We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel I have ever stayed in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Fans Save 20%
Ranked #25 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Hotel I have ever stayed in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have just gotten back from a girls weekend in NYC and this hotel really made our trip - a trip to remember. From the staff at the front door, front desk, (especially Marcelle & Brandon), we had the time of our lives. Rooms are modern and spotless clean. Includes a really good breakfast. Fantastic Roof Top Bar. Yet it is quiet and really does feel very Zen. Best location ever. Cannot recommend enough - but hopefully not enough to make it difficult getting a reservation same time next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,559
    651
    135
    36
    13
See reviews for
357
1,139
87
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for the night to celebrate our one year anniversary. We were very happy with choosing this hotel after reading the reviews on TA. The rooms are not all that big but that was to be expected. The layout was great though very clean and modern. The staff was very pleasant from doorman to front desk and bartenders at the rooftop bar. There is a parking garage across the street which give u a discount for staying with the hotel. We had a drink at the rooftop bar. They have a nice selection of speciality cocktails that were very good. Breakfast was good but very simple in the morning. All in all we had a great stay and would def recommend and return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel is situated right by Times Square, very convenient for the theatre goers and walking distance to key areas including Central Park. The staff were extremely friendly without being overbearing and the rooftop bar and restaurant very atmospheric. Just we had a longer stay and would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We appreciate your great feedback and look forward to your next return.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the sanctuary hotel was perfect: wonderful room, Amazing roof top, staff very kind, and very well located for our first night in NY. Amazing! We have a really wondeful souvenir and I would definitely recomand this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
I'm happy to know that you had an amazing time with us at The Sanctuary Hotel.

We would love to see you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed for 7 nights
Front desk were very helpful throughout stay and door man very polite and friendly

Room was very modern and clean- not massive but that's a New York thing..

Very short walk to hussle and bussle of Times Square - and many different subway stations

Despite location we found room to be very quiet at night and blinds shut out the light so you can rest easily after. Busy day enjoying in New York

Rooftop bar was great to chill out and food was tasty and decent value

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

staff was friendly and eficient
room size was good, however my room was Deluxe King
location great for midtown
silent room, roof top restaurant and bar- very good
breakfast not fancy
very good very good very good very good very good very good very good very good very good

Room Tip: dont get the smaller avaible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Location is half block to times square, next to broadway shows and shopping. Staff is very friendly. The room is small but the bathroom is good. They got a nice and beautiful lounge. This hotel is an example to be followed.

Room Tip: Get a backside room. My room number: 515
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We always appreciate when guests take the time to provide us with great feedback.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.