We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and very central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Brkfst, Wifi, Attractions
Ranked #87 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Atlanta, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Modern and very central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spend a long weekend here for our wedding anniversary and a Broadway show. This hotel is right where the action is - Times Square. Yet when we were in our room there was no real traffic noise. The rooms are fairly modern and up-market. The beds are up to the Marriott standard, very comfortable. There was no bath in the bathroom, but there was the greatest shower - I wish more hotels would do this as baths are truly out-of-date these days as most people prefer a shower.
The hotel has a small lobby at street level where one checks in and then the rest of the lobby and bar/restaurants are on the 2nd floor. We had breakfast in the hotel the first morning and it was nice - buffet, but somewhat expensive at $29 per person.
There is high speed internet available - as one would expect in a hotel of this standard.
I would definitely come back again when I am in NY again - location location location.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up if possible so that you can take in the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    533
    119
    38
    16
See reviews for
460
471
47
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The service was great, rooms are amazing, breakfast staff was friendly a special thank you to Mohamed..concierge Omar was fantastic and saw to our every need...most memorable my birthday...a special cake was send to my room thank you Omar...very staff the best hotel i have stayed in the USA...views of Time Square breathtaking...

Room Tip: Try the higher rooms for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Brought my 13 yr old daughter to NY for her first time. I was very happy with this hotel. Great location. Walking distance to Broadway, right in Times square. In better weather you can walk over to 5th Ave., otherwise it's just a short cab ride. Beautifully designed hotel with lots of attention to detail. Great bar overlooking times square for apps or cocktails before or after going out in the evening. Good sized rooms with nice clean washrooms and comfy beds. Concierge extremely helpful and patient. Gave lots of good advice and saved us money off a Broadway show. There is a mini mart right across the st. on the corner with all sorts of prepared foods, muffins etc. which is where we purchased some water bottles and OJ to keep in the room.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevators. loud "ding" every time the elevator stops on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for a business trip and were very happy with the hotel. The location is superb. Our room was very comfortable...excellent bed...nicely appointed bathroom. The lobby has a modern feel. Had a great breakfast in the restaurant when we arrived mid-morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Fabulous hotel! Nice clean rooms, spacious bathroom and well stocked mini bar! Location is great, close to Times Square, shows on and off Broadway, and a subway stop right outside the hotel entrance!


Only complaint is they only offer sparkling water in the vending machines, so if you want a water bottle in your room its either sparkling or a $10 Fiji water! The tap water in NYC is just gross!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My friends & I spent five nights here in November , 2012 . We arrived the night of a snow storm , on arrival at the hotel in a taxi there was no staff to help it with our luggage . At the front desk there were a number of staff chatting & the girl that we were dealing with was on her phone, I waited until she finished her call & she was not very friendly or welcoming , she gave us our rooms without as much as "enjoy your stay". The rest of our group arrived behind us & I asked would there be someone to help them with their bags, I helped them myself!!. Anyway first impressions were not good, maybe their hospitality got swept away that night by the Nor Easter!!, but it did improve!!. The rooms were good size , clean with two double beds in each. Good size for NYC. Had dinner in the bar that evening and it was ok, the view from the bar is amazing, but Times Square was deserted as the snow fell. For the next four days the sun shone & people walked around the city without jackets . The best thing about this hotel is LOCATION , walking distance to Macy's, Central Park , St Patricks cathedral & only $20 in taxi to Ground Zero. It was great to look from the hotel window at any time of the day or night & be part of the hustle & bustle of the Big Apple. We were woken on the Saturday at 6am to a brass band playing the Star Spangled Banner & they continued to play for three hours!!. Most of the Theatre are less than five minutes walk. Anyway we did not eat in the restaurant in the hotel , just had a few drinks in the bar/lobby areas and the bar staff were very friendly & efficient . The door staff organised transport for the five of us back to the airport. We had a wonderful stay in New York as always . We did go into the other Marriott Marquis across the road for a drink in the revolving Bar , it seemed very dated and very large compared to our hotel , I would recommend this hotel even for location alone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great hotel! Omar was the best looking out for us for dinner and directions. The entire staff was wonderful, Mermen (think that was her name) in the bar was very wonderful to chat with, it was nice hearing about her great career with Marriott. I forgot the name of the lady that checked us in, but she was very pleasant and friendly. Loved my room we had a wonderful view. Even though it was after Christmas we were still able to see the Christmas tree decorations at Rockerfellow Center.

Room Tip: Hight floor with a view of the city, best would be times square view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square

Address: Two Times Square, 714 Seventh Avenue at W. 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#67 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel housed in 1930s building, located between Avenue of the Americas & 7th Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Renaissance Hotel New York
Renaissance Times Square
New York City Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance New York Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.