We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Night!
Ranked #90 of 459 Hotels in New York City
texas
1 review
“Loved it!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

Tarek Youssef was excellent! He made our stay more enjoyable by giving pointers and helping to secure reasonable transportation. Francisco the front desk clerk was extremely accommodating. The neighborhood is quiet with plenty of shopping and corner stores, minutes away from the west side of New York. This is an older hotel which needs the bathrooms renovated but they are comfortable. All staff members were accommodating and the people of New York were friendly totally killing our view of New Yorkers being "mean"... We visited Ground Zero(WTC), Century 21(shopping), The Color Purple w/Fantasia(broadway), Ha! Comedy Club, Bubba Gumps seafood restaurant,etc.. We can't wait until next summer!!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Housekeeping
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,520
    1,101
    216
    88
    57
See reviews for
818
964
145
364
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

Great hotel and staff. We had a one room suite which was huge. It had a king size bed and a pull out sofa. And we even fit in a roll away bed. The view was perfect could see the Empire State building. Room was clean. Good location, we walked back from Time Square in the evening. Nice little store on the corner. We had a great time in NYC.

  • Liked — Great view
  • Disliked — None that I can think of
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

My daughter, her boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel, and were not at all impressed. We booked the one bedroom suite, and found a mouse running around. We contacted the front desk, and they gave us another room that looked just as worn and in need of renovation. I will never stay here again--I have never seen a rodent in any other New York hotel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the mouse we found running around
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvinLopez, Assistant General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2007
Dear bme6,

Thank you for providing your honest feedback on your recent stay. I'm very sorry that you encountered a mouse in your room.
Unfortunately, we've been experiencing the after affects of a transformer explosion only 3 blocks away, which has disturbed the underground and it's inhabitants. We have a professional company dealing with this problem, as this is not typical for our hotel.
As for the quality of your room, we are aware that our suites are in need of renovation and look forward to our upcoming renovation this coming January. With our model room already completed, we're excited about the changes to come.
We hope you try us then, and hope to make you a repeat customer !

Sincerely,

Glenda Maldonado
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

The hotel is a bit old, but the location was great (near plenty of shopping) and the service was excellent.

I was able to get a low rate going right after New Year's so it was definitely a good value.

I'd stay here again.

  • Liked — value, location
  • Disliked — outdated
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

I stayed here with my 15 year old daughter in December '05. The hotel is lovely, nicely decorated, very clean, brilliant location. Quiet at night. We couldn't fault it, the staff were very helpful and the doormen too. Can't wait to go there again!! Two satisfied customers.

  • Liked — Very comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

I agree with some of the other recent reviews that the rooms are in need of a refurbishment. We had a deluxe one bedroom apartment and it was a lovely big size but the furnishings (especially fittings in kitchenette and bathroom) were shabby. I was particularly disappointed as we had not got this room cheaply and thought splashing out a bit would guarantee a bit more luxury. The wooden chests did smell musty (perhaps scented drawer liners would help!) but, to be fair, the beds/bedding were spotless. Having just moved from the Travel Inn on 42nd St where we were confronted with used bedding with other people's hairs and stains on, this was more of a relief than it perhaps should have been. You can also choose your own type of pillow if you're into that sort of thing.

On a positive note, we liked the quiet setting and friendly staff.

Less positive - the bars are heaving with non-residents making it almost impossible to use them. Also, the doorman promised us he had booked an SUV to take us to the aiport. Come 6am that morning, no doorman, no SUV and no yellow cab willing to take four of us and four massive suitcases to JFK airport. In the end, after much frantic running round, finally found a cab driver who would let one of us sit on a suitcase! We just made check in.

  • Liked — Size of room
  • Disliked — Furniture in need of refurbishment
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

The Shelburne Murray Hill is on a relatively quiet street 5 blocks from Grand Central Station. Our room was nicely furnished and comfortable and had a kitchenette. It had lots of drawers and cabinets and a homey feeling. housekeeping was quick and thorough. The staff is friendly and responded immediately to our one request, for a second chair so we could both eat at the desk (there was no other table). I asked for a quiet location and it was that - the view was of other people's windows. Some of the other rooms have views of the Empire State Building. The restaurant has been voted as having the best hamburger in NYC and I have to say it really was an excellent burger, though an expensive one. There are many restaurants and groceries nearby. Note that starting September 2007 they plan to renovate.

  • Liked — comfortable room
  • Disliked — pricey internet access
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in New York City
#33 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#94 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Murray Hill, one of Manhattan's coolest and most convenient of neighborhoods near Grand Central Station, you will find a perfect escape in the big apple, Shelburne NYC. Recently renovated, now it's brighter, bolder and even plusher than ever before. With 325 brand new guest rooms and suites, the Shelburne NYC's unique design offers travelers a place to connect with friends, family or colleagues. Rooms feature eclectic decor, flat-screens and giant mirrors. Sleek kitchenettes or minibars and bright, new bathrooms. Looking for a view that could inspire dreams of Empire? Check out our select group of Terrace Suites offering Manhattan city views. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.