We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am going back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #25 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Biella, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“I am going back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stayed there with some colleagues in January...and I am going back in few days!
Rooms are quite small, but the service is very good. I would suggest some more attention on the clients' needs: I asked to take care of one box shipment and I was told that FedEx is just in front of the hotel...I was expecting something different. Brava Paloma at the reception and the porters are lovely. Very fresh and young atmosphere, great location.
Sanctuary's Team: see you in a few days! :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We look forward to your return and thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve our services.

We hope that we can continue to make The Sanctuary Hotel your home away from home.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,559
    651
    135
    36
    13
See reviews for
357
1,139
87
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Staff very friendly + excellent location.
Found staff extremely helpful.
Just around the corner from Times Square and Broadway.
Lovely breakfast included.
Lovely rooftop bar, nice menu and drinks list.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Literally, we had not got out of our taxi and Markeq had spirited our luggage away, we had two coffee's had been checked-in and in our room before we knew it. Markeq then re-appeared with our bags gave us the low-down on our beautifully appointed room - asked about us, explained who everyone was and what services they all would provide and made is laugh .... After nearly a whole day of travelling we felt so welcome and relaxed - great customer experience.

And the 1st class service kept coming from every member of staff during our stay.

We booked a deluxe king room which is a good size but when you are in NYC, size doesn't really matter (too much). But ... The bed is sooooo so comfy.

Breakfast - often an extra when in NYC - is part of your stay and will set you up for your day ahead.

We ate at The Haven on our final night - an extremely cool place to be, for visitors and New Yorkers alike .... Food & Cocktails were spot on and the level service you receive elsewhere at the Sanctuary carried thru to the waiting staff at The Haven.

Highly recommended place to stay.... The staff (everyone single one of them) make this hotel special

Will we return .....? You bet we will.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful about your stay at The Sanctuary Hotel.

I'm glad to hear that your experience with us was so memorable. The staff will be so excited to read about your feedback and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Hotel´s staff was super nice and the hotel was very stylish from decoration to food. We ate dinner and the experience was so good including the pasta, that i have to mention the hotels food again on this review. Thank you for this vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
I am delighted to know that we were able to provide you with the service that you deserve. We hope to have you back with us again for another wonderful visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Just got back from a fantastic stay at this hotel. It is in a great location right by Times Square. A small and friendly Hotel that immediately put you at ease. The staff are amazing and seem to get to know you quickly and will help you in any way they can. The rooms are on the small side but spotless, very modern with everything you need. Breakfast on the roof top bar was very good, and the roof top was also a great place to go for early evening cocktails. Would definitely stay again if we go back to New York.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your experience.

I'm happy to know that you had the opportunity to experience our rooftop restaurant Haven. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed in the Sanctuary for my Birthday over the St Patrick's weekend. When we arrived we were upgraded because they knew it was my birthday. The staff were first class and could not have been any more helpful. Our room was terrific and our breakfast was very good.I would definitely recommend staying there to anyone who was thinking of going to New York, the location was excellent only a few minutes from Times Square. A special mention to Julio who always had a great smile when opening the door for us even though it was freezing. Thanks again to all the staff who were really first class.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your birthday celebration with us at The Sanctuary Hotel.

Julio will be very happy to read about your comments. We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I had the best service at this hotel. The staff was very helpful and attentive.Truly made our trip into NYC that much more enjoyable. Can't wait to book our next stay.Best thing about this hotel however is its location. Times square, subway and broadway within 1 minute walk, Rockefeller plaza 5 mins, even Macy's, empire state building and Madison Square garden about 15 min walk. Rooftop has a continental breakfast buffet which is delicious and plenty of variety.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
I'm excited to know that you enjoyed your experience at our unique hotel. We pride ourselves in being a discrete retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Our focus is to provide each guest with the best possible services. Should your travels bring you back to New York City, please think of The Sanctuary. We would love to have you back.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.