We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   511 Lexington Avenue, at 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #270 of 457 Hotels in New York City
JKT
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Room though wasn't large (its New York), was clean.
Location is superb, very close to grand central station, hence its easy to get around.
Staff were great and helpful. Restaurant at ground floor was good.

Would Return on my next visit for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gul T, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi SAS171,

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and your time in New York! We all can't wait to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Gul Turkmenoglu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    401
    168
    57
    44
See reviews for
151
357
64
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Staff is nice, location is good, rooms are fine - but the temperature is not adjustable. The room at 73 is too hot for a good night sleep. Despite changing rooms, trying to adjust thermostat could not bring the temperature down. Feels wasteful and contributes to poor night sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gul T, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Katiewbm,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of the hotel and the kind comments about the hotel. The thermostat was clearly not functioning properly and I am so sorry for the inconvenience. Please let me know the next time you are coming in and I would be happy to have the HVAC checked prior to your arrival to make sure everything is perfect!

Sincerely,
Gul Turkmenoglu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

As Platinum Rewards Members, we typically use our points at large vacation resorts. Breaking from tradition, our daughter asked us to plan a weekend "Sweet 16" celebration that included staying in NYC, tickets to Kinky Boots on Broadway, dinner at Smith and Wollensky, skating at Bryant Park and a little shopping for her and a few close friends. The Lexington Hotel set the tone perfectly. The newly renovated lobby blends architecture, history and art with an eclectic collection of modern details. It is a lobby you want to sit in, just to take in the moment and look around including up at the surrounding balcony. During our stay, I found myself trying out different seating arrangements just to change my vantage point. One can be "seen' here (like you want to be when your 16) or people watch with anonymity from the balcony or corners. Needless to say, it provided the perfect backdrop for our daughter and her friends to "selfi" themselves to oblivion. I encourage visitors to take a moment to appreciate the art collection that includes pieces inspired by the Jazz era, the Manhattan skyline and the Art Deco period.

Concerning the rooms, I was very pleased. Nicely appointed and very clean. Ours was a King with his and her's bathrooms as well as 2 closets. Definitely spacious by NYC standards. The walls and windows were well insulated so that while relaxing or sleeping, we were barely aware of the city streets below, nor our girls next door. The girls shared an double, corner room. Size-wise it was typical of a NYC double. Nicely appointed, still large enough for an upholstered chair, desk, etc. and for the girls to dance, goof around and otherwise enjoy themselves.

Concerning location, we wanted a little more peace then Time Square or the Theatre District would provide without losing the beat of the city, The Lexington provided. We walked a few blocks south to take in Grand Central Station's renovations and enjoy the magnificent market with its artisanal breads, cheese, farm-to-market fruits & veggies, meats and seafood. We also walked to Broadway in approximately 15 minutes, so much better than seeing the city from inside a cab. Skating at Bryant Park was 10 minutes and Smith and Wollensky is around the corner. The full sized Starbucks attached to the hotel was a very nice bonus.

Concerning staff, everyone was very polite and professional. The Doorman, Bellman and Front Desk were mannerly, helpful and polite. It was also clear that the maids and cleaning staff all take pride in their work, since everything was spit and polish.

We will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gul T, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi alexandraW-T,

Happy belated sweet 16 to your daughter and thank you so much for staying with us! We are so happy that you ALL had such a great time, and we can' wait to welcome you back!

Sincerely,
Gul Turkmenoglu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The location is great, the room was cozy. There was some construction in the hotel, but that didn't really impact me. The Starbucks at the lobby was convenient. The only watch out is for UN sessions- I was there the day of the kickoff session in September 2013, so there were tons of security and it made getting a cab a bit of a challenge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gul T, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello TexasGirlinAtlanta,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting online! Don't worry, typically it is not difficult to get a cab and maneuver around the city outside of UNGA week in September, so try to come back soon!

Sincerely,
Gul Turkmenoglu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I am a Marriott Rewards Member so I try to stay true to my "points". I had a last minute meeting in Newark, NJ so I decided to stay the weekend in the city. The Lexington was my choice due to a points+cash option that made it too good to pass up. It was only a block away from where I usually stay so I was familiar with the area. I was expecting a typical Marriott lobby, but I was impressed by the "boutique" look and feel. People were actually hanging out in the lobby and I loved that there was a REAL Starbucks (not a lobby coffee bar that sells Starbucks) with a separate entrance for hotel guests. First time I actually planned to hang out in a Marriott lobby bar (to wait for a friend) due to cool/younger vibe. Everyone at the front desk were extremely helpful and my room was on the 22nd floor - quiet with great views. Room was "NY small" but well laid out and had all the amenities. They did a nice job redecorating the rooms. Bathroom is extremely small but the "automatic flush" was a nice touch (until it flushed on it's own in middle of night…hmmm). If you stay here make sure you make the short walk to Ess-A-Bagel on 3rd and 51st. Brought bagel back and enjoyed in lobby. Good restaurants on 2nd and 1st Avenue. Great shopping and close to Rockefeller Center (Saks for make-up, Teuscher chocolates for truffles, Morrell Wine Bar to accompany the amazing truffles, Bouchon Bakery for great bakery items, Duane Reade for water)… that is my "Rockefeller Crawl". I will be back in March!

Room Tip: Select a room off 48th street - a lot more quiet than facing Lexington
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gul T, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi JBMBZ,

We are so glad you decided to try us out and we can't wait for you to return next month! Thank you so much for posting online and all of your great comments!

Sincerely,
Gul Turkmenoglu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed at The Lexington for the first time on a business trip to NYC, and greatly enjoyed it. The location -- 48th and Lexington -- is great. I had a room with a king bed on the 23rd floor; the room was extremely clean and comfortable and very quiet (aside from the inevitable NYC police, fire and ambulance sirens on the streets below). The shower was very good; in-room wi-fi was fast and reliable. The rooms are smaller than the more-expensive Marriott Marquis in Times Square but normal by NYC standards. All in all, it was a very good experience and I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gul T, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hi JerryR10,

Thank you for all of the positive feedback for the hotel! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, and I hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Gul Turkmenoglu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

While not truly a boutique hotel, it has that sort of feeling. The lobby is always full of internationals working and drinking, which gives it a unique international flare.

The rooms are on the small side, but not uncomfortable, especially for one person and they are well laid out. And the Starbuck in the lobby is a god-sent.

Unfortunately, I was working most of the time and didn't get to enjoy the fitness center or much of the staff, but the ones I did encounter were very friendly and I did manage to get a drink in the lobby one night before heading off to bed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gul T, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hello Jig 1600,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Hopefully you will be able to return again soon and be able to take advantage of all of the amenities that we have!

Sincerely,
Gul Turkmenoglu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel

Address: 511 Lexington Avenue, at 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#191 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 725
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown’s fashionable East Side, The Lexington New York City debuted as Manhattan’s newest Marriott Autograph Collection hotel in summer 2013 after an extensive $46 million dollar transformation project. This full-service, 28-story hotel offers 725 brand-new guestrooms with modern amenities plus several onsite restaurants and bars. The Lexington New York City is steps from the United Nations, Grand Central Terminal and Park Avenue, and is walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Bloomingdales, Madison Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Broadway theaters/Times Square many museums and more. The revitalized hotel has been completely transformed and is the ideal choice for business and leisure visitors looking for an upscale, iconic New York City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Radisson Hotel
Radisson Lexington Hotel New York
Radisson New York City
New York City Radisson
Radisson Lexington New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.