We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, loved it, loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Drinks on our Rooftop Bar
Ranked #91 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it, loved it, loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful stay at this lovely hotel earlier this month. We enjoyed our week-long stay so much that for our four-day stay later on after a trip to DC, we cancelled the existing reservation at another hotel and came back to Affinia. It was like coming home!

Pros:

Great location: Only a couple of blocks to Grand Central station, plenty of breakfast options on Lexington Avenue. In fact, Times Square, Rockefeller Centre and 5th Avenue are a leisurely walk away. Its easy to get everywhere, yet it is away from the tourist hustle and bustle.

Rooms: Very comfy beds, divine pillows, good-sized rooms, the shower was great with plenty of piping hot water. Quiet, we couldn't hear any noise in either of the rooms we stayed in. One didn't have any view, from the other we could see Lexington Avenue and Empire State Building at an angle.

Service: Friendly front desk staff, dealt with a couple of issues regarding the air conditioner (which was noisy) and blinds (which couldn't be lowered) very promptly. The doormen are all polite and pleasant. There is wine hour from 5pm to 6pm in the lobby, and while we unfortunately were not able to participate, it is a nice gesture. Even after I had booked the hotel, and emailed regarding a couple of queries, I got prompt replies that made me feel I had made the right choice. And after our stay, I must say I'm happy I picked Affinia Shelburne.

Only con I could think of is: No free wi-fi in the room. There is free wi-fi in the lobby, but free wi-fi in the room should be a given, in this day and age. It'll be a great addition to the facilities.

There was no breakfast included in the price. While it is not a deal-breaker to me, it does save a lot of time and is a good start to the day if it is provided.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Affinia for a great stay in the Big Apple, and would return to this gem when I visit New York again. In fact, I would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear uvr,

You've made our staff's day with your incredibly wonderful review about both of your stays with us! The entire team works selflessly to deliver the kind of service that will make our guests feel welcomed and want to return. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay as much as you did. We do have packages and promotions that include the cost of Wi-Fi in your guest room or the cost of Breakfast to give you the added value you are looking for. Please visit our website or feel free to contact me directly at gdrepaul@affinia.com.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,673
    1,174
    233
    94
    61
See reviews for
903
1,029
161
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Affinia for 5 nights at the end of June. When we first arrived, check in was speedy and the ladies on the desk were very welcoming. We set off for our room but had trouble getting into it, so a member of staff issued us with new key cards. We entered our room to find someone else possessions. A little confused ,one of the receptionist came and showed us to another room. A little confusion but 5 minutes later it was promptly sorted.
The hotel is in a great location- not too far away from everything and not too noisy. As said in the other reviews just a few blocks from grand centeral & the Empire State Building.
The lobby was always buzzing, mainly people using the wifi. We didn't feel it was a problem not having it free of charge in our room- we didn't need access all the time. The rooms were spacious, pretty much exactly as shown on the pictures if not a little bigger. Great lights in the bathroom too.
The wine hour was a great touch- a nice early evening drink was just what we wanted after a long day walking!
We didn't have breakfast in Rare, we tried Scotty's and another one just further down (forgotten name) but they were lovely and very typically American. We did have dinner and drinks in Rare though, the ribs were amazing and mojitos delish :) average price.
Overall we had a great stay and would probably stay again if coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Poppy_may1,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the time to post a glowing review. Our team will quickly respond to any issues that may arise to ensure your experience is seamless and worry free. Our location is precisely where our guests want us to be, close to transportation and exciting places, yet tucked away in a genuine NYC residential neighborhood. Wine Hour has been a huge success and so glad you enjoyed the wine selections.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were more than pleasantly surprised. Rooms are spacious. The complementary wine hour is delicious. Yummy cheese selection. Nice location. Free bikes. Altogether a terrific option for the Big apple. .


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Sally G,

I am so glad that you enjoyed one of our many perks of staying with us like our free bike share program with custom made Republic brand bikes. It has been a very popular amenity for many of our guests. Wine hour which launched in April has also been a big hit and we just extended it to 7 days a week! Our rooftop is also amazing for unobstructed views of the Empire State Building and more, we just reopened it in time to welcome the summer solstice!

Safe Travels,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel has large rooms/suites as they were formerly condos. Rooms are beautifully decorated. Great hotel for business or pleasure. Enough room for a small family. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. The location is wonderful with lots of great shops and restaurants nearby. If this hotel is sold out, then I'd recommend it's sister property the Affinia Dumont.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Shawn P,

Our rooms are very spacious, most are actually bigger than many NYC apartments. Any of our "deluxe" accommodations feature a kitchenette which is ideal for families or business travelers alike because of the flexibility it adds to your dining options. Our team is here to ensure you feel welcome and will help you make the most out of your visit to NYC, and our newly reopened roof top doesn't hurt!

I look forward to you return,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great Hotel, great location, nice people, rooms are small but clean, coffee service would be great down stair in the lobby.
Guys that bring your bags in are great, nice, friendly, they get a cab for you
Micheal consuir great guy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Solomon O,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff in your post, especially Michael he will be thrilled. Friendly and genuine service is what you can expect from our team. Our great location makes it easy to stay close to major sites and means of transportation like Grand Central. Thank you for your suggestion on coffee service, we're always looking for ways to add value to your stay.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent 6 days here in June for our silver anniversary and can't fault the hotel we were upgraded to a superior suite and champagne was delivered free of charge. The roof top terrace is closed due to building work which was disappointing however the hotel is well paced between downtown and uptown with Empire State Building and Grand Central both a five minute walk away. Loved our holiday and would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Ann C,

Your anniversary celebration is something very meaningful and we are delighted that you enjoyed the special extras we planned for you! Our rooftop was closed to fix a few things required by law, although I am happy to say it is now reopen! Our convenient location is unsurpassed for hotels in midtown and I appreciate that you will be back. I look forward to meeting you at Wine Hour or on the roof top!

Safe Travels,
George Drepaul
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed here to visit my brother who just moved around the block from the hotel. We were very pleased with our stay at the Affinia Shelburne. The location can't be beat if you want to stay in Manhattan. It's 3 blocks from Grand Central, a couple blocks from Bryant Park and the NY Public Library, and about 15-20 minutes from Times Square. It's proximity to Grand Central makes it really easy to get around. The hotel is very well designed in the lobby and the rooms are as well. We didn't try the burger place, Rare, but the menu looked good. We also experienced excellent customer service, for the most part. One of the concierges was kind of useless, but everyone else there did a great job. Including the person at the front desk who extended our check out time when we stumbled in around 3am the morning we were checking out. The only disappointing things were that the rooftop bar was closed, and they don't have free wireless. I think as a 4 star hotel, internet should be free, and not $15 a day. Other than that, I would really recommend this hotel who wanted to stay in Midtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear wojo15jg,

I am so glad that our convenient midtown location meant more time with your brother and easier access to great local sites like the NY Public Library and Times Square. Our team will go out of its way to make your stay more enjoyable and extending your checkout seemed just what you needed to complete your stay. Our lobby does feature free WiFi at all times, and with the addition of our complimentary Wine Hour every night, and great new music selections our Lobby will add to your hotel experience.

I look forward to your return,
George Drepaul
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in New York City
#38 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
#65 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#90 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.