We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the best option on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Tower

Save Saved
You added Riverside Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverside Tower
80 Riverside Drive, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #361 of 449 hotels in New York City
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Definitely the best option on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Riverside Tower Hotel is in an affluent residential area on the upper West side looking over the Hudson River.

We were travelling as 2 couples in mid August and when we were looking for NYC accommodation on our £50 per couple per night budget, the next cheapest options were literally in the basements of Chinese restaurants, so to see this at such a good price, above ground, with a view and separate bedrooms for us instead of 2 beds in the same room, it seemed definitely worth the risk.

As mentioned, this hotel is in a good residential area, with 2 streets of really nice bars to serve everyone's tastes and pockets and the best supermarket - Zabar's - we've ever been in. We felt really safe walking around at night and the locals were actually pretty friendly despite the NYC cliches. You can even join them, for a jog along the riverside or in the park where everyone walks their dogs.

The compromise for the price was really just that the hotel was very, very basic and the rooms were small. But you're in New York - why are you staying in? We took heed of the notice in the foyer to make sure doors were locked and valuables stowed away, as the security was literally just a person on reception who did not check if you were a resident or not, so could have been anyone. The locks on the doors were basically like the push button, round handled toilet door locks. The bedrooms had their own TVs, fantastic views of the river and New Jersey, and a shared toilet and shower between the 2 bedrooms - we were in a 4 person suite.
We were within walking distance of Central Park where we had breakfast each day, sometimes eating the goods from Zabar's, and the tour bus route stopped really close by too so it was effectively our taxi for the days.

If you are on a budget and planning on going out exploring, and maybe not leaving diamond jewellery or computers in your bedroom, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Good location
Friendly staff
Very very cheap
Brilliant view

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    110
    105
    51
    73
See reviews for
82
73
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I come to New York often. It is an expensive city. Gone are the days where I want to call room service and be pampered while in bed, while there are so many nice restaurants in the area, spas, coffee shops, clothing stores along Broadway nearby. The location is amazing with lots of history along Riverside Road, beautiful monuments. There is a cafe coming downstairs, you can get some really nice treats and coffee. I met the new owner of the cafe very nice lady. I endorse this hotel completely. For a sensible person who understands the value of today's dollar this place is great. I was not noisy when I was there, but for $1.99 you can buy earplugs and you would need them at Trump, Hilton or Plaza just the same. Riverside area is quiet with not so much traffic and lights coming into your room.

Room Tip: look for the suites, more room for you they start at $139 a night, you get two rooms and bathroom in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I never bother reviewing, but I'll do a quick one here. Stayed at Riverside Tower for a few days since my son a 2 back-to-back med school interviews in town, so just needed a home base. This place was perfect. OK, the rooms are small and a bit run down, but so what? - the beds and bathroom were very clean. (if it's not your style, you can always spend 3 times as much per night and stay at the Lucerne, but I kind of like the funky personality of this place) For the ridiculously low price they charge for a suite, we had 2 rooms and a bathroom, a beautiful view of the Hudson (not a brick wall like you often get in midtown), Riverside Park and the safe and walkable upper West End right outside our door, a gazillion restaurants 3 blocks up on Amsterdam Ave. Folks were nice, too. Like it says in the title, "Why stay anywhere else in NYC?" - I know we won't bother with any other hotel from here on out. Riverside Tower Hotel is, without a doubt, the best deal in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

5 subway stations to Times Square, good area, smart neighborhood.
The problem is that the hotel is really really old. The room cleaners make her efforts to keep everything clean, but the hotel is so so old that seems to be dirty.
The reception staff depending on the one you find there is nice or unkind.
I paid 300$/2 nights and, if the next time I go to NY, I can't find a cheap hotel in Manhattan, I will repeat at Riverside Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The location is good, close to the river and not so much noise. Staff is friendly and helpful. But the rooms are too small and it feels crowded it is possible to hear what people talk in the adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverside Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Tower

Address: 80 Riverside Drive, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riverside Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Tower Hotel New York City
Riverside Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.