We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant handle the volume of customers!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel to your Saves list
The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   511 Lexington Avenue, at 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #273 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Elkridge, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“cant handle the volume of customers!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night this week, to a sold out hotel. Room was small but well appointed. WAs able to fit a queen size bed, two night stands, desk/chair, smalll dresser and nice flat screen tv on the wall. Small closet. Bathroom small but adequate. Toilet fit between sink and wall. If overweight, you could have a tight squeeze! Unfortunately when we finally went to sleep, we saw that there was NO blanket/comforter/duvet on the bed. Had to call front desk, and to their credit they did bring regular blankets up quickly, but it was annoying that bed had not been made. Upon waking in the moring, found out that the clock had not been changed back for daylight savings time, and so, i thought i had woken up after 7am, but in fact it had only been 6am. Also annoying but can deal. The most annoying part is the PARKING!!! They charge $50 to park your car, which although annoying, is always done in NYC and big city hotels. But for $50 you do expect service. First we asked how much it would cost to leave the car one extra hour, so we could leave it until after we saw our play. Front desk called and said that it would be $37 extra for each hour, and that they could not give us a break, as the garage was privately owned. OK. The main problem was when we left, they said it would be "30 minutes to wait to get the car!". That just seemed too long. While out in front of the hotel, there were a lot of angry people. One who was told it would be a 30 minutes and it was now an hour wait, and they had to catch a plane at Laguardia! Another who said she had complaints and got a free night! Another stated she had money stolen from her car.
We could not afford to wait 30-60 minutes for our car and so my husband walked to pick it up himself, (he was told he could). (once there he saw that the garage actually chageded $40, so its nice that they tacked on an additional $10 for hotel guests and provided very poor service for that $10) . The garage also had his car number written down incorrectly and so it took a very long time for them to locate our car!
Anyway, went to front desk to complain, and they took the charge of the garage off, which was appropriate and appreciated and smart on their part. We saw a HUGE line of customers WAITING to store their luggage for the day. only 2 bellhops, who were overwhelmed and cranky, understandably. Im sure they were verbally abused by many customers waiting so slong to check their luggage while they wanted to go out on the town. It just appears that the hotel did not hire the staff to service a sold out night in Manhattan. There was one man in the front of the hotel, also overwhelmed, dealing with the cars, taxi's, check in etc. Just not enough service, which then leads right off the bat with disgruntled customers. That said, if you don't drive your car, it can be a better experience. The hotel has a nice lobby, with a Starbucks attached. The lobby has lots of comfy chairs, sofa's and long table to read, meet with friends etc. There is also a nice bar in the lobby with good seating. Great place to hang out. In addition the location is a good one. Convenient to Times Square, Rockafeller Center, Grand Central Station etc. It is near Waldorf Astoria, intercontinental and Marriott Hotels! DONT BRING YOUR CAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gul T, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback. I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered, and would be happy to personally discuss this further with you. I can be reached at gturkmenoglu@lexingtonnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    411
    171
    60
    46
See reviews for
152
368
65
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We just finished checking in for a 4 night stay at this property and are already regretting the decision. When we arrived at 8:15 PM there was a line nearly out the door for check. There is a separate welcome area for Gold & Platinum rewards members, but of course there were no employees at that desk so we were stuck waiting in line. During our 25 minute wait we watched a bell hop walk two separate guests to the front of the line for check in, bypassing the rest of us. After finally getting to the front of the line and beginning the check in process we explained to the employee that we had two separate reservations totaling 4 nights (we added an extra night on at the last minute), the employee abruptly walked away from us without saying a word and took two other desk employees to the back room, leaving us standing there without knowing what was going on. When she finally returned she continued the check in process by apologizing for the delay, but still not explaining why she left. During the check in process there was no recognition or mention of our gold status until we brought it up and she said "Your gold status entitles you to 750 points or breakfast, which would you like?"

We stay exclusively at Marriott affiliated properties and this is nowhere near the level of service we are accustomed to receiving.

The room is decent, but the shower is dirty and the bed is most definitely not a Marriott bed. It is hard and covered with the equivalent of the comforter and sheets they usually have in the closet for a pull out sofa.

This is my first post on trip advisor, as I feel this is a bad enough experience for others to be made aware of.

If you want a real Marriott Autograph Collection experience, stay at The Carlton on Madison Avenue. We have stayed at that property on four separate occasions and it is leaps and bounds above The Lexington.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gul T, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback. I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered, and would be happy to personally discuss this further with you. I can be reached at gturkmenoglu@lexingtonnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The staff were helpful as we arrived early and left late - we left our bag with the bellhops on both ends of our stay for a small fee. The lobby art deco decor was engaging and tasteful. The room was exceptionally clean; the rug, bed sheets, amenities and bathrooms - there were two - all were fresh and tidy. We also found the restaurants next door - a Starbucks and a bistro - convenient and good. The location is also great during the Christmas holiday as it is a five minute walk to Fifth Avenue and the Rockefeller Plaza Christmas Tree. All in all a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear PeteMura,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! I am glad that you had a good experience at the hotel and will definitely share your kind words with the staff. It's good to hear that you liked the two Food & Beverage outlets we have, perhaps next time you will also get a chance to try Dynasty, which is our other restaurant serving fine Chinese cuisine. I hope to see you at The Lexington some time in the future!

