We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fairport, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights to celebrate her birthday by attending a Yankee game. The staff was really helpful with suggestions for visiting places, restaurants, bus tickets for the Grayline tour, etc. I had let them know it was her birthday and they left a signed birthday card in our room. The room was small but adequate for our needs. Mattress felt a bit worn but we mostly passed out from exhaustion each night after all the walking we did. We had no issues whatsoever from noise, either from the street or the nightclub (we had a room on the 8th floor). Location is fantastic! So close to everything yet a little away from Times Square. Thanks for making my daughter's birthday so special!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I'm delighted to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your 3 night stay with us. You found the perfect place to celebrate her birthday.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you back with us again for another special experience.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,772
    716
    142
    36
    15
See reviews for
399
1,281
100
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Multiple time visitor to The Sanctuary! Best place to stay in NYC, hands down! Very convenient to many of the top attractions near Central Park and Rock Center. Rooftop lounge is a bonus and great place to unwind once the day is done.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent experience with us. We appreciate the great feedback and hope to see you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

On first impression this hotel is nice. The front desk, especially Lauren, gave a warm welcome. But make no mistake this hotel values the revenue from the rooftop lounge, Haven, more than the revenue from the hotel. It is IMPOSSIBLE To get a good night sleep at Sanctuary. The first night of our three day stay they had a private party on the roof deck the noise was from the music, shouts, and whistling was so loud that it felt like we were actually attending the event. The event finally ended at 12:30am. Our room was on the 5th floor.
When I brought the unacceptable conditions up the following morning the staff was surprised that we were disturbed by the noise since our room was suppose to be a quiet room. They were responsive to our request to move to a quieter room and had folks move our luggage into the new
room on the 6th floor. Next night we could still hear the noise but it was not too bad but it was audible. Tonight, our third night is just ridiculous - the noise again is at such a high level you can hear the roar of laughing, hollering, and whistling along with the music. The lounge closes at 2:00am so we get to look forward to another hour and a half of no sleep. I am actually writing this review at 12:39am because it is impossible to sleep.
Sanctuary should decide what their primary business is - hotel or nightclub. I would NOT recommend this hotel unless you were planning to go to Haven and did not want to stumble too far to your hotel room.
Seriously for the price of the room you should expect a MUCH BETTER experience.

Room Tip: Maybe second floor to get away from rooftop lounge noise - ridiculous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are very disappointed that your experience with us was not the way it should have been. The goal is to create a unique and memorable experience for everyone and I'd like to personally apologize for any inconveniences that the noise has caused.

Guest feedback holds great value and rest assured that I will certainly address this with the management team at Haven Rooftop. We will make the necessary adjustments so that future guests do not share the same experience.

We pride ourselves in being a discrete retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the hectic city and we will continue to work towards that.

Should you decide to give us another opportunity in the future, please contact me directly for reservations, so that I can ensure that you have an enjoyable stay. I can be reached at Jeremy@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

It was a fun hotel- the rooftop patio is a fave and always busy.

Good location midtown.

Hotel service is top notch and very attentive.

We had a room on the 9th floor and it was loud bc of the rooftop bar but we didn't really mind bc we were part of the loudness!

Complaints: The rooms are small and feel a little mouldy.. Also the main lobby is very dark.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, Missouri
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I booked this hotel over Priceline because it had a great location and was hoping for the best. I was extremely happy from the moment I walked in! I was greeted by super friendly employees. I arrived at 9:30am so I knew my room would not be ready but they checked my bags in with no hassle. They also sent me to get a free breakfast even though I was not technically checked in yet. My only complaint was that my room was not ready at 4:00 when I returned to the hotel. Because my room was not ready they upgraded me to a better room and sent me to the rooftop for complementary food and drinks! Rooms are smaller than other hotels but are typical for boutique hotels in NYC. They are perfect if you are going to be out and about most of the time. They are stylishly decorated and the beds are very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for the great feedback.

We apologize for your room not being ready at the time of check-in and I'm happy that we were able to find you better accommodations.

We would love to see you back with us soon for another great stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was our first visit (10 days) to New York City for my husband & I, we had been looking forward to this for many years! It was wonderful to be greeted at the Hotel entrance by the doorman taking our luggage to reception, (& every day after that too!) All the staff were very helpful, courteous, inviting & very friendly. Our room on the 4th floor, at the back of the hotel, was a good size, clean & quiet, with a walk-in closet plus room safe, and a large bathroom. The two restaurants serve excellent choices of food & the service is good too, we especially enjoyed the rooftop restaurant with brilliant views all around! At the end of a busy sightseeing day it was nice to return to a dimmer lighted hotel creating a soothing & relaxing ambience. The location was perfect (only a block or two) for Times Square, Broadway Theatres, Restaurants, Subways & Sightseeing Buses, & yet away from the hustle & bustle! We would highly recommend this hotel for couples, singles or business travellers.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room at the back of the hotel, we were on the 4th floor, very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Sanctuary Hotel as the place to stay for your 10 day New York City visit.

I'm happy that you were also able to experience both our restaurants. Many guests such as yourself, really enjoy the food and different experiences that they provide.

We hope to see you back with us in the future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Been to NY many times, but 1st time staying in the Theatre District. Stayed for 6 days and found the hotel's location was great, 1 block west to Time Square (packed with tourists), 1 block east to a quieter street with Radio City Music Hall and shopping. 5-10 minutes walking distance to ALL the shows. Rooms were clean and the free breakfast was great!

Best part of this hotel.... Jimmy, the concieger and the rest of the staff. Always friendly, so helpful and welcoming. Totally worth every penny!

Room Tip: Suite had 2 double beds, a rarity for New York. The room was on the 4th floor in the middle of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Jimmy and the rest of the staff will be so delighted to read about your feedback. The staff really make every effort to provide our guests with a unique and memorable visit.

We hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.