We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for what we needed it for!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Limited Offer Save 15%
Ranked #337 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok for what we needed it for!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Me my mum and sister stayed at this hotel for 4 nights last year and it was ok for what we needed it for! The hotel is a perfect location to explore all the sights of NYC which was probably the best thing about this hotel. The rooms were really runned down when we stayed, not sure if they have recently been refurbished but being in NYC we didn't really spend much time in the hotel. If I was to return to New York I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Claire S,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate your comments and want you to know that we are in the process of making some changes that will enhance future guest stays at the Hotel. We hope you give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves should you travel back to the city.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    751
    486
    200
    159
See reviews for
543
613
92
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The location is great, but the bathroom has seen better days. If they spent money renovating the lobby, they should of spent that money on the rooms - outdated and worn. The room was decorated in the 1980s and needs to be updated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Joy S,

Thank you for posting a review. We are in the process of making some changes starting with the renovation of our lobby that will enhance our future guest experiences at the Hotel and appreciate your understanding while we go through this process. We apologize for our inability to meet your expectations and hope to have another opportunity to redeem ourselves should your travels bring you back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed at The Manhattan At Times Square for a little three day mom and daughter visit, making it our third visit in as many years. The hotel is right now undergoing renovations of their lobby and elevators, and although this did cause a little inconvenience, it didn't bother us too much. I'm sure once it's all done, this hotel will look great! The wait for the elevator wasn't too bad, and yes, the lobby was pretty crowded, but the comfort of the beds and the location of this hotel--plus the great rate we received--more than makes up for a little wait time. Now hopefully the rooms can receive a little TLC, although I will still return no matter what!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Harriet14901,

Thank you for posting a positive review about your stay experience. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and anxiously look forward to your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and is stayed at this hotel from April 25th through April 29th. Unfortunately, this hotel is not quite as advertised on their website.

The room (20th floor) was very small, and we could not get the A/C to work well at all. In fact, I am not even sure it worked at all. The room was too warm which required us to open the windows at night. The area is already loud, and keeping the windows open all night didn't help with the noise.

Although the hotel's location was prime, it did not make up for the extremely dirty carpets in the hallways and the dirty walls. This hotel needs a serious makeover.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Steve_IN_OC,

Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to know from your comments that your stay at the Hotel was not a pleasant one. We sincerely hope you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves should you travel back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed in the Manhattan for 3 nights. Location is just perfect. Our room was standard, the bathroom a bit small but our kingsize bed was super clean with super white sheets. It welcomed us as we entered the room! Yes, the hotel is a bit old and yes, the bathroom had stains on the ceiling and yes the carpet was not spotless but nevertheless I would stay here again. The staff was very friendly, checking in and out went quickly, Mohammad Abdullah, front desk, helped us with WiFi and gave us good advice about traveling to the airport. I would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear I R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about your stay. We appreciate your comments and are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. We hope to be of service to you and your friends in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary in New York and we stayed at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel. Our room was on the 11th floor facing Broadway (corner room) .... king size bed....everything we requested. Our room was clean and the bed was comfy. The staff at the front desk were always courteous and helpful. Cleaning staff was very good. We were pleasantly surprised to have free wifi in the lobby with our tablet. They also had computers that guests could use for 15 minute intervals. We were also able to print our boarding passes before we left for the airport. This hotel is very close to all tourist attractions and restaurants. The hotel staff checked in on us during our stay and asked us how everything was going. We told them that our toilet wasn't flushing well and within minutes caretaking staff were up in our room and fixed the problem. Yes....there was a little noise outside....we expected that in New York!!! Ear plugs work great. The elevator was sometimes slow - we either waited a few minutes or took the stairs. A little exercise is good. We had a wonderful stay, great weather, beautiful sites, Times square,The Jersey Boys Broadway show, Central Park, good food, friendly people. All in all, a great week! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear AureliePoelzer,

Thank you for posting a positive review about your stay. We are pleased to know from your feedback that the location and the service you received met your expectations. We look forward to your next stay at the Hotel.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights/4 days from April 26th - April 29th. I can't really find anything negative to say about it. The location was PRIME and could not have been any better! We stayed on the 21st floor, room 2132. The room was large (much bigger than I expected, especially considering the smaller size of most NYC hotel rooms). The room was very tidy & clean. Not particularly fancy but we didn't need fancy. We needed clean & comfortable. Contrary to other reviews the room temperature was great. Plenty cool and not too warm at all. Despite being in the heart of the city the room was quiet. We heard no city noise in the evening while trying to sleep. The beds are super comfy! This hotel is about 5 blocks from Central Park, 4 or 5 blocks from the heart of Time Square, 2 blocks from the Gershwin Theatre (right around the corner) and about 2 blocks to the subway. We truly enjoyed our stay and I would not hesitate to stay here again. I was pleasantly surprised at how great everything was.

Room Tip: 21st floor was great! Our room was at the end of the hallway, not super close to elevator or vending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear 206Lisa,

Thank you for posting a positive review about your stay experience. We are happy that you loved your stay at the Hotel and look forward to hosting you again when you travel to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 689
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Manhattan Times Square
Sheraton Manhatten
Sheraton Times Square
Sheraton Manhattan Hotel
Sheraton New York City
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.