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Myself and my friend spent thanksgiving at this hotel we spent 4 nights here. It's located in a good area a walk away from most things. We did ask for twin beds and a quiet room and we got a queen bed but a reasonably quiet room. It was a busy time so I'm sure they would have accommodated if it was quiet. The room was on the 12th floor and it was a nice size room as New York rooms are always very small. It was modern, clean and warm and had a great shower. We did have some issues with noisy people next door and we had to let security know three times. That's not the hotels fault just inconsiderate youngsters who were drinking. Starbucks was attached to the hotel but it was so busy we had to queue for quite a long time. The bar was ok but seemed to close early for a city that never sleeps! If you want to eat after 10pm in this area most places are closed it's a bit like the business areas in London, dead after 6pm. We asked if we could extend our check out as our flight wasn't until 7.30pm and they happily agreed until 3.30pm as most guests were checking out after the holidays. I would recommend this hotel as I feel it's perfectly adequate for a short stay in New York and I would use it again, due to the location. There are plenty of places to eat breakfast in the vicinity but I would recommend eating an evening meal nearer to the busier areas etc 15 min walk away - remember how cold it can get and walking 15mins in freezing weather is not good! Ha ha. The staff were all very friendly especially as the hotel was packed. Good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you want a quiet room, noisy bin men.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Lindyloo65,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback! I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay and I hope you had a blast in your visit to NYC. I hope to see you back at the hotel on your next visit and please do not hesitate to use our Concierge services to find you even better restaurants that might be a bit farther from the hotel, but are amazing nonetheless. Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I’ll start by saying that we really enjoyed our stay at the Lexington. It has been recently renovated but still has a 1930s feel, it has many original features, a really nice bar, it’s in a great position, within walking distance of 5th Ave, Time Square and Central Park. The door staff are excellent, risking their lives on a daily basis to hail you a yellow cab.

The only let down was the lack of attention to detail in a few areas;

1. We arrived in our room to find the safe closed, we had to call the man to open it.
2. We got ready for bed on night 1 to find only a sheet, we had to call housekeeping who had forgotten the blankets and cover
3. We were entitled to vouchers for breakfast, they forgot to drop them in the room as promised so we had to go to reception
4. We had booked 3 nights, 2 on points, 1 on cash. The bill had all 3 nights to be paid so we had to go to reception to get this sorted.

Another small negative is that the hotel doesn’t have room service and breakfast is served in Raffles Bistro, a typical New York Diner which is nice, but not really 4 Star dining !!!

Maybe we were unlucky with the issues, the staff were very helpful and we got to meet lots of them as a result of the above. Despite the above we did enjoy our stay and I would recommend this hotel for the reasons at the start of this piece…

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear WarringtonTravellers,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. It is good to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, albeit with some minor issues, which I'm glad were all rectified while you were still on property. I will be sure to share your comments with the appropriate Department Heads so we can improve upon your guidance. Once again, thank you for your feedback and hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My family of 3 stayed here during the weekend after the Thanksgiving holiday. The hotel is in a central location (5 minutes to grand central station), service was great and the elevators were quick, which was important during such a busy tourist weekend. Our room was small but very clean and nicely decorated. Luckily we had a corner room with windows on both sides. The bathroom was teeny but functional. No problems at all with noise (we were on the 10th floor). No issues with wireless service in the room.

They might consider offering a coffee service for guests in the main lobby area as the connecting Starbucks was packed shoulder to shoulder with people every morning. Even having a small coffee service area in the guest rooms would be nice!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear TLWhite,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback! I am glad you had an enjoyable stay during the busy weekend. I appreciate your suggestions in regards to coffee service, and we actually coffee machines that can be sent to the room by guest request. Once again, thank you for your feedback and hope to see you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I recently stayed 4 nights in this hotel, while the hotel is beautifully decorated and spotless their staff really let them down. On check in the staff were rude there was no niceness about them at all they pratically barked at us. The bar staff and bar in general left a lot to be desired, the service was appalling. I would praise the conceirge and doorment who just could not do enough for you. The rooms are tastefully decorated but they are so small I have never stayed in a hotel in NY with such small rooms. I would stay here again at a push but they really do need to do something about their staff

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, General Manager at The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Michelle2710,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I apologize that your experience at the hotel was dampened by the service of the staff. I will be sure to share your comments with the Director of Front Office so that we can further improve on providing our guest with the service that they deserve. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope to see you back at the hotel in the future!

Sincerely,
Jim Marino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel

Address: 511 Lexington Avenue, at 48th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 725
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown’s fashionable East Side, The Lexington New York City debuted as Manhattan’s newest Marriott Autograph Collection hotel in summer 2013 after an extensive $46 million dollar transformation project. This full-service, 28-story hotel offers 725 brand-new guestrooms with modern amenities plus several onsite restaurants and bars. The Lexington New York City is steps from the United Nations, Grand Central Terminal and Park Avenue, and is walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Bloomingdales, Madison Avenue, Fifth Avenue shopping, Broadway theaters/Times Square many museums and more. The revitalized hotel has been completely transformed and is the ideal choice for business and leisure visitors looking for an upscale, iconic New York City hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Radisson Hotel
Radisson Lexington Hotel New York
Radisson New York City
New York City Radisson
Radisson Lexington New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lexington New York City - an Autograph Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.