We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Tower to your Saves list
Riverside Tower
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Riverside Drive, New York City, NY 10024 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #363 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Location, location, location!

This old hotel has received a lot of updates over the last couple of years. A new cafe, one room at a time is being remodeled and now wifi throughout the building. It's still not a big fancy hotel, and it is very rough around the edges but it's perfect for us.

The prices are great, the location is even better and we love breakfast at Zabar's every morning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    141
    122
    61
    76
See reviews for
109
94
47
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We will echo most of the other reviews. This was well worth the money. The staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. Yes, the elevators only hold three adults or five hobbits comfortably. It's also true that the rooms are small, like lower inside cabin on a cruise ship small. But it's clean, the beds are comfortable, our two room suite had a fridge and microwave, and our view of the river was beautiful. Close to the subway and lots of shops and restaurants but with much less congestion. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night because we had to check-out of our hotel in Times Sqaure. Definitely not luxurious or 5 star but if all you need is a place to sleep then this will be fine. Free wi-fi was a plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in this hotel and would definately stay again. For the price, it was perfect... for the immenities, there were none. But then again, we didn't need any. We're in NYC for pete's sake. The rooms [suite] were extemely small [and very clean], but that was okay. We were basically in the rooms to eithr shower or sleep. We had a city at our footsteps. Why just wallow in the room? The hotel was a $37.00 cab ride from La Guardia. We were three blocks from the nearest subway station and from there could get to anywhere in the city with no problem. Many many restaurants, deli's, convenience stores within walking distance of the hotel. Even found a movie theatre close by. Perfect location. The hotel staff; Rooms were cleaned every day to our expectations. The young gentlemen who worked the evening desk was very nice and helped us with directions and even let us use his printer to print off ticket's for the following days activites. Acknowledged us everytime we came or went. The day staff... well, they were there. Never looked up or greeted us upon our comings or goings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

What a great value! The location and the price are unbeatable. The bathroom was very clean and relatively spacious; the room, while spartan, fit what we needed. I will definitely stay there again. The front desk was helpful and positive.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a well located very small clean hotel room that does the job and nothing more and nothing less. I would stay here again. Though it appears there is no air con so summer could be brutal. The neighborhood is amazing and subway is 3 min walk away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I strongly recommend this hotel for people who want to spend little time in it.
The rooms are small and the building is old. It wasn't a big deal because we spent most of the time sightseeing and would come back to the hotel only to take a shower and sleep.
The location is perfect. Close to the subway, a deli, drugstore and other facilities.
It's a safe place.
The hotel staff was really nice and helpful.
Once I come back to NY, it'll definetly be my choice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riverside Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Tower

Address: 80 Riverside Drive, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Tower 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Riverside Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Tower Hotel New York City
Riverside Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.