We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay But Small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   511 Lexington Avenue, at 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #269 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Stay But Small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Bright, energetic hotel with FABULOUS room service food. The rooms are nice but quite small. The bathroom is good but pedestal sinks don't leave much space for toiletries. (There is a shelf for some articles). Only complaint is that many f the rooms look over the a/c units. Be sure to ask for a better view! Overall, a good hotel, nice stay. Small rooms but most NYC rooms are!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We are thrilled that enjoyed the energy and feel our of hotel. Thank you for all of your great comments about our well appointed room and the restaurants. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel and making your stay unique with the rich history of The Lexington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    404
    168
    59
    45
See reviews for
151
360
65
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Thanks to a special rate that was offered by Travelpony.com, I was able to find a very nice hotel room for far less than I expected... especially for NYC. Having the hotel as a member of the Marriott chain was an added bonus since I try to maintain elite status with them.
The hotel offered me excellent service from check-in to check-out. I had filled out an online request on the Marriott site that asked for a higher floor and a small fridge. Both requests were acknowledged at check-in and were accommodated!
Never a wait for an elevator. No problem with noise... inside or out. The room was sufficient. Small bathroom, but enough for a couple. Attractively decorated and clean. A very comfortable bed and lots of outlets which is always nice.
Keep this place in mind for a reasonably priced, middle-of-the-road, city hotel.
...And if you find a better rate like I did on a third party website, follow the instructions on Marriott's website for their "look no further" guarantee. Marriott will match the 3rd party site's rate and give you an additional discount. Plus, you still get credit for elite status!!!
With a little research, you can save a lot of $$$ in an expensive city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Wow, thank you for your 5 star review and great comments. We strive to achieve this level of service and cleanliness with all of our guests and we are thrilled that we did. We are also very happy that we filled your special requests. We have celebrated this review with our team!
We will be very excited to welcome you back to our hotel and achieve this success again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I spent a recent weekend here, and I had no problems. The rooms are small but typical for a NYC hotel in a very old building. It has a cool history with it being the home to Marilyn Monroe and Joe DiMaggio during their marriage and there are little traces of them like the Do Not Disturb signs are pictures of Marilyn and on the mezzanine a wall has a little ode to the couple. I didn't have any noise problems except when the garbage truck came by but I have experience that often at other places as well. But I got it for less than $200 a night which is great for NYC and the area I was in. For that price I would totally stay there again. Oh but the one thing that irritated me was that I had to pay for them to store my bag for the day. That was not ok!

Room Tip: Higher floors will definitely help if you're a light sleeper as there is a club next door...I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed the rich history and feel of our hotel along with our upgraded rooms. We are excited that you noticed all of the special touches that we had made to the rooms to remind guests of the history that we have. We look forward to seeing you again soon since you enjoyed your stay and felt we were a great value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Well the location is definitely a plus for the hotel. Prices are a bit on the higher side. The rooms were however smaller in size. The WiFi is free only in the lobby and u get charged while using in the room. The service desk takes its time to respond to your needs. Cant say about the food, as I always ate from the nearby eatery options. The property is just 4-5 blocks from the empire State building, and Times Square. The place is well connected via metro, From JFK airport, i took the skytrain to Jamaica and from the Jamaica station i boarded the Manhattan bound E train and boarded down at Lexington Avenue.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We appreciate your great comments on our location.
We hope that you visit us at The Lexington soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Lexington has a great location-- their street corner is a little bit quiet, but it's very close to Broadway, Rockefeller, and Grand Central. That, as well as its low prices, are what drew me to the hotel. However, I later understood why I found such a good price. Our room was very small: a bed, a desk, and not room for much else-- but it was very clean and I found the whole hotel comfortable. Service is not great-- in fact I felt like we were bothering the woman at the Front Desk by checking into the hotel. But then again, in New York you probably won't be in your hotel very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your great comments about our location and the cleanliness of our hotel. We are also very delighted that you were comfortable in our hotel. Your feedback is so valuable to us to improve our service; we do appreciate it. We hope to welcome you back to The Lexington soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stay at Marriott properties for work and I prefer the autograph hotels for pleasure travel. They are usually in very interesting buildings as is the Lexington. This property is a gorgeous art deco building that was Joe DiMaggios home while he played for the Yankees and when he was married to Marilyn Monroe. The hotel staff were the nicest. God bless the bell hops who hailed cabs. I lived in NYC so the room size and bathroom size were not a surprise but the cleanliness was. I assumed this property was ready for renovations and was utterly surprised to hear it was recently renovated. My husband and I were assigned a room at the very end of the hall near a housekeeping storage closet. The housekeeping cart did not fit and the door was left opened. Such a liability. Housekeeping constantly banged into the door started as early as 6 AM. We are awakened to the housekeeper vacuuming outside our door at 6:30 AM. Our room was barely surfaced cleaned. There were inches of dust along the floor boards by the headboard. The property was not equipped with Marriott mattresses or bedding. The sheets were threadbare and barely covered the top of the mattress. Each day we came back to find hair in the bathroom that were not ours. The manager tried to help but given the housekeepers were "union" little could be done.

