We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay and location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Brkfst, Wifi, Attractions
Ranked #86 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I initially worried that this location might be too much for me being that it's in the heart of Times Square but it was absolutely perfect. Stayed here over the weekend with the intention of seeing a couple broadway plays and this turned out to be an excellent choice in hotel given it's proximity to the theaters. There are also nice restaurants and convenience stores all around. The service was excellent and it pays to be loyal to mariott. My husband is now an elite member and they really go above and beyond to reward your loyalty. This hotel also has what I'm told is the best bar lounge in the Times Square area. It was a lot of fun to bring back our friends after the 8pm show to our hotel bar for a night cap. Great music and lively atmosphere. I honestly can't wait to stay here again! 30 min ride in from LGA and right above the subway stop. You can't go wrong. Fitness center is also spacious with plenty of treadmills and ellipticals.

Room Tip: I suppose a low floor might be noisier than higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    533
    119
    38
    16
See reviews for
460
471
47
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

While NYC is not my favourite place to go there's plenty to see and do - good enough reason for a visit. And overstating the obvious NYC can be expensive - especially if you're expecting quality.

I've stayed at the Renaissance at Times Square a few times now and it has earned my favourite hotel choice for NYC. Occasionally they have significantly discounted rates for the weekend and we recently took advantage of that for a Fri/Sat stay.

While this property always seems to be busy check-in is courteous and prompt. And although its a big hotel it always seems to be a lot less busy than others nearby (like the Marquis) - a plus for both tourist and business travelers.

We had a room on a high floor - no noise to speak of. Room typical of the Renaissance brand - I like these much better than other Marriott rooms. Spotlessly clean.

For the tourist you can't get any more central than this - a few steps away is Times Square. For us we like the proximity to the subway with a stop just paces away from the hotel's lobby doors. And so many subway lines criss cross in this area you can use it as a great place to get to anywhere in the city. That plus plenty of things in short walking distance as well.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: we always ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

One if not THE best hotels I have stayed at. Went with 3 girls to celebrate my 50th birthday my friend emailed before we arrived to ask if there was anything they could do to make our stay memorable. Jennifer who emailed back changed our booking to a higher floor( which you do generally pay extra for) and offered breakfast for 2 of the 4 days we were staying. On arriving the staff on the desk (florinda apologies if I have spelt wrong) were very polite and checked us all in very quickly. Later that evening we were sent to our room a bottle of champagne and some chocolate covered strawberrys with a note wishing me a happy birthday and wishing us all a enjoyable time in NewYork (very thoughtful). We also enjoyed our breakfast in the VIP lounge overlooking Times Square. We ate in the restaurant one evening and had the NewYork steak the meal was delicious. The rooms were quite large plenty of room especially with 4 in our room no problems very clean and each day beds made and room left clean. We spoke to the concierge on a number of occasions and she was very helpful. Overall we never encountered a complaint and the manager should be very proud of all of the staff who were very courteous and polite at all times. I would definately recommend this hotel and would certainly return BRILLIANT

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Times Square. I recently stayed here with my husband and 2 kids ages 7 and 9, and for their first trip to the Big Apple it was perfect. We were here for 5 days and got a subway pass since our plan was to focus on all the sights in Manhattan plus the Statue of Liberty. Being in Times Square feels like the city never sleeps which is amazing. The hotel put us in a high room away from the noise which was great with the kids. The breakfast was great each morning with great staff. The room was very comfortable with 2 double beds. We walked to 2 shows and to several sights and for others we took the trains which were super easy. The R Lounge at the hotel was great with great service and food and a view of all of Times Square. Will definitely come back here again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is the PERFECT location on times square! The staff is extremely friendly & the customer care is impeccable. The hotel itself is very chic! Be sure to eat in the R Louge that overlooks Times Square. Also order the crab-cakes & Philly cheese steak sliders DELICIOUS!! I cant rave enough about this place. Once I returned home I noticed I forgot my DSLR camera charger & the hotel "loss prevention" department mailed it to me by Fedex ASAP! Best hotel to celebrate my 30th!! Thanks so much!!

Room Tip: Be sure to request Times Square view & stay in higher #
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I had a nice room with two double beds. The mattress and pillows were comfortable. I stayed for a week with a large tour group, and therefore couldn't change hotels in spite of the fact that I was exhausted from not sleeping well due to the noise. The walls were thin and I could hear the kids staying next door laughing and talking until late at night. My room was directly opposite the giant Morgan Stanley building's ticker, see the photos, which made a grinding noise. There was drilling at night coming from across the street as well. Not to mention the street noise itself. I finally bought ear plugs, which helped. There is a nice, small bar in the lobby. The best thing is the convenient location. Ask for a room away from Broadway.

Room Tip: Get a room away from Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel location, bar, and comfortable beds. I sincerely apologize that there were some noise disruptions during your stay. Even in "the city that never sleeps," we want our guests to be able to rest and recharge. Please contact the hotel directly prior to your next visit so we can make sure you have a fabulous experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I had such a great first impression of this hotel. Decided to make an overnight trip to NYC for my birthday with my husband and 6 year old daughter. I arrived around noon on Saturday 4/19 and was able to check in with no wait. I wish I caught the girl at the front desks name, but unfortunately I did not. I told her how much my daughter lives NYC and if we could have a nice view. She was able to give us a nice view of Times Square and sent up some milk and cookies. It was a very nice gesture considering how busy she was. I never got to thank her so I hope she sees this!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square

Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New York City
#62 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#65 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel housed in 1930s building, located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.