We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #337 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Great location and good value. Its not the most luxurious of stays and its basic, however, its clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We did not have any problems with the lift as other guests have said. Well worth visiting

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room if you are not happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear 910Helen,

Thank you for posting a review. We are delighted that the location of the Hotel and the service you received was to your expectations. Our hope is that you return back for another visit so that we can serve you again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    882
    567
    242
    194
See reviews for
632
735
101
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in June for a week with two friends on an all girls trip. We booked this hotel mainly on location and price. I will admit that I was nervous about staying here after seeing a lot of photos from trip advisor, but they have completely remodeled the hotel and were still doing some remodeling while we were there. Updates were all nice and this hotel was worth every penny. When we booked our room, we paid extra to stay in the top four floors. When we checked in, we were on the 11th floor. We brought this to their attention and were told they were overbooked so they refunded the extra amount that we had paid. This ended up not being a big issue because we only spent enough time in the room to shower and sleep. The location is perfect! A 2 min walk to Times Square, Broadway shows right around the corner, and little shops/dinners everywhere around us. We went to the Broadway Rocky show and it was literally 3 doors down. All the staff were friendly and check in/out was a breeze, room/hotel was very clean. Would definitely stay here again. Here's a tip...if you join their email mailing list and book the room through them, you save an additional 10 or 15% off.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Jennifer B,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback you have given us and look forward to your return to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Overall the hotel was good. The Manhattan is centrally located, close to subway stations, Time Square, restaurants, few blocks away from 5th Ave.
The staff was helpful and always willing to help.
The hotel is dated, but the rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Mauricio A,

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy to know that the service as well as the location of the Hotel was to your expectations and look forward to your return.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We arrived in New York after a long flight delay at about 6:00 pm for the week of the fourth of July. After checking in and ditching our luggage we left for supper and sight seeing. We noticed the hotel room was rather warm before we left but we bumped the air down and left. When we returned that evening the room was still very warm but we were too tired to worry about it. We left for the Statue of Liberty that morning after notifying the front desk about air. When we returned after a very hot visit to Lady Liberty imagine the disappointment we felt when our room was a whooping 85 degrees. The maid service was just finishing up and had called the front desk about air. I was a little upset considering I had already asked for them to check air, but we were moved to another room two floors down that was a little nicer and the air was cold so all was well. I loved the location!!!! Times square down the street and Broadway at your back. It's close to the subway stations. I'm ready to go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Momoffour_45,

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy to learn from your comments that the team was able to resolve the air conditioning issue to your satisfaction. We are ready to welcome you back when you revisit New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

It is a Well located hotel near Times Square and easy access to the Subway. The room was clean. Some elevators were under renewal, so a little of patiante is required as a lot of people use that Service. In general term it has a good Service.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Fredy B,

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy to know from your comments that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

It was very good. The location is good and the service too. I just didn't like the fact of having to pay for internet, but overall The Manhattan at Times Square is very good. I Recommend the hosting.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Michel G,

Thank you for posting a 5 star review. We appreciate the feedback you have provided to future travelers and look forward to hosting you on your return to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Such an amazing hotel located in the best area of New York City!
Amazing service, rooms and hotel views.

Had very helpful staff, especially the hotel manager called Keith Homes. He helped with all our problems and I suggest that you ask for him if in doubt! Would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again. And of course seeing Keith! :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear JasminePamGerri,

Thank you for taking the time to post a 5 star review. We are delighted to know that you had a great stay experience and appreciate the wonderful comments about the service you received. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 689
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Manhattan Times Square
Sheraton Manhatten
Sheraton Times Square
Sheraton Manhattan Hotel
Sheraton New York City
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.