We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average overpriced hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #248 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“average overpriced hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

the location of the hotel is excellent, conveniently within 5 minute walk of multiple subway lines. this building has 51 floors and i had requested high floor room almost two months in advance, however upon check-in, no rooms were available and i was stuck with 9th floor the room itself was average, some paint was chipping off the walls and there are no towel racks in the room, where do you put the towel after using it?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Michael00000,

Thank you for the review. Our central location is one of our best assets for guests, conveniently located among major NYC attractions and transit options. We do apologize that you were unable to get the high floor you requested, unfortunately we cannot guarantee any room placement until the time of check-in. We hope you will return for another stay and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    1,257
    592
    183
    97
See reviews for
877
815
107
601
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

As a Starwood "Gold Preferred Guest" I can attest to staying in my fair share of this type of hotel and in my opinion this hotel has missed the mark. While it has a convenient location and serves as the host for several lofty conferences, the rude and barely existant customer service paired with low quality amenities makes the abundant nearby hotel options an easy choice. Fee for Internet, take your own bag to the 6th floor to be held when your room isn't ready for check-in, tiny rooms, 1990's technology and full-sized beds...and that's the "Gold Preferred" service.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Student of the ... X,

Thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts. As an SPG member we appreciate your loyalty and apologize if you did not feel this way. The level of service you received is certainly not the norm for us and we hope we can make things right. We appreciate all guest feedback and sincerely hope you will return so that we can give you the experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Check in staff were friendly and helpful, as were all the staff. Room althou' small wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. At least we had glasses and not plastic ones like in the Sheraton San Fransico. Was not impressed that the only fridge available was a mini bar only and you got charged apparently every time you opened it. Also again only a coffee perc, what about the people who don't like coffee. I thought I read there was a charge to use the gym but didn't investigate. Like most of these kind of places food and drink prices were expensive so didn't test out. But great location if you can afford to stay there.
If like my husband you always carry a pocket knife LEAVE IT IN YOUR ROOM, security screenings at a few places mean you can't take it with you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
TaupoSheryll,

Thank you for the review. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and we look forward to passing on the word to them. We are happy to let you know that we do have fridges upon request for guest rooms and we offer tea, along with coffee in every room. Our central location is one of our greatest assets close to all of the major NYC sites and several transit routes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was a bit concerned when I booked two-night weekend stay with my partner after I read all the reviews. It turned out to be better than we expected. The room was fine (typical NYC standard). It's in a great location, very convenient to Broadway and all major subway lines. We loved the club lounge, it's beautiful and well maintained. I don't think there is pool like most of Sheraton but I did not even get to use the fitness center. I did not get upgrade although I tried to this "suite night upgrade" couple for SPG platinum members, I think they should improve their platinum recognition better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I am going to be relatively short and sweet with this review.

Met up with a friend for a Yankees game and we decided beforehand to stay overnight because that is what mature adults do when planning to responsibly consume several (ok, multiple) $11 beers at Yankee Stadium and want to take driving out of the equation. The Yankees won the game in the bottom of the 10th with a walk off, so our lodging expectations were high...

Anyway, I am on the road for around 60 days a year for both business and pleasure so I know a decent hotel property when I see one; often within 30 seconds of walking in the front door.

I am not going to waste your time with a review of the size of the room, how fluffy the pillows were or my opinion on the color of the grout in the bathroom. I have no complaints.

Bottom line, this joint is just plain nice…period; and the location is even better. You are within a 10 minute walk of Times Square and Central Park and several subway lines located out front. MSG is a 15 minute walk away. You are basically in the heart of Manhattan. The “D” train (7th Ave Station) to Yankee Stadium is right out front.

I can’t see how any leisure or business traveler would be disappointed staying here. I would certainly stay here again and for someone who travels quite a bit….enough said…

If you want the Ritz, go stay at the Ritz and you will drop $700 a night and you will feel like a king. But for way less than half the cost, this property delivers a fantastic stay; modern and clean and for what I would consider a great value. Even for NYC.

Go Yankees!

I will be back….

Room Tip: Stay at an upper floor if possible....the elevators are so fast, your ears pop going up/down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
GeorgeRohman,

Thank you for the great review. Hearing this type of positive feedback from a frequent traveler is just what we hope for. Our number one goal is always guest satisfaction and giving people a memorable stay. We are lucky to have such a central location, and as you pointed out a direct route to Yankee Stadium!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is just what you expect a city centre hotel to be but so often they fall short. Check in was very efficient and we were soon in our room. Reasonably sized, well appointed and clean with comfortable beds. The location, between Times Square and Central Park could not be bettered for tourists. Our only downside was that because of a big conference not all the restaurant facilities were available. We only rarely eat in the hotels but our first night after a transatlantic flight we just needed refuelling so the burger bar was just about acceptable, on another night it was raining very heavily and it would have been good to eat without braving the rain.
One very pleasant aspect is that all the staff we encountered were cheerful, helpful and polite

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
abcoldgit,

Thank you for the feedback. A good check-in experience can set the tone for a great overall stay. Our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds get a lot of attention and praise on how comfortable they are! We do apologize that all of our food venues were not available during your stay but we hope you will come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Considering the location, price, and attraction this place should be one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. Unfortunately it falls dramatically short of being a nice hotel. I'm here during the UN and the Clinton family is staying here, several celebrities are staying here. I feel like all the attention falls to them while standar guests are ignored. The room is small and basic. The shower is less impressive than most Hampton Inns. The breakfast is nothing more than garbage (I can't express how awful the breakfast was). Basically I've stayed in better Motel 6's. If you're willing to spend hundreds, go someplace else.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon C, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
FilmmakingTourist,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. On behalf of our team we apologize if you felt ignored during your stay. When we have high profile guests staying with us we make every attempt to go about business as usual and make our guests feel just as welcome as any other day. We would like to make this up to you and sincerely hope you will return so that we can give you the experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#138 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#185 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. Our Executive Conference Center has 11,000 sq ft of premium meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.