We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay at Sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Recent stay at Sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great Staff very friendly and helpful. Small but nice rooms with ensuite. There is a lovely bar on the roof terrace. Located just yards from Time Square but not noisey! Free wifi. Nice breakfast room.

Room Tip: Ask at reception if any of the rooms are larger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,735
    709
    140
    36
    15
See reviews for
388
1,258
95
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Loved this hotel! The hotel is conveinently located right down the road from TKTS. The hotel staff were extremely friendly, courteous, and professional. The room we stayed in was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The continental breakfast that was included had a variety of foods and was very good. We will definitely be staying in this hotel next time we visit NYC.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

Should your travels bring you back to New York City, please think of us. We would love to have you back.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sanctuary which it truly was in the midst of all the chaos that is Times Square. Our pleasant experience started via email and phone conversations with
rebooking our stay after our attempt to stay the first time failed due to weather and the pre-paid credit graciously offered had expired. The Sanctuary went out of her way to accommodate us to make things right and made us feel welcome. Then it moved on to Lauren at the front desk her smile was infectious and truly made you forget the hassle and hustle and bustle of NYC when you walk thru the front door. I can't remember the last time I felt that welcome when checking
into a hotel, she made sure we had everything we needed and asked if she could
provide any other info or help to enhance our stay in New York.
The staff working the complimentary breakfast was always friendly and trying
to help make sure we had everything we needed every morning. I also was a
little concerned every evening when we returned to see the crowds waiting to
get into the bars/rooftop, but have to say the security staff went out of
their way to recognize us as guests and clear our way in and out. It was truly
amazing how they recognized us by face and smiled every time we entered the
lobby made eye contact and said hello or welcome back! They have a great staff and atmosphere and I will look to make it my Sanctuary every time I visit New York!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for providing us with such wonderful feedback.

Lauren and the rest of the staff will be so delighted to read about your experience here with us. It's comments such as yours, that truly motivate the staff to continuously go above and beyond for our guests.

We would love to see you back with us again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Location: A minute walk away from the Times square, yet the commotion of it so remote (the name of the hotel gives a hint).
Rooms and the Hotel: Chic and trendy decorations in the lobby, and has a trendy roof top "Haven" which is also popular among the locals and celebrities as well. However the meticilious attention given to decoration in the lobby and the dining area was not reflected in the rooms. I would have expected to see a bit more in the rooms. The wardrobe was small and we had to keep some of our outfits in the suitcases. The facing the street have street views, for the others do not expect to see much.
Staff: This is what makes this hotel unique. Brandon at the concierge has helped a lot and his hints made our days. All the staff friendly and helpful at all times.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms in the upper floors, the lower floors may be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

From the moment that I walked into the door I was simply amazed by the hotel! The decor is beautiful! The staff is what really impressed me! They are so friendly and caring! It was my moms birthday and anniversary..they sent a card up to the room signed from all of them with dessert and cupcakes. If we needed reservations they made sure that we got the best seat and referred us to the best restaraunts I have eaten in! When I stay in the city I will always stay at this hotel! Location is perfect right by Broadway shows, great places to eat and Times Square. When my friend and I were ready to check out we asked the doorman to call us a cab--no cabs were coming down the street so he kindly walked us up to Times Square to call us a cab since we had a train to catch. I have never been treated so well in a hotel. There is no hotel like sanctuary

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Knowing that The Sanctuary was the best hotel that you ever stayed at is one of the biggest compliments one can give.

We appreciate your comments and I will certainly share this with the rest of the staff. We look forward to having you back for future visits.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The personnel of Sanctuary Hotel was really pleasant, enjoyable and helpful and ready to respond to all our questions regarding the exploration of New York.Also, the location of the hotel is great, 2 minutes walking and you are in Times Square. I would definetely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
We are happy to hear that you had such an "unforgettable experience" with us.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I can see why this place divides opinion. It is a little schizophrenic. As a guest, you could feel you were second priority to non residents visiting the rooftop bar at times. And certainly the rooftop bar was not what I would call a sanctuary in the evenings, with loud music making it impossible to hold a conversation. At times it felt more like a nightclub than a sanctuary.

True, the rooms are small. But they are also nicely styled with bathrooms cleverly fitted in. The rooms certainly have an intimate feel and are clearly designed more for adults than families with younger children. But, I guess one person's intimacy is another's claustrophobia.

The same can be said for the overall decor and ambience of the hotel. Lighting is subdued and decor is generally dark and muted. For some this creates an intimate, chic feeling. Others may see it as too dark and the paranoid might think its is an attempt to cover up flaws in the decor!

These are predominantly questions of taste and style and the pictures on the website gives a reasonable representation of the style of the hotel.

We enjoyed our stay - there were some small things we would change but that's true of every hotel.

The location is great - mid town Manhattan and a one minute walk from Times Square and a few blocks from Central Park. We found it easiest to get a cab from the corner of 6th Ave. not because of a lack of cabs on 47th st outside the hotel but because it's one way into Times Square and there are roadworks in Times Square which causes considerable delays.

We found all the staff friendly and helpful. At check in they were interested in our visit and what we planned to do in NYC and gave us some great suggestions. In particular, Nynen, one of the door staff was great. He always remembered us and had a smile and chat every time we saw him.

Definitely a boutique hotel best suited to adults. We enjoyed The Sanctuary and would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.