We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel in the heart of the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #104 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Modern hotel in the heart of the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at the Renaissance Times Square Hotel for three days during a recent vacation to New York City. Although at first we were a little hesitant to book this hotel (fearing large crowds outside the hotel entrance, difficulty to park our car, noise, etc) we were extremely pleased with our stay and would strongly recommend this hotel to others who wish to be right in the middle of the action. X literally marks the spot for this hotel for it is located right in the middle of Broadway and 7th Avenue (where the two streets cross in an X formation) right in the middle of Times Square. The decorator used the X location as a source of inspiration and carried the theme throughout the hotel by adorning it with X-like sculptures, chairs, railings and other accents. The hotel décor is extremely modern/ futuristic yet classy which is definitely something you will not find in other hotels in NYC.

The location and view of Times Square is second to none. Despite knowing New York like the back of my hand, I could not help but be amazed by the hotel views. The main restaurant offers a truly priceless view over Times Square giving you both a bird’s eye view as well as the feeling of being right in the middle of action without the hustle and bustle of the crowds outside. The food at the restaurant is also good. Their lunch and dinner “blue” selections are the specials of the day and offer excellent quality for a modest price, which I would highly recommend trying for either lunch or dinner when soaking up the view.

Having stayed at various other hotels in the city, we were very impressed with both the size and amenities of our hotel room. The double bed hotel room we booked was very spacious and larger than the rooms at the Marriott Marquis and Residence Inn Times Square. Although we were four in a room, we did not feel as though we lacked space, even though we had lots of luggage. The room itself was tastefully appointed offering a work desk, reading chair and side table, two double beds, a large armoire, a flat screen television, a mini bar as well as a close up view of some of the neon signs adorning Times Square. The washroom was bright, clean and equipped with a speaker connected to the television so that you can hear the television while showering. The washroom also had complimentary Aveda soaps and creams which were great in order to relax at the end of the day.

The hotel is also very efficient in unloading your car and parking your vehicle. You just have to pull up in front of the hotel and the porters will take care of everything. Parking is extremely expensive in New York City and the average going rate for a 24 hour period without in or out privileges is about $65 for an SUV in a public parking lot. The hotel offers valet parking for $51 for an SUV and parks the car for you making it a breeze to check in and less expensive than looking for your own parking.

The concierge lounge is quite small so it is offered only to Gold and Platinum Marriot Reward Members. It is only open for breakfast and offers a limited selection of the usual breakfast staples: scrambled eggs, toast, yogurt, muffins, juice and coffee.

The staff at the restaurant and concierge louge were extremley polite and efficient. The hotel was kept immaculately clean and we even saw hotel employees touching up paint during our stay in order to keep everything in tip top shape.

In conclusion, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to be right in the heart of the action or who is visiting New York City for the first time. It is a great hotel for couples, singles and families with teenage children who are looking for a modern hotel which sets itself apart from the other conventional hotel chains. The hotel is not a budget one so I would recommend booking it on discount sites or on Marriott’s site when promotional rates are available. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    573
    130
    40
    19
See reviews for
489
510
51
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

First impressions were great as soon as we stepped out of the taxi. The hotel is right in the centre of Times Square lots of people around! however we had no trouble sleeping at night no noise was heard at all,probably because we stayed on the 25th floor-very high up! The room was a good size,large king bed clean linen everyday. Good choice of channels available free on the TV. There is an easy-to-use digital safe hidden away in one of the drawers. The bathroom was amazing large shower with glass door, magnifying mirror (for all those ladies who like to spend time on their make-up like me!) speakers in there to hear the TV. Shampoo,shower gel,towels replaced everyday. It looks just as it appears on the photo's you see on the website.
Concierge "Eric" and "Divina" were very pleasant and helpful especially helping me with my missing suitcase they contacted the airport and airline for me.
My boyfriend and I had a meal in "Two Times" restaurant within the hotel,located on 3rd floor excellent views of Times Square and most importantly the food was of a very good standard shrimp cocktail and crabcakes were delicious!!
We would definately stay here again on our next visit to New York and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucknow
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

I was denied a room despite confirmed reservation (Confirmation Number: 85534207) for Check-in: Tuesday, July 21, 2009, the officiating lade was rude and offered an alternative accomodation in a Guest House of 22 rooms, looks like the have devised a clever way of making a fool of the customer, beware of this hotel you could be denied a room despite confirmed reservation and offered a US$ 100 room, and bullied to accept this. STRICTLY AVOID THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

This is an excellent place to spend a few days in New York. The rooms are larger than most New York hotels and the staff seemed very friendly.

It is located in the heart of theatre land and during the day walking to the major attractions is not a problem.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Had a weekend in NYC and chose the Renaissance because of its great value for such a good location. Right in the heart of Times Square.

Staff at check-in and concierge were fantastic and couldnt do enough to help you. Cool funky bar and very spacious rooms (mine overlooked Times Sq) and very comfy beds.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

The location was awesome, the beds were soooooo comfortable, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we bought 7 day metro passes and got to see an awful lot from Harlem to sign the Michael Jackson tribute wall next to the Appolo theatre to Coney Island to sample Nathans hot dogs, Greenwich Village with its market is worth a visit on Saturdays and Canal Street Chinatown on a Sunday for handbags, watches and dvds, what an exciting city.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

This was the best located hotel I have been ! Right in Time Square, it was quiet and clean. I received a very good service and the food was delicious. It was pretty pricey though.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square

Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#122 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel housed in 1930s building, located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.