We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot-REALLY close to it all but not in the middle of the mayhem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 459 Hotels in New York City
new york
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“great spot-REALLY close to it all but not in the middle of the mayhem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Friendly helpful service. clean rooms, funky furnishings, good continental breakfast (included)
wifi (included) parking right across the street - discounted-

hotel roof bar/restaurant- DON'T go if you are expecting Michelin type meal food is standard fare- but worth a stop if just to have a drink and check out the view!

good value for NYC- rooms are small but NO smaller than anywhere else- again this is NYC

enjoyed my stay and would go back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of us on tripadvisor.

We really appreciate when guests take the time to provide us with feedback and we hope to see you back with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    655
    137
    35
    13
See reviews for
358
1,147
87
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from the most wonderful week staying at the Sanctuary Hotel. The trip was to celebrate my significant birthday and we were joined by friends and family to make a group of nine of us at the hotel. The location is brilliant - a block from Times Square, a couple of blocks to the Rockefeller Center, and right near the subway. The rooms are great (we had a king size), breakfast is included, and the staff were wonderful. As well as the usual booking of restaurants, tips and recommendations, the staff looked after us with cakes, cards and wine for those of us celebrating special occasions. More importantly, they took special care of my mother-in-law who had a nasty fall in the lobby and cut her head quite badly. In particular, Jacob the concierge was fantastic in arranging for a doctor to attend after hours, as well as making all sorts of rearrangements for us in relation to restaurant bookings. The concern shown by Jacob and the rest of the staff that night as well as over the following days was genuine and very well appreciated by all of us.

We also loved having the Haven on the rooftop (and a haven it was). Great for a cold drink after an afternoon shopping, a cocktail before going out to dinner, or a nightcap after coming home from the theatre.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your special birhtday celebaration with us. Our staff make every effort to go above and beyond for all our guests. The goal is to always create a unique and memorable experience.

We would love to see you back with us in the near future for another great stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

great place to take the wife on a date.. rooms have a classy romantic atmosphere...NYC size but perfect for what you need a hotel room for..staff are helpful and nice on the eyes..abundance of restaurants from a beer to a champagne pocket.. hit a show or grab a citi bike and cruse central park.. unlimited choices.. it’s Mid-Town NYC, so if you can’t find a good time here.. check yourself into a senior home… because your done…

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are delighted to know that you decided to choose The Sanctuary Hotel as the place to take your wife away for a romantic getaway.

We pride ourselves in being a discrete retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The goal is to create and atmosphere that is both inviting and warm. Many such as yourself, find it very romantic.

We would love to have you back in the near future for another great stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the moment you arrive the staff do everything they can to be helpful and welcoming, the hotel is just around the corner from Times Square so perfect for exploring New York, the rooms are typical for New York In that they are small but perfectly formed, nicely decorated and have everything you could need , also the beds are extremely comfortable. The breakfast is a great extra with a good range cereals,bagels and fruits so you are well set for sightseeing. There is a lovely roof bar which is a great way to start and end the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We always appreciate when guest take the time out of their busy schedules to provide us with such great feedback. The staff make every effort to provide our guests with a unique and memorable visit. They will surely have smiles on all their faces when they read about your comments.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We picked this hotel based on the reviews we read. The main criteria for us were location and service and we were not disappointed. The attitude and professionalism of all staff was excellent, and suggestions by the concierge service were good and reliable. Rooftop was certainly worth a visit - both for food/drinks/service and for the simple fact of seeing and hearing New York from another angle. We had to get to JFK during the time when the cabs rotate their shifts and they had one of their preferred drivers waiting for us when it was time to leave - nice touch.
So maybe the rooms are small, but if you read the reviews, you will know that - and will know not to complain after your stay. Having said that, our room 314 was very dark as it faced an inner courtyard. Reception said we could have changed but we were already settled in and didn't spend much time in room anyway.
Thanks again to all of you at the Sanctuary for making our stay great and memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel was great and the staff were all smiley and friendly, particularly the girls in the restaurant for breakfast in the morning , very helpful...but the let down for me was on check out...one member of staff on reception actually gave me a card with his name on it and told me to mention him in my tripadvisor review. I am pretty sure he does this all the time! i had not even mentioned I would do a review, and shockingly I had not even seen this particularly guy all week, it was the first time i'd seen him or spoken to him. Why would I mention him in any review! Maybe this is just New York!
The staff on view all "looked well" but I felt the nicest genuine staff were the girls at breakfast.
The hotel was great. It was my frist trip to new york so i probably woudl not pay the high price for a small room again, now that I am familiar with the subway i know how easy it is to use so I would stay somewhere away from times Square next time at a better price. But if you are just there for 1/2 nights then this place is ok. the hotel across the road (stay hotel?) has bigger rooms though! our room at the sanctuary was tiny ( and the bathroom was a curtain pulled around the corner of the room...not funky...just weird! My friend stayed across the road in the Stay hotel because the sanctuary was booked out and his room was way better than ours ithink...but he didnt get breakfast. Buut you dont really need it, there a reat place close by.

Room Tip: the concierge told us our room was one of the biggest when he saw our face....either he was lying or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location, amazing customer service from all staff, clean and well equipped room and nice complimentary breakfast. Exceeded all our expectations.
Very professional concierge who by the time we had walked through the front door had clearly looked at our record and seen it was my daughters birthday and wished her happy birthday. A card and cupcakes for her in the room was a lovely touch.

Room Tip: Having read previous reviews we requested a high level room (but not immediately under The haven) an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Knowing that your experience with us was "perfect" is one of the biggest compliments one can receive.

We are happy to know that your daughters enjoyed their birthday celebration with us at The Sanctuary Hotel. We simply can't wait to have you back with us.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.