton New York Hotel is overall a nice hotel with a large lobby area right on 7th Avenue basically halfway between Times Square and Central Park. The double bed room was a little on the cramped side, but that was expected for New York City. Bathroom was also extremely small. Make plenty of time for checkout. The line was probably about 20 customers long when we checked out, and it took about 20 - 30 minutes.

Wireless internet is not free, but there are about 5 or 6 free computers in the lobby connected to a printer in order to print out boarding passes, show tickets, etc.

The biggest selling point is the location. Easy walk to Times Square, Central Park, Carnegie Deli, Rockefeller Plaza, the Modern Museum of Art, and it's right around the corner from David Letterman's theater.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Denro2,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to hear that our central location added enjoyment and convenience to your stay. We are glad you were able to utilize our Link Cafe and free WiFi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at this property Nov.30-Dec.3 and was very pleased with everything. The room was typical size for New York which is adequate, not large, but very nice. It seems as if it had been remodeled recenty. There were just two of us and we had plenty of room and it was clean and comfortable.

Check in went smoothly for us, the room was ready when we arrived, but it was close to 3:00 which is check in time anyway. The location was great because we were there for the Broadway shows and Times Square shopping and restaurants. It was a short walk to most everything we needed and there was a subway just across the street.

They had room service which seemed very expensive, but the food was excellent as was the service. There were restaurants and a Startbucks in the lobby. I would definitely stay here agian.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
SunfunAtlanta,

It is so nice to hear that you were pleased with everything during your stay with us! Our goal is always happy guests, and it looks like we have succeeded. We are glad you were treated with friendly and helpful service and we are glad you will be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 months searching for a place to stay in NYC for a week-long trip in Oct 2012. We finally settled on Sheraton because 1. it was close to central park which was a priority for us and 2. it was a Sheraton property which gave us some reassurance in the quality of the hotel.
We were not disappointed on either counts. The location is spectacular Central Park and Columbus circle are minutes away and really made us feel like we were staying in the center of Manhattan without the horrible rush at Times Square (even though that is walking distance as well). Service was as best as they can do for such a large hotel. No complaints at all about anything. The only con is that it lacks a personal touch but that is expected in this kind of set up. We had a deluxe room and were happy with the size but I imagine a normal sized room may have been a bit cramped. Still that's the norm with NYC hotel rooms.
Concierge was helpful and room service was quick so over all good experience. Slept well in the rooms. We had read about long check in lines, noisy floors and bad maintenance but experienced none of that! In fact the hotel has been recently renovated and looks lovely.

Room Tip: Believe the higher floors have a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
jasreenmayal,

It is great to hear that you were totally satisfied with your stay! As you said, we are so close to Central Park along with several other popular sites and attractions. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and renovation, we love our new look and feel! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at the Sheraton while attending a conference nearby. I got there very early in the morning and they were unable to get me a room, but promised to do their best to find a room for me as soon as possible. Indeed, after leaving my luggage and getting something to eat, on my return I got the keys to my room, up on the 38th floor. The room was great! Very big and spacious, extra-comfortable bed, lots of space to put your things on, clean and tidy and feels very fresh.
Staff was always very attentive and helpful, and the bar at the lobby is also OK.
The location is definitely a big plus, a couple of blocks from Central park and a short stroll to Times Square, this is really one of the best locations in Manhattan.
Enjoyed my stay and will definitely come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
yaniv_72,

Thank you for reviewing our property. We love to hear that our staff was as attentive and helpful as possible. Our number one goal is guest satisfaction and we loving knowing we succeeded. Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I recently stayed at the Sheraton New York in a trip that was half business/half family. Everyone knows how hard it is to find a hotel that accomodates both! Bradley Cocklin and Jeff Green went above and beyond to make sure my stay was perfect. Joy at the front desk even took the time to get coloring books when my kids arrived and arranged for them to have an ice cream treat. The location is perfect for families, an easy walk to Times Square, Central Park, Rockerfeller Plaza and 5th Avenue shopping. And for further locations, it was always easy to catch a cab. While this property has always been a no-brainer for me for business travel, I'll certainly come back with my family to enjoy the city and recommend this property to my co-workers and friends. I'm not sure how many stars this hotel I can tell you that you'll get five-star service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
kmalkra,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We love hearing about great experiences like yours, our team members are a true example of what we strive for everyday, friendly and genuine service. It is wonderful that you were able to incorporate your family into your business trip, that is what we are all about!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have stayed at hotels who made me feel like it was my honor and priviledge to be there. As a fresh turnaround, the associates at the Sheraton could not have been more accomadating and friendly. The room had all of the ammenities I needed to make my stay more than enjoyable. In the words of Arnold Schwarzenegger, "I'll be back".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Daniel S,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! It is great to hear how our staff made you feel appreciated and welcome at our hotel. Our staff really cares for our guests and we love to see it show. We hope you will stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in New York City
#137 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#181 Family Hotel in New York City
#190 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. Our Executive Conference Center has 11,000 sq ft of premium meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.