We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #252 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ocean City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean and great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We are currently staying at the Sheraton New York. I am a country girl that is very uncomfortable navigating the city. The hotel is so centrally located and in a safe area, that I can feel the "city mouse" side of me coming out. We arrived at 4:00pm on a Wednesday to check in. There were probably 15 people in line. I figured it was going to take awhile. It only took 15 minutes to check in. Even though we are here with a group rate, they gave us a little upgrade from a queen to along bed, which made all of the difference! The only two drawbacks so far is are the exorbitant fees for internet in room, and parking with the Sheraton. My husband parked our suv for less than 24 hours & it cost $72. Other than that, I love this place!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
hoganmom1,

Thank you for the review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our facilities and services met your needs and expectations. Our location really is one of the best, putting our guests right in the middle of all the major NYC sites! We hope to welcome you back to New York soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    996
    1,260
    593
    183
    98
See reviews for
881
818
107
601
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel many times and love the location -- both for fun and business. It's just blocks north of Times Square, just blocks south of Central Park and an easy walk to Radio City Music Hall, NBC studios or to the theater district.

Just about all the rooms are newly renovated. Room service is always fast if you're working and cannot get out. The complimentary breakfast for Starwood members and those willing to pay for it is one of the best in New York or anywhere for that matter. The fine expresso machine, fresh berries and good pastry selection always gets me moving!

The lobby is inevitably filled with energy: think excited European tourists, business suit clad executives, families from the Midwest and everything in between. The staff is uniformly helpful though on occasion the front desk is simply overwhelmed. Rooms above the 15th floor are quiet at night.

On the down side, early check in is often difficult due to the fact that this hotel is almost always full the night before. But, if you have work to do you can hang out in the Starwood lounge while working.

This can be a costly hotel though so check the rates and then determine if location is your crucial deciding point. If so, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view toward Times Square. Make sure your room has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Tim P,

Thank you for the great feedback. On behalf of our team we thank you for the continued loyalty to the Sheraton New York. There is nothing better than getting positive feedback from a returning guest. We are happy to hear that you enjoy our club experience, it truly is unique! We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Nicole at the check in desk was exceptional. We needed to move from another hotel to the Sheraton for convenience purposes and needed to do it immediately. She went out of her way with arranging our room price and room location. She was awesome. She ensured us that we would be comfortable, and we were. Thanks for making our NYC trip comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Harriet B,

Thank you for the feedback. We very much appreciate your kind words regarding our front desk staff! Positive feedback like yours gives our staff even more motivation to be great, we look forward to passing on the word to them. Come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I slept in a double bed room. Room little small but very modern. Small bathrrom but clean. Perfect location!!! Registration was full but hey it's NYC-Time Square what do you expect. Parking bit overpriced $50.00 a day and you cannot take out your car because they will re-charge you again. I will definetly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
dallylta2,

Thank you for the great review! We are happy to hear that our guest rooms met your needs during your stay with us. Our newly renovated rooms are our greatest asset and we are so happy to get positive feedback on them. It is great that our location added to the convenience of your trip! We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

First I made a mistake in booking which gave me a group rate that was very reasonable for NYC in the summer.nthe problem was I didn't book for the 10 days I needed it for, I only booked 9. When I called back and arranged the extra night they would not honor the discount as thy said I was too late for the additional night but I was encouraged to talk to the Manager at the hotel because the reservation people could not do anything about it. When I arrived (after waiting 30 minutes to check in) I was told by a very abrupt check in person that the rate would not be changed. Because of all the people waiting I decided to come back later. This time I spoke to a nicer lady and after explaining she said there was nothing they could do so I asked to speak the the Manager. She explained it to him and he didn't even come out to speak with a dissatisfied guest! He just passed on a message that there was nothing that woul be done because I was late. It didn't matter tht I was staying for 10 days at his hotel. On top of that they charge for everything and none of it is cheap. 2 club sandwiches and a salad downstairs along with a couple of drinks was over $100! Lots of noisy kids here as it seems to be the place to bring conventions and tour groups from South America. The elevators are horribly slow and don't all seem to be working. Get on whenever you have a chance even if it is going the wrong way. Aside from that the rooms were clean and location is very good. It worked well for us because of a dance convention in the same place but other than that I think there are better choices available. The Sheraton seems to be one of the last stragglers of hotels that don't understand the importance of customer service. None of the same is very friendly, they are just doing a job. I have stayed at numerous hotels and wrote really positive reviews for others but this one is not even close to the top of my list.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
This has been addressed offline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Clean room. Large for NYC. Nice service overall. Breakfast at club lounge pretty good. Location amazing.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Rbl525,

Thank you for your feedback. It is good to hear that our facilities met your expectations during your stay in New York. Our club experience is a unique and special experience that we love for our guests to have. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Tired, noisey and chaotic seems to be the immediate impression every time I visit this place. Reception always seems packed, whether that's the overflow from the bar, joe public trying to get warm in the lobby or the long queue of future guests waiting to check-in with the too limited staff doing the actual task, versus the seemingly plentiful supply of managers on the phone or walking in and out.

I've only stayed in the club rooms. They're the average NY - i.e. small rooms and tired too. The club lounge serves a decent breakfast but the decor and furnishings need some attention. THe staff there are always friendly, in contrast to their deserted colleagues at reception.

The bar food is mediocre so I always give it a miss unless I;ve arrived their too late. The gym is OK.

The location is pretty good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Angliskai,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Our lobby can become a very busy area at times of high occupancy and check-in/check-out hours. We do apologize if the business became an issue for you during your stay. It is wonderful that you were able to enjoy our club experience and that you find our club staff helpful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel

Address: 811 7th Avenue on 52nd Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Formerly Sheraton New York Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New York Times Square hotel is located between Central Park and Times Square in Manhattan's Midtown business and entertainment district. Our Executive Conference Center has 11,000 sq ft of premium meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New York Hotel And Towers
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Hotel New York
Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers
Sheraton New York Towers
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.