We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affinia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Night!
Ranked #90 of 459 Hotels in New York City
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Affinia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We enjoyed staying here. It was nice and so convenient to all of our sites we visited. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Great view of Empire State Building! Close Grand Central Station


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Ronald S,

The gift of your recommendation is genuinely appreciated especially a recommendation you are giving to your closest friends and family! I am so pleased that you had such a great stay and will return next time you visit NYC. Our staff will be waiting with smiles.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,518
    1,101
    215
    87
    57
See reviews for
815
964
145
364
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were greatly warmly by the front desk staff at the Affinia Shelburne Hotel. The location was great for theatre and dinner. I would definetly return to this hotel. The staff was friendly and knowledgable. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Z,

Wonderful to hear that your stay went so well. I am glad you left us with fond memories and I hope you will return soon to catch another show in the nearby theater district. Our staff eagerly awaits your return and appreciates your kind words.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Easy to get to from JFK by taxi. Location great for Herald Square, Times Square, museums, UNIS, ....subway and Grand Centeal close by. Very helpful staff. Accommodating when room needed changing to have a walk-in shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Randy R,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our location so convenient! There is so much to see and do in and around our Murray Hill location, and when you want to get around we're just steps from Grand Central. Thank you for appreciating our staff in your review.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I'm now wary of hotels that have a high tripadvisor rating but when you look closely you find a large percentage of the 5 star reviews are 'one-offs' (ie. the reviewer's one and only contribution) and in the case of the Shelburne they are mostly identified towards the bottom as "review collected in partnership with this hotel". I stayed there for 9 nights and was not approached or emailed to write a review.

My first 2 nights in a one bed Guest Room, I would rate 2 stars. The bed was super comfortable and the room was large. But beware if you score the 2nd floor, you may end up with a window that looks out to a grotty courtyard full of building materials with the only light is coming from 16 storeys above (so no natural light) - after 24 hours in transit, I really needed natural light to help me adjust to the time zone. Poor water pressure and luke warm water, bathroom and corridor were grubby. If the hotel was upfront about the variation in room quality, I could opt to pay more for what I want.

I then had booked a One bedroom Deluxe Suite with 2 beds for the following week for myself and my daughter. This I would rate much higher - 4 stars when taking into account the overall hotel experience. It was a really good size, two super comfy Queen size beds, excellent shower and water pressure and lots of light. The room was on the 14th floor facing the street - with a view of the Empire State building.

This hotel looks and sounds great on the website - and it's ok. Good location, safe area. I found the service average though. Despite their 'smile' policy, I saw few. Renata is certainly an exception and the women providing drinks at happy hour were lovely. Nothing is clear and definite here - the room prices are different every night, if you ask for anything specific - change of room, room looking towards the street - they won't commit and you have to keep ringing and 'begging'. The kitchenette is great but you have to ask for a kitchen set, even then you only get the basics. I had to ask again for a kettle and a tea towel. Why aren't these in the room?

The hotel was renovated a few years ago but in a style that, to me, looks tired. The foyer is dark and crowded because there is only free wifi in the lobby. The lifts are slow, small, dark and not air-conditioned. The important things - sheets, bathroom, etc - are mostly clean but the windows, sills, shelves, lamps etc., could do with a good wipe down, the settee cushions were stained and the furniture is chipped.

I was fortunate to find a different hotel for my last 4 nights in New York that was cheaper but offered everything that the Shelburne promises plus free WiFi in every room, free printing for guests (Shelburne charges $5.95 for 15 minutes on computers in the lobby and extra for printing!), fast, air-conditioned lifts, bright, light and immaculately clean rooms. See my other review.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room looking out towards the street - it's worth a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Jenstar,

I appreciate your feedback and would really like an opportunity to talk to you directly about your stay. I hope that you will contact me directly at gdrepaul@affinia.com. I am glad that you did enjoy your stay overall. Thank you for recognizing Renata she is terrific.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. I thought the staff were amazing. They make you feel very comfortable in the hotel and are very friendly and genuine in conversation. The rooftop bar although a little expensive is a great plus. I used the bikes (free) over the weekend and enjoyed cycling to Central Park. The Rare restaurant attached is very good and a great meeting point. There are many nice cafe options nearby...the one we used mostly was Delectica. I would highly recommend this hotel for your visit to New York.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear SFrocks,

We are very thankful to be at the top of your list for places to stay in NYC. I am so glad you enjoyed our Republic custom made bikes and the rooftop. You can always expect authentic service from our staff.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lovely Hotel. Rooftop bar brilliant and seems popular with young and old. The Empire State Building is in the back garden! Staff pleasant and rare restaurant great, popular which means a good atmosphere

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Jane M,

I am so glad you found our hotel to your satisfaction and made the most of our spectacular roof top! You are right about the Empire State Building being within reach and makes for great photos. Rare Bar & Grill does an amazing job with their restaurant and rooftop bar, we have a great partnership. Please return soon.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My high school girlfriends and I just enjoyed a fabulous 4 night stay in your hotel. From the time we arrived on Thursday morning until we left Sunday afternoon we could not have been happier with our accommodations (we stayed slumber party style in your VERY spacious 1 bedroom suite) or the way we were treated by the staff! We spent the weekend exploring the city, taking a tap dance class at The Broadway Dance Center, seeing Broadway shows and trying new restaurants. I am a dental hygienist back here in Kansas City and I have spent the past week raving to my friends and patients about what a wonderful hotel the Shelburne is! I am trying to plan another trip to NYC soon so that I can stay there again! I have stayed several places in NYC and this hotel is my hands down favorite!
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Mrs. L Kim A,

Your review is something to rave about with all of our associates here at the hotel and with the whole tripadvisor community! Thank you so much for your glowing remarks they mean a lot to us coming from someone who lives in the Midwest where you all are world famous for your own amazing hospitality. You and your close friends are welcome to return anytime.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in New York City
#42 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#94 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Murray Hill, one of Manhattan's coolest and most convenient of neighborhoods near Grand Central Station, you will find a perfect escape in the big apple, Shelburne NYC. Recently renovated, now it's brighter, bolder and even plusher than ever before. With 325 brand new guest rooms and suites, the Shelburne NYC's unique design offers travelers a place to connect with friends, family or colleagues. Rooms feature eclectic decor, flat-screens and giant mirrors. Sleek kitchenettes or minibars and bright, new bathrooms. Looking for a view that could inspire dreams of Empire? Check out our select group of Terrace Suites offering Manhattan city views. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.