This property charges for wifi and checking bags. Wifi is free in the beautiful but very small lobby. There was not one time of the day or night that the lobby was not filled with people on electronic devices or luggage. The property might want to re-thing charging for checking bags before or after check/in or out.

If you are Marriott Elite member, there is no Concierge Lounge so breakfast is complimentary at onsite restaurant, Raffles. The extremely limited menu is horrible. Take the points and go around the corner to Essa-a-Bagel.

The property is a bargain for its price point in this part of Manhattan. If I stayed here again I would ask for a better situated room, skip the breakfast and be more forceful as to the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. The staff and management want to serve guests and are tremendously proud of this property. Holding housekeeping accountable and changing some policies such as the wifi and the charge of checking baggage would quickly turn this property into a jewel.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the housekeeping closets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We appreciate your great comments about the history of our building. Also your comments about the staff being nice! We deeply apologize for the challenges that you encountered with housekeeping and the restaurant, Raffles. We are going to use your specific comments as an opportunity to train our staff on these issues so thank you for your feedback! We hope that you will give our wonderful staff another opportunity to welcome you back to our historic hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel was in a good location (close to subways, Grand Central, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, etc). We visited New York last year as well and stayed on the other side of Times Square, and I was happier with this location, as it was quieter but still a short walk to the hustle and bustle. The hotel was nicely decorated with character, having apparently recently undergone renos. The staff were generally also friendly and helpful.

However, we had some issues. First, there was no control over the bathroom fan, and it would turn on at seemingly random times. It also did not work well enough, as we found the room very damp, particularly for the first couple of days. I noticed that the shower curtain smelled of mildew, and the sheets were damp when we got into bed the first night. My fiancé also noticed that his shirts, which were hung in the closet, were damp the next day. We also had problems with the air conditioner dripping, so much that we had to put a towel or the ice bucket under it. The dripping also kept me awake at night. The hotel was very quick to respond, even late at night, but were unable to really do anything about the problem, other than remove the grate over the air conditioning vent and let all the water spill out. The dripping would then start again. They said it was just too humid that condensation was essentially inevitable. To the hotel's credit, they refunded most of our internet charges at the end of our stay to compensate for the inconvenience.

Another annoyance was that for some reason, the cleaning staff would not leave new facecloths even after taking away the dirty ones. We had to call and request more twice during our weeklong stay.

However, the most frustrating aspect of our stay had to do with the dry cleaning service. First, you apparently can't just leave the item in the room if you want it to be cleaned. We had to bring it down to the front desk ourselves in the morning. Second, the cleaner was unable to remove the stain in my dress (coffee). They simply sent it back at the end of the day with a note saying it wouldn't come out, and they still charged me. However, the worst thing was that the dress was delivered to the wrong room. I called in the evening to ask where it was, and they said it had been delivered to my room. I searched everywhere and couldn't find it, and called back. They said it must be in there, but I assured them it wasn't. They then had to go and find it. From the conversation the two staff had when they finally brought me the dress, it appeared that the person to whom the dress had been delivered was missing whatever they had sent to be cleaned. Desperate to see if someone else could remove the stain (I loved the dress, and thought coffee shouldn't be too hard to get out, even if it was silk), I searched the internet for cleaners in the city. Finding one that looked good based on reviews, I took the dress there, even though it was in Chelsea. Not only did they completely remove the stain, they charged me less than the hotel cleaners charged. In a nutshell, I would recommend that the hotel seriously consider revamping their entire dry cleaning operation.

I noticed that other reviewers have commented on the small size of the rooms, but I can't comment on that as ours was an accessible room and so was huge! We didn't need the accessibility, but had requested a fridge, and apparently that was the only room available with a fridge. We were on the 22nd floor and had no problem with any noise, particularly as the room was on the side of the elevators with only three rooms.

I would probably consider staying here again if the price were right, enough to make up for the fact that they charge for internet, don't have coffee makers, and charge $2 per bag to store your luggage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed our location, the décor and our friendly staff. We do deeply apologize for the challenges that you encountered with your room. We are glad that you gave credit to the staff for trying to resolve your issues and crediting back your internet. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future and met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel

Address: 511 Lexington Avenue, at 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#204 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 725
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown’s fashionable East Side, The Lexington New York City debuted as Manhattan’s newest Marriott Autograph Collection hotel in summer 2013 after an extensive $46 million dollar transformation project. This full-service, 28-story hotel offers 725 brand-new guestrooms with modern amenities plus several onsite restaurants and bars. The Lexington New York City is steps from the United Nations, Grand Central Terminal and Park Avenue, and is walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Bloomingdales, Madison Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Broadway theaters/Times Square many museums and more. The revitalized hotel has been completely transformed and is the ideal choice for business and leisure visitors looking for an upscale, iconic New York City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Amex, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Radisson Hotel
Radisson Lexington Hotel New York
Radisson New York City
New York City Radisson
Radisson Lexington New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.