We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a good choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Night!
Ranked #90 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Firenze, Italia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Definitely a good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Very good place to stay. We were given a quiet room at the third floor. We would have preferred a higher floor but didn't regret it while going down the stairs to avoid the frequent queues at the lifts during the busiest hours. Room had enough space to move around (compared to Manhattan's average) and was clean.
The furniture of the hotel is recent and modern.
Great concierge Chris helped us with some reservation even 1 week before our arrival.
Location is perfect, very close to Grand Central in Midtown.
Very nice roof terrace with bar.
Good quality/price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,518
    1,101
    215
    87
    57
See reviews for
815
964
145
364
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I spent a long shopping weekend on Manhattan with a girlfriend and we wanted to be close to 'everything'. It turned out that the Shelburne is no more that a $10 cab fare from both lower Broadway as well as Central Park! As soon as our shopping feet got tired, we crabbed a cab back to the hotel and off loaded our bags before we headed out again! I am also one of those picky hotel guests and if I feel that I can't walk barefoot in my room, then I am simply not happy. Well, not only was this hotel clean but it also looked like something you could find in an upscale design shop! There were k studio details everywhere (famous designers Mary Klein and Shelly Klein) and the design of the room provided absolute comfort. The beds were super comfortable as well, and this mommy couldn't come home happier and better rested to her family after a weekend away at the Shelburne!

Room Tip: Ask for an off street room to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We stayed at the Affinia in February 2011 for 3 nights and it truly was excellent. It is located about 15 minute walk from Times Square which was fine (even though it was very cold!) The hotel staff were all very helpful, a massive thank you to the doorman (I really wish I had his name to hand) who helped us with getting tickets for our train journey back to Newark Airport from Penn Station. The complimentary Tea and Coffee in reception each morning was a lovely warm start to the cold days. In all, no negatives only pluses. Oh and the rooms were VERY large (in New York terms from what I gather most are some box rooms.)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We chose this hotel because it was budget friendly and only four blocks from subway access. The benefits of this hotel did not stop here. We walked in an hour and a half before check-in time to check our bags and start exploring the city. When we went to the desk, they checked us in early and upgraded our room, all complimentary. Our stay was very enjoyable because of the staff as well. The front desk employees were nice, as were the cleaning and maintenance staff. It was an awesome place to stay, and we will be going there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Dear cml273106,

Thank you for your recent stay at Affinia Shelburne. We appreciate your comments on our great location and especially the nice comments on our staff.
We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope to see you again soon.

George Drepaul CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We booked a one bedroom deluxe suite with two beds. We had a bedroom with 2 queen beds and lots of space plus a huge living area with pull-out sofa. There was also a small kitchenette adjoining the living area. We were a family of four and we had more than enough space. The beds were extremely comfortable.The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spotless. The kitchenette has a bar fridge, microwave oven, coffee maker & tea/coffee. You can request dishes & kettle for your kitchenette. We had told the hotel that we were celebrating 2 birthdays. This didn't help us get a fabulous view though we could see the Empire State Building on an angle out the window. However, the hotel did deliver 2 large cupcakes to help us celebrate the birthdays. We were able to check in a bit early and we were given a late check out. The location is within walking distance of Times Square, Bryant Park and Central Park. The subway station is Grand Central Station. We left behind 2 chargers that the hotel is sending to us. I booked directly with Affinia and they matched online rates. The only cons were we weren't told that the concierge charges a fee of $3/ticket for The Circle Line Cruise and sometimes there can be a wait for the elevator but this is small compared to all of the positives. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

I rarely write hotel reviews even though I spend hours reading them before booking a stay anyway-no matter the properties star and luxury rating. Cleanliness and comfort are by far the most important elements for any hotel stays when it comes to my travels and that's why I am delighted to deliver a top review for the Affinia.

Rooms/beds were clean and comfortable and I had a great night sleep throughout my stay. RARE is a top destination for upscale bar food dining: some of best burgers in town and great atmosphere! I enjoyed the roomy fitness center as well.

The only issues I ran into were SLOW elevators. Although my room was on the 7th floor, I used the stairs most times to avoid waiting for the elevator. I do, however, enjoy using the stairs but some may find this irritating. Also, I was disappointed that the rooms didn't offer a full length mirror. Only mirror was located in the bathroom and two guests would have issues getting ready when one person is using the bathroom/shower.

Also, internet is not included in the hotel rate. At $15 per day, that can get expensive. Instead, head over the Starbucks which is located just 2 blocks away at 40th Street for Free Wifi!

Otherwise, enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Three of us had a wonderful time celebrating teen daughter's 16th birthday...and Mother's day. Though our room was not available for an early check-in, we were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves with a top floor room (15th floor) when we returned from a late lunch in midtown. It was a 1 bedroom deluxe suite with plenty of room for 3 and extremely comfortable beds. As others have noted, rooms here are large and the bathroom was very nice...shower, no tub. We always had enough towels, toiletries and linens were changed as often as we requested. The staff was hospitable and answered any questions with ease. We sought the assistance of the concierge for dinner recommendations and found them to be helpful. Yes, the elevator was sometimes slow, especially in the evenings when crowds grew for the rooftop bar on the 16th floor. But the hotel staff made sure hotel guests had priority over people just visiting the roof top bar. Speaking of the roof top bar, it did indeed have great views! We had a late lunch in the restaurant.(Rare)...the burgers are really good. Our only complaint would be charging for internet access. Whether using a laptop in the room or the computers in the lobby area, internet service should be complimentary these days in hotels. Overall, we would certainly stay here again for the large clean rooms, friendly service and good midtown location (only 4 blocks to Grand Central Station for subway access).

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in New York City
#42 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#94 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Murray Hill, one of Manhattan's coolest and most convenient of neighborhoods near Grand Central Station, you will find a perfect escape in the big apple, Shelburne NYC. Recently renovated, now it's brighter, bolder and even plusher than ever before. With 325 brand new guest rooms and suites, the Shelburne NYC's unique design offers travelers a place to connect with friends, family or colleagues. Rooms feature eclectic decor, flat-screens and giant mirrors. Sleek kitchenettes or minibars and bright, new bathrooms. Looking for a view that could inspire dreams of Empire? Check out our select group of Terrace Suites offering Manhattan city views. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our complimentary Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.