We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel) (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #272 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Conway, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just wanted to mention the wonderful service we received at the front desk. Joy assisted us at the front desk for our check in. She was extremely pleasant and helpful. She made us feel very welcome!

Linda B

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Linda B,

Thank you for the great feedback! Positive feedback like yours give us even more motivation to be better. Joy is an amazing member of our team and she truly makes the difference in each guest experience. We look forward to passing on the kind words to Joy and the rest of our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    1,450
    686
    219
    128
See reviews for
1,019
922
118
711
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have this minute checked out of the Sheraton hotel situated just off Time Sq.

They have been trying to stiff every customer that has been stuck here during hurricane Sandy and thereafter. They have been just giving customers numbers off the top of their head which they would like to charge them as they have no choice but to pay or try and find a last minute hotel (which is near impossible, which they know).

Never have I seen such a company trying to cash in on people's misery as this one. The service and customer service has been awful. People are complaining to each other in the lift, the lobby and to me about the shambles this had been.

For the amount of money they have tried to charge we could have spent a great deal on a holiday elsewhere.

They have lied to us on numerous occasions about the price... They invoiced us for $229 for one extra nights stay and then all of a sudden it jumped up to $379? How, I don't know. It was agreed with what was like pulling teeth that they charge us $323 in the end.... Ridiculous.

Please never stay here. You will be ripped off blind, service is awful from the staff also. Mainly on reception and concierge.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
This review has been addressed offline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

For the price you pay to stay here in comparison to other hotels in the area this hotel needs to step it up with customer service. We were not given the type of room we reserved. I reserved and paid for a king bed and we were given a room with two small double beds. Very uncomfortable to share a bed so sadly our romantic trip to NYC was spent in separate beds. We I asked to have a room change I was flat out denied. we were not the only guests with issues. I spoke with more then 5 other guest who changes to a different hotel in the middle of their stay. I love staying at Sheraton hotels but this has definitely changed my mind. I will never stay here again. Disappointing and just not up to standard.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
MaddisUncle,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. First and foremost we would like to apologize for your unpleasant experience. Unfortunately, we are unable to guarantee room types prior to arrival and we sincerely apologize that this affected your stay in a negative way. If you chose to return we would love another chance to give you a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Avoid by all means this sheraton ho tel. It is old, impersonnal, run down. It is sad but there is nothing positive to say about this hotel, except may be the location, close to the theater district. Rooms are old, bathrooms too, hotel is noisy, breakfast area is a joke. It is amazing such an hotel can still be in business. I guess the good name of sheraton helps, but i doubt people would ever come back for a 2nd time. Worse value for money is terrible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Siac1991,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. On behalf of our team we apologize for your unpleasant experience with us. Our guest rooms have been fully redone as a part of our complete renovation that was completed in June. If you chose to return we would love the chance to give you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Sheraton Hotel in Manhattan is a quality, safe choice that is conveniently located next to Times Square and subway stations and is a short walk from Central Park. The staff is friendly and attentive and the room was spotless, spacious and attractively decorated. I booked through Priceline and got a $250 per-night rate.

Room Tip: When booking through Priceline, make sure you understand that taxes will be added to the base room r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Ellen H,

Thank you for the review. We appreciate the great feedback and kind words regarding our staff. Our team works hard to make each and every guest experience a great one and we are glad to have succeeded. We hope you will choose to stay with us upon your return to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We've stayed here before, about three years ago, and while the rooms are being updated, they're much the same except for the colors, bedding, and the superficial stuff. I have to say, Sheraton is one of the few hotel with comfy beds. This location is great for doing city stuff. I was at a conference, and the crazy elevator switch to get to the conference floor flummoxed me.

However, our $300 a night room had an odor like cat pee when we checked it. Discovered it was the shower curtain, and it took two calls to the front desk to get it replaced. One half of the window curtains were off their hooks so it didn't close properly. Took one call to get that fixed. You'd think housekeeping would take care of problems like this without having to call, before you check in.

That said, we'll stay here again when we go to NYC.

Room Tip: Stay below the 20th floor to avoid the elevator dance if you're at a conference on the third flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
riterchick,

Thank you for your review. Our team is pleased to hear this is your second time staying with us and that our facilities and amenities met your needs and expectations. Our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds are very popular for how comfortable they are! We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had a good stay. Room was clean and decent size for NYC. The lobby is a bit crazy but makes for some great people watching. We were waiting for our train in the lobby bar so we could charge our cell phones and watch some football.

We were on the 18th floor and while we could hear doors closing, we didn't hear people in other rooms or the hallways.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
patkatmom,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our team is always happy to hear that our guests had a pleasant time with us. Our lobby can become very busy with guests but we are glad it did not inconvenience you in any way! We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in New York City
#159 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
#208 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. Our Executive Conference Center has 11,000 sq ft of premium meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.