We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Tower to your Saves list
Riverside Tower
80 Riverside Drive, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #367 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Topton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Three of us stayed in a suite which is two small rooms connected by a toilet and shower. Each room has a sink and closet. One room has a double bed and one room has a table & chairs, trundle bed, microwave and refrigerator. The rooms are small but clean. We heard no noise from others on our floor. We had a great view over the River and New Jersey.
Museums within easy walking distance. I walked to Times Square in 35 minutes. Very good price for three adults. Hotel in NJ about the same price but we were in Manhattan!. Parking on the street is almost impossible. There is a parking lot very close for extra money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    123
    113
    58
    75
See reviews for
95
81
44
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have stayed in the Riverside Tower on eight different occasions with my wife and we love it. The rooms are small but clean and warm in winter. The shower is always warm and powerful, the staff are friendly and helpful. With your own bathroom, fridge, microwave and TV where else in New York would you get such value in a quite but perfect location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and keep coming back. Love the neighborhood love the staff and keep returning. I want a place to sleep and be comfortable when I come to NYC. I am out and about in the city. If I wanted "luxury " I would stay home. THe price is right - convenient and kindness is the best part. Will be back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill on Sea, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel is in need of total modernisation.... but were that to happen, you would be paying two or three times as much. Okay, it's basic and looks like it hasn't been modernised since the Great Depression, but the plus side is it's cheap by New York standards, clean, the beds are comfortable and it's warm. Bathrooms are a bit quirky forming a connection between two bedrooms in a 'suite'

It's a nice location in a safe and affluent neighbourhood. 79th Street Subway station (Line 1) is less than five minutes walk and the American Natural History Museum less than ten. There are various shops, bars and delis two blocks away on Broadway.

If you want to get out and explore the Big Apple, it's ideal if you just want somewhere to sleep without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My best friend and I just stayed here overnight on 10/23/13. We read many reviews so we knew what to expect. We actually went with very low expectations so what we found was probably better than what we had imagined. Your options here are a single room or a "suite" which is two single rooms joined by a small bathroom containing a stand up shower and a toilet. Each room has it's own sink basin. The location of the hotel is very good. The nearest subway stop is at West 79th St. and a very short walk away. Central Park is just a couple blocks away as well. We had breakfast at nearby Zabars a block away. The hotel is a 17 story narrow building with only a handful of rooms on each floor. You enter a very small lobby where there are one or two people seated at a desk. They are dressed very casually and most appear to be college aged students. There are two TINY elevators in this lobby. They are so small, it's actually funny. We stayed on the 11th floor and on our first trip down, our elevator stopped at the 8th floor and two men got on. I have no idea how the 4 of us fit in there but we did. The rooms themselves would remind you of really old dorm rooms. I'm assuming that all single rooms have a twin bed because our suite had a single in the one room and a double bed in the other BUT the double bed took up a good portion of the room and covered the door to the room. You can see this in some of the pictures attached to tripadvisor. So, whoever stays in that side of the suite has no choice but to come and go from the other room. This is something to keep in mind if both people in hour party wish to come and go separately. The twin size bedroom also had a trundle bed underneath it so you could put another person in there. There'd be no room to walk if you did that. You'd have to slide down to the end of the beds to get to the bathroom and you'd have to put the trundle bed away to get out the door. I'm not sure but I'm guessing this hotel does not meet fire codes with the blocked door situation in the one room and the potential to block the other door with the trundle bed. The bedding was clean and we did a thorough search for bedbugs and found nothing. The comfort of the bed was ok, not great but after a long day of walking all over the city, we didn't care. Everything is very dated in the room and you can tell that there are many layers of paint on the walls and in the bathroom. The shower had a very weak stream so it was hard to rinse your hair. Although it appeared to have been cleaned, we were hesitant to step in it because it was just so old. We opted to put a hand towel down to stand on. Bring flip flops if you remember. But the water was hot so that's good. You can hear other people in the hotel very easily. There were people next to us that we could hear when we went to sleep but we were so tired, we didn't care.
The price is right here. You aren't going to find a price this good in a nice location anywhere else in the city. If you can handle the tiny space and the items I described above, you'll be fine. There is a TV in each room. They are small and mine seemed to have a couple of colors missing in the picture but that wasn't a big deal. We mostly wanted a safe place to sleep and keep our things while we shopped and walked around. The Riverside worked for us and I think it would work for many. We were able to laugh about some of it. Others that have a taste for only the high end things in life would not do well here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Riverside Tower Hotel is in an affluent residential area on the upper West side looking over the Hudson River.

We were travelling as 2 couples in mid August and when we were looking for NYC accommodation on our £50 per couple per night budget, the next cheapest options were literally in the basements of Chinese restaurants, so to see this at such a good price, above ground, with a view and separate bedrooms for us instead of 2 beds in the same room, it seemed definitely worth the risk.

As mentioned, this hotel is in a good residential area, with 2 streets of really nice bars to serve everyone's tastes and pockets and the best supermarket - Zabar's - we've ever been in. We felt really safe walking around at night and the locals were actually pretty friendly despite the NYC cliches. You can even join them, for a jog along the riverside or in the park where everyone walks their dogs.

The compromise for the price was really just that the hotel was very, very basic and the rooms were small. But you're in New York - why are you staying in? We took heed of the notice in the foyer to make sure doors were locked and valuables stowed away, as the security was literally just a person on reception who did not check if you were a resident or not, so could have been anyone. The locks on the doors were basically like the push button, round handled toilet door locks. The bedrooms had their own TVs, fantastic views of the river and New Jersey, and a shared toilet and shower between the 2 bedrooms - we were in a 4 person suite.
We were within walking distance of Central Park where we had breakfast each day, sometimes eating the goods from Zabar's, and the tour bus route stopped really close by too so it was effectively our taxi for the days.

If you are on a budget and planning on going out exploring, and maybe not leaving diamond jewellery or computers in your bedroom, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Good location
Friendly staff
Very very cheap
Brilliant view

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Tower

Address: 80 Riverside Drive, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Riverside Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Tower Hotel New York City
Riverside Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.