We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room size is for 1 person” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Tower

Save Saved
You added Riverside Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverside Tower
80 Riverside Drive, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #361 of 449 hotels in New York City
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Room size is for 1 person”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The location is good, close to the river and not so much noise. Staff is friendly and helpful. But the rooms are too small and it feels crowded it is possible to hear what people talk in the adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    109
    105
    51
    73
See reviews for
82
73
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location but the elevators are either small and musty or small and or small and over bleached. They use the same elevator that the customers use for trash also be prepared to wait about 5-10 minutes. The shower is very small so leave the curtain open or let your butt rub against the shower curtain .
The beds are comfortable. Also the wifi is in the so called lobby I don't consider it a lobby more of a small room.
So if read the other reviews they go more in depth and almost are all true

Room Tip: Don't turn the ac on high it gets too cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were so excited to book a "suite" with 2 rooms and bathroom, A/C, Wifi in our old UWS neighborhood, and have NEVER been SO let down by a hotel. The location and advertisement were the only good things about it. It was HOT, more like a SRO or hostel than a "hotel," the beds were soft, I wouldn't even undo the covers. The wifi only works in one room downstairs that has no couch, just metal chairs to sit on. I don't know how this got one star even. I have NEVER left a hotel and NOT stayed there, but that is what we did here. Awful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie R, Owner at Riverside Tower, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
You had new air conditioners in each of the rooms of your suite. You just did not know how to turn them on. Your beds were also new. We have just completed a renovation of rooms. Other guests that wrote reviews totally disagree with you. You should have gone to the Waldorf Astoria where you could get what you want for $500 a night.
Debra Reeves, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elwood, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great location within walking distance to everything you would need! We had a pretty small room, which was expected, but very clean and well maintained. We were expecting to be disappointed because of previous reviews and photos but they must have updated the rooms/amenities because we were pleasantly surprised! The only downside was the somewhat rickety elevator that was very slow but apart from that everything was great! Friendly, helpful staff and great value!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Rooms are too small. but nice view of the Hudson River from the window. No wifi in the rooms but only in the lobby. The receptionnists are very kind. The location is very good (5 subway stops and you're in Time Square).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverside Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Tower

Address: 80 Riverside Drive, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riverside Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Tower Hotel New York City
Riverside Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.