We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A View from the Tower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Tower to your Saves list
Riverside Tower
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Riverside Drive, New York City, NY 10024 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #361 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A View from the Tower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The rooms are an excellent value for NYC! The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood and the subway is located two blocks away. There is a Starbucks Coffee and MacDonalds two blocks away. The staff is friendly and there is a small elevator that stops on all floors. The suites are inexpensive-less than 140 US dollar a night. The suites are tired but clean. There is a small refrigerator and shared bath between the two rooms. The view is splendid and there are televisions and wash basins in each room. I have stayed at this hotel more than 5 times and I will continue to book rooms here. It is easy to stay here inexpensively if you are a family. Central Park is less than 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Bring breakfast foods and snacks for refrigerator. Go for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    140
    119
    60
    75
See reviews for
107
91
46
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Rooms are small & furniture a bit old but clean and warm.
We had a view on the Hudson river and could enjoy the sunrise.
The underground is 5 minutes walk and Central Park is approximately 10 minutes walk.

Les chambres sont petites et le mobilier un peu vieux et modeste mais propres, suffisament comfortables et bien chauffees (hiver).
Nous avions une chambre avec vue sur la riviere Hudson et avons pu profiter du lever de soleil sur la riviere.
L'hotel est a 5 minutes a pied d'un arret de metro (qui vous amene directement dans le centre de Manhattan) et a environ 10 minutes a pied de Central Park.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

This was our third time staying at Riverside Tower. The suite was clean - new carpets, paint etc. Still a great price for NYC and such a great location. Bed a bit small for two and it is against the wall but there is a bed in the second room. Decent frig and microwave.

Room Tip: For budget travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We just got back to Ohio after a wonderful 5 day vacation. I have never been to New York City but my wife had been about 7 years ago with her mom and sisters and has always wanted to go back. This year we finally made it. She left the plans up to me and after doing some research, I discovered this great place to stay. In a great neighborhood in the Upper West Side, was this older hotel, located just two blocks off Broadway. Since we didn't plan to stay much in our room, we just wanted a clean, conveniant place to sleep after a long day of doing the tourist thing. We were not disapointed at all. The Riverside Tower was clean, provided great service and all of the staff was very friendly. We had a terrific view and a very comfortable bed. Nothing fancy but a great price and close to places to catch the subway or bus, shop and eat (try Big Nicks). We plan to come back next year and would have no hesitation in coming back here again.

Room Tip: We definately recommend the 2 room suite for just $10 more per night. This was actually 2 rooms sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We've stayed in this fine hotel a dozen times and always enjoyed it. Great location in a quiet neighborhood, close to public transportation and to Central Park. The rooms are small but we never come here to dance in them; 4 people can be accomodated in the suites. The shower is hot and tempts us to stay in them forever after a long run (we come here for the NY Marathon). The staff is friendly and most helpful, the price is right and permits us to stay an extra few days. Deo volente we'll be back many times.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner suite on the 15th floor. The view over the Hudson is breathtaking, especially du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is a BUDGET hotel. People expecting luxury look elsewhere. The staff were all so friendly (this coming from a southerner). Our rooms were clean but very small with a great view of the Hudson. A bus stop right across the street that stops right at the Empire St. One block to famed Zabars. Riverside Park across the street is lovely. We really only slept in the hotel so it was perfect. I'm currently trying to book this hotel for another family vacation but it seems to stay full.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seacoast, NH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

If you are traveling to NYC on a budget, this hotel is for you. My friend and I stayed here last week and it was great. We got a suite which was 2 bedrooms separated by a bath/shower. Each of our rooms had a vanity so we could get ready at the same time. It was small but clean. Quite frankly we didn't need any more room. Each room had a spacious closet with hangers as well as a bureau. There was also a microwave and refrigerator. It had industrial paint and carpet but who cares? It is bare-bones but you cannot beat the price, the cleanliness, or the location. It is in a safe neighborhood in the Upper West Side. You can walk everywhere - to restaurants, Riverside Park, the subway, Central Park, etc. Just know when you go that because it is a budget hotel, you will need to bring your own toiletries and hair dryer. My only complaint is that the rooms do not have a deadbolt - but even with that being said I at no time felt unsafe. The staff were warm and friendly.
I will definitely stay here again and I have been recommending it to everyone I know!

Room Tip: Definitely book the suite. For just a little bit more money you get a lot more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Tower

Address: 80 Riverside Drive, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Tower 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Riverside Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Tower Hotel New York City
Riverside Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.