We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place to stay when in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Place to stay when in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Sanctuary Hotel for our first NYC visit and we were treated very well. The staff was always helpful, kind and very accomadating which was a pleasure after dealing with some not so friendly New Yorkers. I would stay here again and would recommend this facility to anyone! The Have was awesome, food was good, service was great! Good job staff!! A big Texas shout out and Thank Ya'll from us!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We loved having you here and would be happy to see you back with us soon.

We appreciate the feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,570
    655
    137
    35
    13
See reviews for
358
1,147
87
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at The Sanctuary at the beginning of June.The hotel was modern, perfectly situated a stones throw from Times Square and clean. The staff were really helpful, especially Brendon the concierge who, after a mix-up with trying to get a table in the rooftop restaurant went above and beyond to make up for this . If we visit New York again we will definitely stay here, and would not hesitate to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are delighted to hear that Brandon was so helpful. Our goal is to provide each guest with a S.T.A.R. (Service Tailored to Any Request) experience and I'm happy that we were able to provide that for you.

I will be sure to share your feedback with Brandon and the rest of the staff.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Sanctuary Hotel and it will not be our last. We are recommending this hotel to everyone we know who is headed to NYC. Perfect location. Steps from Times Square. Beautiful interior and Fantastic service. Everyone we came in contact with at the hotel was friendly and helpful. That started right after booking the room!! They emailed me asking what they could do to make our stay easier and more enjoyable. I asked for restaurant recommendations and was within minutes provided with a fantastic email response including multiple different locations with small descriptions about the restaurants. The room (king) was small with very good use of the space. My only critique would be that our view was a brick wall. So if you are looking for a view, you may want to ask for that specifically. The price was also great and when we decided to stay a second night, the rate had actually dropped almost $100! Couldn't pass that up! Overall a 5 star experience!

Room Tip: If you are looking for some type of view, ask before booking. We had a view of a brick wall with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us at the Sanctuary Hotel.

The staff make every effort to provide our guests with the best possible services. The goal is to create a unique and memorable stay for everyone.

We would love to see you back with us soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My kids and I spent a lovely 4 nights' stay here last week. The hotel is comfortable and clean with polite and helpful staff. I want to compliment the doorman who is of Indian descent, sorry I cannot remember his name but it starts with N. He went out of his way to help us flag down a taxi (this is NYC!), to the extent of going to different streets to do so. We love the short walking distances to all the theatres in Broadway, and the wonderful restaurants and shopping in Times Square. We did not even have to take the subway as the location was perfect; everything within a 5-15 min walk! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I'm happy to know that our bellman Ninan was able to provide you with such great assistance.

Our staff are empowered to provide the very best for our guests and it's good to know that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to NYC and we wanted to try a smaller hotel after staying at a large chain hotel last time. It made a big difference in terms of service and made for a great experience. The concierge team were fantastic and helped us find everything we were looking for- and had great recommendations for restaurants which we took up and were impressed. It was our anniversary so treated ourselves to the "sweet" as they call it and it was a lovely large room which was very comfortable. There is a great bar on the top floor. Brilliant location for Times Square,
Central Park etc. We didn't eat at all at the hotel so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

We would love to have you back next time to try out our rooftop dining.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

First time in New York City and I couldn't recommend a better place to stay in Manhatten. The Sanctuary is situated right next to Times Square, within easy walking distance of any of the major sights. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially getting those WTC tickets on Memorial Day ... we didn't have to do anything! The room was clean and beautiful, with a perfect view of the surrounding city. This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at, and I highly recommend it for anyone that hasn't been to NYC before.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your great experience with us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here at The Sanctuary Hotel. We can't wait to have you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We felt really welcome and confortable at this amazing Hotel. They assisted us since the very first moment when we had trouble in our reservations. After that, with precise information regarding how to get there from LGA; then with a particular way of receiving guests that makes us feel very well. Our special thanks goes to Mr Jacob Schwartz who has given us special directions for amazing restaurants that really made our trip special. Finally, we also refer to the Rooftop Haven and the location of the hotel as important reasons to chose this pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback and are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit with us.

We hope to see you back with us soon for another great stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.