We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Tower to your Saves list
Riverside Tower
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Riverside Drive, New York City, NY 10024 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #369 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night because we had to check-out of our hotel in Times Sqaure. Definitely not luxurious or 5 star but if all you need is a place to sleep then this will be fine. Free wi-fi was a plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    154
    131
    61
    78
See reviews for
117
98
50
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in this hotel and would definately stay again. For the price, it was perfect... for the immenities, there were none. But then again, we didn't need any. We're in NYC for pete's sake. The rooms [suite] were extemely small [and very clean], but that was okay. We were basically in the rooms to eithr shower or sleep. We had a city at our footsteps. Why just wallow in the room? The hotel was a $37.00 cab ride from La Guardia. We were three blocks from the nearest subway station and from there could get to anywhere in the city with no problem. Many many restaurants, deli's, convenience stores within walking distance of the hotel. Even found a movie theatre close by. Perfect location. The hotel staff; Rooms were cleaned every day to our expectations. The young gentlemen who worked the evening desk was very nice and helped us with directions and even let us use his printer to print off ticket's for the following days activites. Acknowledged us everytime we came or went. The day staff... well, they were there. Never looked up or greeted us upon our comings or goings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

What a great value! The location and the price are unbeatable. The bathroom was very clean and relatively spacious; the room, while spartan, fit what we needed. I will definitely stay there again. The front desk was helpful and positive.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a well located very small clean hotel room that does the job and nothing more and nothing less. I would stay here again. Though it appears there is no air con so summer could be brutal. The neighborhood is amazing and subway is 3 min walk away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I strongly recommend this hotel for people who want to spend little time in it.
The rooms are small and the building is old. It wasn't a big deal because we spent most of the time sightseeing and would come back to the hotel only to take a shower and sleep.
The location is perfect. Close to the subway, a deli, drugstore and other facilities.
It's a safe place.
The hotel staff was really nice and helpful.
Once I come back to NY, it'll definetly be my choice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This older hotel is a bargain. Small very clean rooms-bathroom small but newly tiled and CLEAN. It is in an amazing neighborhood across the street from a park you can walk, run or bike in next to the Hudson River. Friendly,helpfull staff gave us super good info for the bus and subway. Many choices for dining out or picking up food and eating in your room. Micro/fridge a plus for a restricted diet and a small dining area made it feel like a small NYC apartment. I have a whole new outlook on NYC thanks to this stay. And the 2 room suite works great if you are traveling with someone who stays up later than you watching TV, etc..
Parking is tricky on the street but parking garages are right in the neighborhood but pricey.
Definetely will use this hotel again......

Room Tip: talk to the desk clerk about your needs-mom/daughter needed 2 beds and 2 rooms connected by the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Just returned from four nights in NYC - stayed at Riverside Tower. I had read the other reviews on this site prior to going so I knew what to expect. For the price this place can't be beat. Location on a quiet street in the Upper West Side is great (a wonderful relief after battling the crowds all day), staff were friendly, rooms were clean (and yes, very small), elevator hilariously small, fresh towels and sheets, plenty of hot water, quiet at night. Close to subway, Central and Riverside Parks, AMNH, great restaurants on Amsterdam, Zabar's and other markets on Broadway. Yes, the paint was thick (but looked like a new coat) and the hallways are a bit dingy. Yes, if someone left a drawer open you couldn't get out of the bathroom. Who cares! You are in Manhattan!!! Four of us shared a 2-room suite linked by a bathroom (sinks in the room). We had a small microwave and fridge and a table and chairs in one room. The new cafe on the main floor is nice - good coffee, juice and pastries - but only open from 8:30 to 5:00. I will definitely be staying here again on future trips to NYC.

Room Tip: Higher floors should have good views of the Hudson River and Riverside Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#381 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Upper West Side
Park 79 Hotel
Park 79 Hotel
#349 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#388 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#342 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 853 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#287 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#346 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Tower

Address: 80 Riverside Drive, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Tower 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riverside Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Tower Hotel New York City
Riverside Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.