We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time staying here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Limited Offer Save 15%
Ranked #331 of 452 hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2nd time staying here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is the second time that I stayed here. Yes, this property is aging and there is some construction going on. However you can't beat price and location.
This is not a resort where you will spend your time. You are in NYC so chances are this just a place to sleep for 6-8 hours and get out again. For that this hotel is just fine.
We were there is spring and fall and heat/ AC was not an issue for us.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Rossar,

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy that you chose our Hotel for a return stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    556
    360
    153
    130
See reviews for
417
453
68
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Driving into a city like New York always gives me quite a bit of anxiety, but the Manhattan in Times Square was thankfully very easy to access and park near. The location is extremely convenient to everything the area has to offer and their rates are very affordable, but that's unfortunately all the positive things I really have to say about it. The halls and rooms are rather dingy, air conditioning is borderline ineffectual, and the television signal is weak and scrambled. The door to our room was loose so it would rattle every time another door near us was closed. Housekeeping was still working around our room even though we arrived past check-in, and rudely tried to remove our fridge before realizing we could keep it at no extra cost. My overall impression of the hotel is that it's very disorganized and not well-kept.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Acutler6,

Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to learn from your feedback that we were unable to meet your expectations at the Hotel and sincerely apologize for your unfavorable experience. We hope to have another opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

After reading some of the reviews here I was reticent to stay at the hotel but had gotten a good deal on the price so I took the chance for an Easter Weekend. We were very pleased with this hotel. Service was pleasant and helpful, location is fantastic. You can walk to any theater and an easy walk to Hell's Kitchen. The subway is just around the corner for other locations and it is such a short distance from Times Sq that any subway line is an option!

Our room was good sized with a king bed (seemed more like a queen) that was very comfortable., the room and the bathroom were always spotless (we stayed 3 nights) they had a coffee maker and a large flat screen TV and a very usable small safe in the closet. There was very little noise from outside or from the hallways. Granted the furnishings are a little dated but for the price and location I would definitely stay here again.

The only drawback was that at certain times the line waiting for the elevator in the lobby was very long but usually disappeared in a short time. It seems there was one elevator out of service and it made it hard sometimes to get an elevator that wasn't packed and stopping on every floor. This was a small inconvenience that has happened to me in many hotels in NYC so I wasn't all that bothered by it.

All in all I found it to be a great deal, very clean and an extremely convenient location.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Aguido,

Thank you for posting a positive review about your stay at the Hotel. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time at the Hotel and the service you received met your expectations. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your return.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Thankfully, we only booked this hotel for one night. There is no way we could have stayed there any longer than we did. It was absolutely filthy and run down. There was a foul stench in the lobby, think cesspool. The staff was curt and not friendly at all. The hallway to our room was outdated, dank, and dimly lit, with scuff marks all over the walls. The room was a decent size for NYC but it was dingy and dirty. The windows were filthy, the air/heat didn't work. There were exposed electrical sockets that completely pushed into the wall when you plugged something in. Actually, most of the sockets in the room didn't work.

Don't even get me started on the bathroom. Disgusting! Mold and mildew around the sink and shower faucet. Mold and mildew all over the grout in the shower. Several hairs in the shower and grim and hair in the corners of the bathroom floor.

We were just looking for a place to lay our heads and spent very little time in the room but regardless, it was gross. Parking was also very expensive. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and will most certainly never stay there again.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear A Lil bit,

Thank you for posting a review. We are concerned about your stay experience and would like the opportunity to communicate with you directly. Please contact me or any of the Managers on Duty on 212-581-3300 or via e-mail manhattangr@mtshotel.com

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

When I had first looked for rooms, this was $300 a night. I ended up paying half of that. If I hadn't, I would have felt more upset. The location of this hotel is great. I felt three of the four rooms my family stayed in were very big for NYC. The staff was all very pleasant and helpful. We were checked into our two rooms which were requested as two double beds around four. They only had king rooms available, but assured us a roll away would be delivered immediately. In spite of the fact that I had pay more then my companions for a "deluxe" room, my room was much smaller and the window was on level with active construction on a hotel terrace. At 9 pm I brought my two kids back to the room to sleep. Neither room received a roll away. Housekeeping said that were very sorry but hadn't gotten the request from the front desk. It would be up quickly. Half an hour later they called and said the elevator was broken, but they were fixing it. At ten, I called and was moved to a room with two beds. My mother waited for her roll away until 12, then switched rooms.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Uoprincess,

Thank you for posting a review. We appreciate the feedback provided and apologize that your stay experience was average. We hope to have another opportunity to redeem ourselves should your travels bring you back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We had a groupon and were super excited to stay in NYC for 120, right in the center of it all. That is the only pleasant thing I can say about this hotel. While waiting to check in the gentleman in front of us asked about parking, and he was answered with I can't tell you were to park, there is parking everywhere, you are in NY. As we got up there we weren't even greeted with a smile. We got off the elevator and the carpet looks like it hasn't been vacuumed in a week and the walls a disgustingly dirty. The room was worse, again filthy walls windows with finger prints all over it. The tub looks like it was never cleaned and you know when you don't clean the sink for a while and there are gross mildew rings around the knobs? Yup there were there. Never again!!! Stay away from this gross hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear NellieG2002,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your comments and want you to know that our guest feedback is used to help us improve our processes and services to afford a better stay experience for future guests. Please let us know if there anything we can do to make up for your unfavorable experience at the Hotel by contacting me or any of the Managers on Duty on 212-581-3300 or via e-mail manhattangr@mtshotel.com

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Four night stay in mid April. Be aware that this building can have either all air conditioning or all heating. We were not made aware of this at booking. When we arrived, our room was hot and stuffy. The forecast was in the 70s for our stay. We called for repair and were told that the building would not be switched over to air conditioning for another week or two, and they could come open our windows. Maintenance came, but the windows are blocked to only be allowed to open about 6 inches. We requested fans and were given one small fan. The manager said we should try to stay at least one night, and they would work with us the next day if we still wanted to check out. We called several hotels, and they were all booked. We stayed, it was warm in the room that night, and very uncomfortable showering and blowdrying our hair in the morning. The bathroom was like a little oven.
Pros: *Good location
*Nice remodeled lobby includes 3 nice pcs for free(limited) use, comfortable chairs, lots of power strips to charge your phones
*Coffee/snack bar in lobby
*Friendly bellhop, concierge, etc
*room is good size for NY
Cons:* no air conditioning
*very worn and dated room
*bathroom wasn't clean (mildew, leaky, stains on tile)
I would not stay here again, but we made the best of it with a positive attitude. Our last night, the temperature dropped to freezing. The room was still stuffy.

Room Tip: Check if you will be on air conditioning or heat and determine if you could do without it. Street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, Front Office Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Southernskiier,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are disappointed to know that you did not enjoy your stay at the Hotel and apologize for our inability to meet your expectations. Please know your comments were shared with the team in an effort to correct and improve our service delivery for future guest stays. We hope that you give us another opportunity to better serve you should you travel back to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,
Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented hotel in busy West Side location - Near Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Fifth Avenue and theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Manhattan Times Square
Sheraton Manhatten
Sheraton Times Square
Sheraton Manhattan Hotel
Sheraton New York City
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.