We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Limited Offer Save 15%
Ranked #336 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It's ok...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the manhattan. The location is fantastic, a few blocks from times squares. The rooms are clean and decent size. However, the beds are very uncomfortable. They squeak when you move and you can feel the springs. It's gets very loud at night in the hallways. The doors are slamming and you can easily hear the other people in the room next to you. Needless to say I didn't sleep very well.

We turned on the heater one night and it was ridiculously loud. There is no way you could sleep with it on.

The hotel served our purpose, but I doubt I'll return. I'm not a fan of hearing doors slam throughout the night. I do understand guests come in at all hours of the night but you can literally hear everything. Might be a good time for the hotel to do some upgrading. I gave an average review for location otherwise it's poor property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    752
    486
    201
    159
See reviews for
543
616
93
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed at the Manhattan from Thursday 22 Feb to Sun 25 Feb, check in was painless, allocated room 1919 on the 19th floor, first impressions, lifts were "bashed" about, but hardly the hotel's fault. Room was clean, servicable, nice tv, two queen beds, comfortable with fresh clean linen. Bathroom a little small but perfectly suitable for washing and other things. Cream and coffee replenished, temperature in the room was excellent, no need for heating or indeed air con, noise from the corridor but that's ignorant guests for you, safe in the room worked a treat. The hotel is in a fabulous location, just short walk from Times Square, great deli 2 blocks away too. We never had a problem with getting a cab from the hotel, and they stored our luggage for free all day. We got this trip from the "internet traveller" site and you gets what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinks lynn
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We visited in february for 3 nights. Asked for rooms together which staff did their best to accomodate. The rooms are a bit tired but beds are comfy, excellent coffee making facilities, towels changed every day. Quick check in and out. Brilliant location as very close to Times Square , local shops and restaurants. Applebys restaurant , Ellens Diner and also Mcdonalds are very close. Would return as all staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

overcharged my card for no reason and can't get the charges back in my card, waiting a week now--no help from staff, snotty attitudes, and no results or apology. pay cash or find a different hotel. They said the charges would come on saturday, came out on friday for almost $400 when the total was for $246.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Nikki C,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay at the Hotel. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you faced because of the billing issues you encountered at the Hotel. In an effort to resolve the issue in a timely manner we did try to contact you and appreciate your understanding during this time. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you to make up for this unfavorable experience at the Hotel.

Yours in Hospitality,

Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great - walking distance to times square, central park, Rockefeller centre etc. The staff were friendly enough and the rooms were comfortable. If you are not after a five star hotel and want a hotel in a great location then this hotel would be a good place to stay. I would consider staying here again if i have the opportunity to visit new York again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

It all started great, we were very happy with our stay until we realized that we were missing our netbook charger. We took the netbook down to the lobby, but we are sure that we never tooked it out of the room. We looked everywhere inside out, we even asked if we didn't leave it in the lobby, just as a last resource but we both know it dessapeared from the room. We made our formal complaint about it, and they made us fill out a form. When we went to the security desk to turn it in, WINSTON, the person in charge of the security desk, told us he was absolutely sure that we never got the charger to the hotel. That we probably left it on the train on our way here. And we both know that the last time we saw it, was inside the room. So, he wasn't just implying that we were lying but also, that we were trying to get it for free, and he showed that very firmly with he's speech. I don't know much about costumer service, but I know that that's not the way to treat any guest. So, we dumped the form in the trash and went to buy a charger and we plan on never getting back to this hotel, where this person doesn't know to keep his personal opinion to himself.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Luchi G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay experience at the Hotel. Although it is never pleasant to hear of our shortcomings, your comments are instrumental in helping us achieve total guest satisfaction. On behalf of the entire team at the Hotel please accept my sincere apologies for the manner in which your concerns were addressed by one of our team members. I can assure you that we take such comments very seriously in an effort to correct and improve our guest experiences at the Hotel. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you as we do not want this unfortunate incident to deter you from making us the Hotel of choice when your travels bring you to New York.

Yours in Hospitality,

Brendan Moraes-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Not a 4 star by any stretch but never the less a great hotel in a great location for Times Square and other sites,close to subway stations, plenty of places to eat and drink round about. As has been mentioned the pool and restaurant were closed when we were there so can't comment except to say that we never visit New York to go swimming and its not as if you pay a premium price for the hotel facilities.
As for the hotel itself we asked the front desk on arrival for a quiet room and we got one,room 1212, there are comments about the amount of noise in the corridors and door slamming etc but to be honest I don't know what some people expect from a hotel that has guests arriving into it at all hours of the day and night from all over the world,if its that bad phone and complain to the front desk.
We stayed for 5 nights and our room was serviced with clean towels,shampoos,conditioner,tea and coffee every day so we had no complaints on that front,as for the comments about people hanging about the main lobby getting free wifi it certainly ain't free and even in the lobby you have to be a guest in the hotel to use it as you need a name and room number to log in,to be fair it helped us a great deal as we checked out at 12pm but didn't get picked up until 3pm and could still use the wifi.
All in all a good hotel in a great location at a reasonable price,would I recommend it,yes I think I would as we have previously stayed in the Waldorf Astoria and the millennium broadway, value for money this one wins hands down.:0)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 689
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of New York City, The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the most exciting city in the world. Its exceptional location, just steps away from Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center and Central Park, is easy to get to wherever you are. Each room is equipped with convenient amenities, such as coffee/tea maker, ergonomic desk chairs, high speed internet access (for up to 5 devices), and electronic safes. Sleek lines, warm colors, and comfortable seating create a relaxed atmosphere in our renovated lobby, which features a communal lounge area with a plasma TV and limited time complimentary high speed internet access. In addition, squeeze in a workout at our 24 hrs. Health club at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Manhattan Times Square
Sheraton Manhatten
Sheraton Times Square
Sheraton Manhattan Hotel
Sheraton New York City
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.