We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location (if you Times Square!), great rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Brkfst, Wifi, Attractions
Ranked #94 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great location (if you Times Square!), great rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

First time staying at the Renaissance TS as we usually stay at the Marriott. Decided on something different for a quick night out in the city. Really liked this place and the vibe was great. As a Gold Marriott Rewards member I was upgraded to a Jr. Suite and had a nice few of TS and great room.

Staff was helpful. We really enjoyed a late night drink at the R-Lounge over looking Times Square.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    513
    116
    37
    16
See reviews for
441
457
46
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was my first trip to New York and the Renaissance was amazing. The hotel was very welcoming and the staff were great. We had a nice clean room and the bed was amazing perfect after being in the cold weather. The location was perfect for me as I was able to walk for most sight seeing and shopping. I highly recommend this great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance twice in the past month in order to attend local events, and both times we were very impressed by the friendly and accommodating staff; the valet service, front desk, concierge, housekeeping and restaurant servers are not only friendly and polite, but they work quickly to get you where and what you need without making you feel rushed.

The lobby is beautiful and well set up as a "barrier" to the street level entry. The guest rooms, specifically the bathrooms, could use a little updating. In mid-town there really is no getting away from noise no matter what hotel you stay in, Times Square is very loud and busy which is why it is so fun to visit, as a hotel with only 26 floors I don't think you would be able to escape the street sounds in this hotel.

Lastly, the location of this hotel is superior. If you are in the City to see a show or sight see, the Renaissance is easily within walking distance of many attractions and there is a subway station just outside to access other areas of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

My sons are 15 and 19 and had never visited NYC. I wanted to create a special vacation for the three of us as I know my "boys" are almost grown men. I could not have chosen a better venue! The hotel staff went out of their way to make our visit a memory that will last a lifetime! The hotel itself was elegant enough for me to relax and enjoy but still lively and modern with interesting people and an exciting atmosphere for teens.

The view of Time Square from the R Lounge is spectacular! We had a delicious dinner there the first afternoon. We were seated in front of the floor to ceiling windows and watched the light show begin. After dinner I sat back and relaxed with a glass of wine and watched from the perfect vantage point as my sons walked through TS for the first time.

Throughout our four night stay the Renaissance staff was attentive and friendly making us feel very special. I travel weekly and have reached elite status with Marriott which provides many perks but they far exceeded my expectations.

One afternoon we returned to our room and found a gift basket of snacks and sodas and a wine & cheese platter waiting for us with a personalized note from the staff. My son actually said "Mom, I'm proud to be with you. You're a little bit Rock Star!" BEST MOMENT EVER!!!! Thank you Renaissance staff!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

First time in NYC or want to enjoy the city for 3-4 days, this is a wonderful hotel. Located right on Times Square close to best Broadway shows, good restaurants, shopping, fifth avenue. Tired of walking, take a cab and the fare perfectly replaces paying for subway or bus. The R Lounge is a great place to enjoy Times Square view at any time. Happy people and great service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just had five nights here and couldn't have been happier. It is a 4 star and not 5 so don't expect bathrobes and slippers etc. But we were more than satisfied.
Arrived in NYC early via ship and couldn't get an early check in. No problems.
Went for a wander. What a location! Don't stay here is you're looking for peace and quiet. You are literally in the middle of EVERYTHING.

Were a little surprised at the check in desk. It was a very small lobby area and there must have been some sort of convention happening as it was so crowded. We had to wait a while in the upstairs lobby which had free wi-fi and although not huge, it was fine.

The rooms are very big and comfortable. Amazing views of Times Square. Good beds as usual. Big bathrooms.
We had requested a high floor but were allocated No. 7. You could hear some noise from outside, particularly one night when there was a jackhammer being operated all night. That was a one off, thank goodness.

Rooms were very clean and bright. (Perhaps looking a tiny bit tired in places).

The best bit about this hotel is the bar. If you are lucky enough to get a window seat, this has to be the best view in NYC. We had drinks there on several nights before heading off into town. One barwaitress, Kathy, deserves a special mention. Her service and friendliness were outstanding.

We didn't bother with breakfast at the hotel as there are many many places nearby - especially Carniegies Deli. Wow! Go there for breakfast and you won't want lunch.......or perhaps even dinner!

Can really highly recommend this hotel if you want to be in the heart of New York. Everytime I opened the curtians I had a little 'wow' moment!

Room Tip: Try for a high floor if you don't want to hear the buzz of Times Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights the week of Jan 14, 2013 for business travel. This hotel is conveniently located to the theatre, restaurants, shopping, etc. However, it has a very claustrophobic feeling. The lobby on the first floor is very small so it feels very cramped and crowded when a few people are there. There is minimal seating if you are waiting for someone. The restaurant and bar are on the second floor, and these areas on the 2nd floor are very narrow and wide....again, just feels very cramped. The rooms were fine, very clean, furniture organized well for business travel, nice large sink area and bathroom. I will definitely try to stay at another hotel next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square

Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in New York City
#67 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel housed in 1930s building, located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.