We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a place to sleep & explore the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Tower to your Saves list
Riverside Tower
80 Riverside Drive, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #360 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Augusta, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for a place to sleep & explore the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have stayed here twice on family trips to NY. It is an old building with small cramped rooms but if you are like us you only need a room to sleep and shower. I like the fact that it has an old authentic NY feel to it. Our rooms have been clean & adequate with a small fridge, table & microwave. The location is perfect...right beside Riverside Park & the views are great. Its a lovely neighborhood full of old interesting buildings. Its a quick walk to the subway & a variety of restaurants & stores on Broadway. I enjoy the short walk to Zabar's & having breakfast with the locals. We have been lucky to find a parking spot right in front of the motel but there is a parking garage right across the street. The front desk is always staffed with friendly, helpful people who have steered us to buying theatre tickets, restaurants & directions. There is a small lobby & bathrooms downstairs. The elevators are small & cramped but no problem. I think if you are on a trip to explore the city this a great value & a beautiful location. We will be staying there anytime we return to New York.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    128
    114
    58
    75
See reviews for
97
85
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Although small the room was very clean, the rates are 1/2 what you would pay for a budget hotel in Manhattan and the parking is free on the street - just pay attention to which side of the street is being swept when you do park!. Subway is 2 blocks away, the neighborhood is very safe and nice to walk through. Central Park is 4 blocks away and there are plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby. Elevators are very tight so if you are claustrophobic ask for a low floor room. We had a room on the 15th floor and one of us walked the stairs each time! Great view of the hudson river out the window... Will stay here again!

Room Tip: If small elevators don't bother you ask for a high floor room with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely gross, the interior of this hotel reflects sheer neglect from top to bottom. Our sheets were dirty (multiple pubic hairs) as was the bathroom. I am fine with the tiny, barely equipped rooms but there is no excuse for the overall lack of upkeep in this building.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is a great location on the upper West Side. It was built as a dormitory for Columbia Univ. students in the 1920's, but was not used as such and was used as apartments for many years for artists and entertainers. It was converted to a hotel some years ago. It is down at the heels and needs a good refurbishing which I understand they are starting.
Very small rooms. But for the location and the price it is a good deal.

Room Tip: Go for the two room suite for only $10 more per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The decor was poor and run down . It has scope to be a good hotel... needs to be spruced up. The staff at the reception were friendly. Rooms were cramped . Furniture/furnishing was tacky.Fine if it is a place to sleep only.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I felt some trepidation about booking two suites here for my family's weeklong visit to New York. There were seven of us, my wife, son, daughter-in-law, and three grandkids. But there was no way I could afford accommodations for this long hoped for trip to my old home town at any other establishment I could find on the internet. But from the first moment of telephone booking to the morning we left, every bit of the experience was terrific.

The location, as stated in all the hotel's publicity, is unbeatable: adjacent to Riverside Park and the Hudson River in a tall building that stands by itself in a classy neighborhood, the block a special historic architectural district, the amazing restaurants on Broadway and subway stop a five minute walk. The building dates from the 1920's when it was constructed as a Columbia University dorm and thankfully has never been redesigned though it has been updated in essentials like windows, showers and elevator. The fact that it's old, the paint is thick, the pipes and radiators are visible, and the rooms are minimal size makes it not only an authentic New York antique, but serves as a model of modest, sustainable habitability in which every square inch of space is functional. The building's design seems to me unique and classic--it occupies a small horizontal footprint and gains its volume from vertical rise. That means that every room provides unobstructed and beautiful views. The tall graceful proportions of the structure are intensified by the eccentric angle of the southwest corner, apparently designed to accommodate the requirements of the lot-lines laid out by Frederick Law Olmstead when he designed Riverside Park.

The rooms were very clean when we arrived and kept that way by first class maid service before we returned every night from our explorations of the City. The beds were comfortable, the microwave and fridge handy, the closet and sitting space small but sufficient. The lobby staff, on duty and friendly round the clock, represented a rich ethnic, national, and age cross section, as did the largely international clientele of guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Tower

Address: 80 Riverside Drive, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Riverside Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Tower Hotel New York City
Riverside Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.