We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
THIRD NIGHT FREE IN NYC!
Ranked #95 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Loved this Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Stayed for the weekend with husband and teenaged son. We wanted a hotel that was a suite we could have a little more privacy than just a room with two beds. This room was huge! It was actually more of an apartment with totally separate bedroom. The living area had a sleep sofa which was opened and made up when we arrived. There was also a recliner. There was a large flat-screen TV in both rooms. Also a large dining table with 4 chairs. A separate kitchenette had a microwave, coffee maker, sink and fridge. The best part was a very large balcony with a gorgeous view of the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building. The only problem with the hotel was the very slow and overcrowded elevators. Since we were on the 13th floor (yikes!), we didn't really have much trouble coming down, but people on the lower floors had to wait for a less crowded elevator.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,787
    1,258
    245
    98
    65
See reviews for
976
1,103
172
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

My mum and I stayed here from the12th to the 17th December.

It has a lovely reception and waiting area. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Room was exceptional. Cleaned everyday and had great bedding, pillows etc..

The location is great only 4 blocks north and west of Times Square and Broadway.

Went for steak and drinks next door in Rare on the last night which was Amazing! Great service and as it was sooooo cold outside , really convenient.

Only couple of downsides and why I am not giving 5 stars. No robes in bathroom, even though there were 2 hooks? And only one lift worked which was a bit of a pain but not that bad, no plates or cutlery even though was a studio with microwave and fridge

Overall would recommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

This was my second trip to NYC and I booked the Affinia Shelburne after seeing the fantastic reviews it received on Trip Advisor. It was great value for money, and the staff were super friendly and helpful. My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will definitely stay there again next time we're in NYC! :-)
I cannot recommend this hotel enough! We stayed in a double room and we had the luxury for a California King bed which was enormous!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

All of the staff are very helpful and willing to serve, yet down-to-earth and not snooty. Chiran the Bellman from Nepal is the cream of the crop! If the third elevator was working (temporarily closed for renovation), I would give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Shelburne Murray in January of 2008 and had a wonderful experience. We were excited to stay there again this past November because of the magnificent renovations that were just completed. I can assure you, this hotel is well worth your money. The rooms are fantastic and inviting. The bathrooms have been renovated complete with marble vanities and tile. All of these amenities are well and good, but I must comment on the staff. My father, mother, and sister were staying at a different hotel near times square during the same weekend that my wife and I were staying at the Shelburne. They visited us during our first night their and were jealous of our accommodations! After eating in the Rare Bar and Grill (best burger in town) at the hotel, my father phoned me and asked me to secure a room for him and the rest of my family at the Shelburne! The staff made their transition very easy and salvaged my family's trip to the Big Apple. We will never stay at another hotel when in NYC. The neighborhood of Murray Hill is quaint and quiet, surrounded by world class cuisine and within walking distance of many of attractions. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Shelburne, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

What a surprise upon arrival our reservation couldnt be found in their system. Then we were asked if we were already checked in because it showed as that on the status. Shortly enough another Front Desk agent inform his colleague that the room was checked in because we had some flowers delivered to the room (flowers were a surprise for my partner, so my surprise was ruined upon checking in).
No pre arrival letter informing about elevators being repaired. Imagine in NYC only one elevator for the whole hotel? insane waiting time. Service elevator was an alternative but mostly full at all times with carts and employees. Stairs not an option when you are staying on the 7th floor and you are arriving with 2 suitcases. Lastly, maid service was not impeccable. Found some hair on my sink after room being serviced and some cleaning supplies and rags left on top of my sink in the bathroom.
Overall, not pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Fantastic room - one of few hotels that could accommodate family of 5. Hotel staff all very friendly and helpful, restaurant was excellent. Really good base for seeing New York. Would happily recommend it and would use it again, only downside was a lift out of order. Scotty's Diner across the road does a great NY breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#82 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,812 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#149 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel
Manhattan NYC–an Affinia hotel
#271 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,504 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#111 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#66 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in New York City
#23 Green Hotel in New York City
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
#74 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.