We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #30 of 453 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sanctuary Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Loved the hotel, prime location, quality staff - had a brilliant time. Would go back in a heart beat. If you are looking for a quality place to stay with a chilled vibe and excellent location this is the place for you. Rooms are typical NY City style, not huge but big enough to enjoy your stay. At the end of the day you aren't in there much. Would recommend to anyone. Massive mention to the STAR team who bent over backwards for you, cheers fellas.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We truly appreciate when guests take the time to provide us with such great feedback.

We are delighted to know that your Sanctuary experience was such a good one and we hope to have you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    606
    122
    33
    10
See reviews for
330
1017
80
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Booked as a birthday trip for my partner. Attention to detail ,standards of cleanliness and atmosphere are all exemplary but above all,the genuine friendliness of the staff really made this the best hotel we have ever stayed in.Brandon the concierge was so helpful and knowledgeable .already saving for the next trip .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your birthday celebration with us.

I will certainly let Brandon and the rest of the staff know about your positive feedback. We would love to see you back with us again.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATY, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was my first trip to NYC. We went in December right before Christmas. My husband has been several times and he was a little worried when I told him the name of the hotel we were staying at because he had never heard of it before. Now we both agree it is the only place we will stay when we go! It is in the best location right down from time square. It is also close to many other attractions. We walked almost everywhere we went. In the mornings they have a little breakfast set up down stairs with bagels, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, and tea. It was perfect for us because we usually eat light in the am and then we would find a yummy restaurant for a bigger lunch. We went to the huge Starbucks just down the street almost every morning and then we would walk or catch the subway right across from there to get where we needed to go. Everyone at the hotel was super nice and helpful! The rooms are small like everywhere in NYC, but they were very clean. The beds were comfortable and I am used to sleeping on a tempur pedic so I don't usually sleep as well when I am out of town. The hotel is a little dark, but this didn't bother me. I found it peaceful when we got in from a long day of walking and sightseeing and the fire was going and the lights were dim. I'm not sure I would bring my kids here, but it was great for a couples or friends getaway. We also had a blast the night we went up to the restaurant at the top of the hotel. I think it is called cloud 9 or something with cloud. Anyways, the food and drinks were amazing and the music was great! We ended up staying way too late and drinking way too much, but it was fun and all we had to do was get to the right room!! ; ) My husband and I loved this place and we will be coming back hopefully really soon!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We are excited to hear when guest write such positive detailed comments about the hotel. A lot of effort and thought was placed in the design. It brings us great joy to know that the environment and experience that we are trying to create, is appreciated by our guests.
I'm also happy to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy our rooftop restaurant Haven. We pride ourselves in being different from other rooftops where we focus more on the dining experience.

Your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to have back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

When we signed in at the hotel, the receptionist said that we would be in room 903 and that had one of the best views in the hotel. If you can call looking at a church roof and if you crane your head you might see a bit of Times Square. The room itself was decorated lovely and was nice and clean, but it was very small and they did not have a separate bathroom the shower was practically in the bedroom, but you could pull a curtain across if you wanted to. Saying that the hotel staffs were lovely and the hotel was situated in the heart of everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
I'm very disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations and apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced. Here at the Sanctuary, we make every effort to provide our guests with the best possible services.

Our rooms are designed with the intent to maximize use of space while creating an environment that is both inviting and warm. From our plush pillow-top mattresses, to our rainfall shower heads, many guests feel that our rooms are well appointed and have the guest’s experience in mind. We have multiple room options ranging from standard queen rooms to deluxe king rooms. I only wished that you had informed our front desk of your concerns, so that we had the opportunity to provide you with different room options. We want every guest visit to be as comfortable and enjoyable as it can be.

We would love for you to give us another opportunity in the future, so that we may provide you with the flawless stay that you deserve. Please contact me directly for reservations, so that I may personally ensure that your visit is the way it should be. I can be reached at jeremy@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Sanctuary Hotel was only half a block from Times Square which was a perfect, central location for our first visit to New York. Staff were helpful and friendly. The room was modern, well appointed and clean. Having complimentary wifi and breakfast made things very comfortable for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We appreciate the great feedback and hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We picked this hotel at the last minute based solely on location and price, expecting it to be adequate but not great. We were wrong--it was great.

The price was fine--typical midtown expensive but not crazy. The room was not exceptionally big but was laid out very well and was nicely decorated. I'm not particularly adept at describing decorative styles, but it was stylish and modern but , at the same time, felt soothing and comforting. In short, it was a room that looked and felt good and we enjoyed staying in it.

But what really made this hotel was the service and the people who provided it.

Everyone we met who worked there was cheerful and friendly and made a genuine effort to be helpful. We will come back to this hotel again. In a town where service workers often seem to be put out by having to deal with customers, this place was a real "sanctuary."

Room Tip: We had Room 601 which looked out over the front of the hotel. It was a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
I am delighted to hear that your experience here at The Sanctuary Hotel was beyond expectations.

It's nice to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms. The design in mind was to maximize use of space, while creating an atmosphere that was inviting and warm.

Should your travels bring you back to New York City. Please think of us, because we would love to have you back.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

arrived at this hotel after a long flight, they welcomed us with tea/coffee took our bags to our room, which was upgraded as it was my 40th. loved it here right on top of time square, a fantastic ,fabulous location couldn't of asked for a better location. xx the staff here are really helpful and fun to be around. xx

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your 40th with us at The Sanctuary Hotel.

We love being able to provide little amenities like tea and coffee to make our guests happy. We would love to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.