We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay in New York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #25 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An excellent stay in New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just returned after a week in New York, May 2014, and the Sanctuary Hotel, a short walk from Times Square, was a key factor in the enjoyment had in this fabulous city. We had three rooms to cope with the family needs and all were presented to high order. Yes, the rooms are small, but they are clean and very well presented and are maintained daily to a high standard. Breakfast is served on the roof and there is plenty of food variation to start your day. Staff were welcoming, helpful and very knowledgeable about the how, where and what to see. Would highly recommend and will use again when we return to New York.

Room Tip: Trust the staff as we did, we had no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We appreciate the feedback and thank you for your trust of confidence with the staff. The goal is to provide our guests with the very best services and I'm glad we could do that for you.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,561
    652
    135
    35
    13
See reviews for
356
1,141
87
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here for five nights and had a great time. The staff were all helpful and welcoming parriculary the door staff who were great with advice where to go and what is good to eat. Rooms were smart and comfortable. Food at the restaurant on the roof was good and the breakfasts were great in the morning. Ideal location also.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We make every effort to create an experience that is both unique and memorable.

We hope to have you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I loved this hotel. The front desk staff were incredibly helpful and friendly every time we saw them. I stayed here for 2 nights for work and was so glad I did. Make no mistake, the rooms are TINY, but they are beautiful, clean and the beds are very comfortable. Location was great and I would recommend this place to anyone. Oh, and if you can, go to the rooftop bar and get a mojito.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Our rooms are designed with the intent of maximizing use of space and most important…comfort. A warm palette of deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac, highlight our rooms, along with oversized headboards and plush pillow-top mattresses that complement the luxurious European sheets, duvets and terry, while crystal chandeliers add glamour that present and overall ambiance that is inviting and warm.

We would love to see you back with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel has the perfect location for a stay in New York City; you are right at the center of major spots, within walking distance. The hotel has a great atmosphere and the staff is very helpful. The room for us as family of 4 could have been somewhat bigger in order to have a bit more storage space. We really enjoyed the breakfast on the roof terrace. I would sincerely recommend a stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
I'm delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us at The Sanctuary Hotel.

We would love to see you back with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at the sanctuary hotel in may. The location is brilliant, the staff are extremely helpful and best of all don't beg for tips. Everything is about you having a great time in New York. I can tell you from this experience you are glad to tip. We were in NY last year and stAyed elsewhere. This hotel is great. The rooftop bar is really cool too but maybe a bit noisy if you are elderly. Otherwise a great choice got your NY stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are happy to know that you had such a great experience with us. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambery, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

2nd time in the Sanctuary

The staff is very friendly and helped us have a nice time in NY.
STAR managers (Brandon, Jacob and Jimmy) set reservations for you in any place you want.
Our room was large enough with everything you might need (LED TV, ihome music system, comfortable bed...).

The breakfast was previously served in a large room at level floor but it was moved to the rooftop. A very good idea that gives you a feeling of space to begin your day.
Unfortunately, we didn't have the opportunity to try the new restaurant of the hotel - the Tender.

We will definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We appreciate the feedback and hope to have you back with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I only stayed at this hotel for 4 nights but it was a very pleasant stay! The reception area is very nice! I stayed on level 5! The room was excellent and very stylish!
I had no problem with any noise at night!
The star concierge service was excellent! They go out of their way to help you!
The haven restaurant and bar on the rooftop was also very nice!
A great place to stay right in the centre of Times Square but tucked away from all the noise!
Great hotel - highly recommended!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.