We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and great service in the heart of the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Limited Offer Save 15%
Ranked #333 of 449 hotels in New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location and great service in the heart of the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The excellent location and helpful friendly staff at the ManhattanTimes Square make staying at this hotel a great way to spend your time in the city that never sleeps. Walk to all the great shows, shop 5th Ave, walk to central park, and Radio City is only 2 blocks away! Didn't eat at the restaurant and the property was a bit dated, but the rooms were OK, simple & fairly clean. The staff did everything they could to accommodate us and all our requests and the Theater Concierge (Rachael) got us some great last minute fabulous seats to Mary Poppins!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    512
    327
    137
    113
See reviews for
372
423
58
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indaiatuba, SP
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

location excellent,room poor,old ,not good,staff was ok internet wifi free only in looby,the breakfast expensive and not good.all hotels in times square are very expensive,.but this hotel could be a little more cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while relocated due to Hurricane Sandy. The room was old and antiquated, with a broken a/c and heat system that never worked. Spotty Internet only available via Ethernet for an outrageous $15/day. Security was weak - the guard let anyone in and never checked room keys. Worst of all, the service staff seems personally offended that they would have to do anything at all, endlessly transferring between desks if you call for anything. The laundry service is crazy expensive and they lost our clothes until we demanded them at checkout - and the manager refused to speak with us about it. Definitely not recommended, you can do a lot better for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, General Manager at The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Eactress 1,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience at the Hotel. On behalf of the entire team at the Hotel please accept my sincere apologies for the unfavorable experience you had during your recent visit to the city. I want to assure you that this is not the type of service we pride ourselves on delivering to all our guests. Please know that we deeply value your business and want to restore your confidence back in our Hotel. I invite you to contact me directly if there is anything I can do further as there is nothing more important than regaining your loyalty and trust.

Yours in Hospitality,

Brendan Moraes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here 2 days after hurricane Sandy - great location, staff friendly and very helpful, rooms clean, beds comfortable. My only concern is I am claustrophobic and can't use the elevators - I thought the stairs would be right next to the elevators - but they were not!! Each time I wanted to go up at night or come down in the morning I had to contact the friendly security people who would let me in and out of the building (next street) and I would have to walk round to the front of the building to meet the rest of my family. I guess you could say thats the price I have to pay for having a phobia!! But as I've said it was a great location.

Room Tip: Request a low floor if you can't stand elevators!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Saskatchewan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there with one other couple for 6 days. Prompt check in with no troubles. Rooms clean and adequately sized. Only a couple of blocks from Times Square. Surrounded by great night life and restaurants. Would stay here again my next time in Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location, can walk to nearly everything.Time square,Central park,buses,trains, bars restaurants.
No free internet in the room but you can get it in the lobby.
Some great diners around for breakfast etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Eastern Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Manhattan Times Square Hotel was an average hotel for the price. The view of downtown was amazing at the 20th floor, if one should choose to stay at this location ask for a corner room it is a great view. The price of the hotel is very inexpensive compared to other hotels in the area and their are a lot of places to eat near by. Our room was clean with a nice bed, the hotel services I can't complain very helpful. My only concern was we stayed in a room above a smoking room and the smell was strong in the bathroom. But otherwise I would recommend this hotel to outta towners. Gladly.

Room Tip: There are plenty of places to eat nearby and the location is excellent for sights. Besure to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel

Address: 790 7th Avenue at 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented hotel in busy West Side location - Near Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Fifth Avenue and theater district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Manhattan Times Square
Sheraton Manhatten
Sheraton Times Square
Sheraton Manhattan Hotel
Sheraton New York City
New York City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.