We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary location and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #104 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Funchal, Portugal
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Extraordinary location and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

First time in NYC or want to enjoy the city for 3-4 days, this is a wonderful hotel. Located right on Times Square close to best Broadway shows, good restaurants, shopping, fifth avenue. Tired of walking, take a cab and the fare perfectly replaces paying for subway or bus. The R Lounge is a great place to enjoy Times Square view at any time. Happy people and great service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    573
    130
    40
    19
See reviews for
489
510
51
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just had five nights here and couldn't have been happier. It is a 4 star and not 5 so don't expect bathrobes and slippers etc. But we were more than satisfied.
Arrived in NYC early via ship and couldn't get an early check in. No problems.
Went for a wander. What a location! Don't stay here is you're looking for peace and quiet. You are literally in the middle of EVERYTHING.

Were a little surprised at the check in desk. It was a very small lobby area and there must have been some sort of convention happening as it was so crowded. We had to wait a while in the upstairs lobby which had free wi-fi and although not huge, it was fine.

The rooms are very big and comfortable. Amazing views of Times Square. Good beds as usual. Big bathrooms.
We had requested a high floor but were allocated No. 7. You could hear some noise from outside, particularly one night when there was a jackhammer being operated all night. That was a one off, thank goodness.

Rooms were very clean and bright. (Perhaps looking a tiny bit tired in places).

The best bit about this hotel is the bar. If you are lucky enough to get a window seat, this has to be the best view in NYC. We had drinks there on several nights before heading off into town. One barwaitress, Kathy, deserves a special mention. Her service and friendliness were outstanding.

We didn't bother with breakfast at the hotel as there are many many places nearby - especially Carniegies Deli. Wow! Go there for breakfast and you won't want lunch.......or perhaps even dinner!

Can really highly recommend this hotel if you want to be in the heart of New York. Everytime I opened the curtians I had a little 'wow' moment!

Room Tip: Try for a high floor if you don't want to hear the buzz of Times Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights the week of Jan 14, 2013 for business travel. This hotel is conveniently located to the theatre, restaurants, shopping, etc. However, it has a very claustrophobic feeling. The lobby on the first floor is very small so it feels very cramped and crowded when a few people are there. There is minimal seating if you are waiting for someone. The restaurant and bar are on the second floor, and these areas on the 2nd floor are very narrow and wide....again, just feels very cramped. The rooms were fine, very clean, furniture organized well for business travel, nice large sink area and bathroom. I will definitely try to stay at another hotel next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location is literally in Times Square, if you don't like the crowds may not be the place for you.
The hotel itself was very nice with great, helpful staff. We were tourists so the location suited us down to the ground. Was my wife's first time in NY and she was wowed by the hotel. Rooms are little small but well appointed and we were given free WiFi which proved to be a great bonus allowing us to keep in touch with home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spend a long weekend here for our wedding anniversary and a Broadway show. This hotel is right where the action is - Times Square. Yet when we were in our room there was no real traffic noise. The rooms are fairly modern and up-market. The beds are up to the Marriott standard, very comfortable. There was no bath in the bathroom, but there was the greatest shower - I wish more hotels would do this as baths are truly out-of-date these days as most people prefer a shower.
The hotel has a small lobby at street level where one checks in and then the rest of the lobby and bar/restaurants are on the 2nd floor. We had breakfast in the hotel the first morning and it was nice - buffet, but somewhat expensive at $29 per person.
There is high speed internet available - as one would expect in a hotel of this standard.
I would definitely come back again when I am in NY again - location location location.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up if possible so that you can take in the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The service was great, rooms are amazing, breakfast staff was friendly a special thank you to Mohamed..concierge Omar was fantastic and saw to our every need...most memorable my birthday...a special cake was send to my room thank you Omar...very staff the best hotel i have stayed in the USA...views of Time Square breathtaking...

Room Tip: Try the higher rooms for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Brought my 13 yr old daughter to NY for her first time. I was very happy with this hotel. Great location. Walking distance to Broadway, right in Times square. In better weather you can walk over to 5th Ave., otherwise it's just a short cab ride. Beautifully designed hotel with lots of attention to detail. Great bar overlooking times square for apps or cocktails before or after going out in the evening. Good sized rooms with nice clean washrooms and comfy beds. Concierge extremely helpful and patient. Gave lots of good advice and saved us money off a Broadway show. There is a mini mart right across the st. on the corner with all sorts of prepared foods, muffins etc. which is where we purchased some water bottles and OJ to keep in the room.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevators. loud "ding" every time the elevator stops on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square

Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#75 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#78 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#122 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel housed in 1930s building, located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.