We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Hotel New York to your Saves list
Sanctuary Hotel New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sanctuary hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a great time at the Sanctuary. The hotel is next to Times Square and Broadway and on walking distance to Central Park and The Empire State Building.

The room was nice and clean. The bed and pillows were just fine. The breakfast is simple but I think for New York standards just normal. On the rooftop a nice bar to drink a cocktail. Also a popular place for non guest.

We really appreciated the STAR experience. The friendly gentleman arranged nice dinners for us. They really listened to our wishes and did a very great job!

A great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our S.T.A.R. (Service Tailored to Any Request) experience.

The staff put forth great effort in providing our guests with the best possible experience. Our goal is to always create a unique and memorable experience and I'm glad that we were able to do that with you.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,777
    717
    144
    36
    16
See reviews for
401
1,284
100
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

From booking this Hotel I had the most amazing help from Brandon at the onset, I felt like I was special months before I arrived, this Hotel could not be more helpful if it tried. The room was spotless (I defy anyone who says it is not). The shower was wonderful, the toiletries were a luxury, lovely fluffy towels, clean crisp bedding. The breakfast was more than adequate (unlike one reviewer). It was extremely close to Times Square and within walking distance of most other places. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, there were more than attentive. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE. I did not have a view from my room, but I think that most people who are visiting New York are not going to spend time in their room. I only have one complaint I WAS NOT THERE LONG ENOUGH. If anyone can find a complaint about this hotel then they need to get a life. I would definitely return to this Hotel if I were lucky enough to visit New York again. Thank you everyone. I have not rated Swimming Pool, as I am not sure that it has one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I travel for a living so I'm extremely picky about hotels when I'm spending my money. I can't say enough good things about Sanctuary Hotel. From the moment I approached the entry steps I was promptly greeted. The security/doorman radio'd the front desk of my arrival and from that moment on I felt completely welcomed. The lobby is dark like most boutique hotels with a club/lounge vibe. It can either take a few minutes for the elevator or it is promptly there. I like the added security of only being able to access the rooms by using a card key in the elevator. The room was great and the bed was super comfy. I love the openness of the room and the option of drawing the curtain to close of the bathroom and water closet. I promptly sent a video of the room to my sister who wants to stay here sometime this summer. Added piece of greatness in the room, the chandelier above the bed. I didn't get a chance to check out the complimentary breakfast but I'm not really a breakfast in the morning person. I will definitely be back and soon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

For our second visit to NYC my husband and I decided on The Sanctuary hotel - it was the perfect choice. A great location and very friendly and helpful staff. Special thanks go to Brandon, Jacob and Lauren for help with the shopping (excellent maps provided - much to the delight of hubby?!), theatre tickets, restaurant suggestions and more!

Our room was small but perfectly formed. When I visit again, I shall request a larger room, as I expect my sister and I to need the extra space for all our shopping!!!

Already looking forward to my return :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us.

We really appreciate the feedback and would love to have you back soon. I would like to suggest our Double Double rooms for your next stay with your sister. I trust that the additional space will be more suitable to both your needs.

We look forward to having you back.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

When you've been stuck at JFK for hours clearing customs, and the New York traffic is rush hour, you want your transportation driver to pull up at The Sanctuary!! When I saw this hotel from the window, and the concierge rushing down the steps to greet us, and those big wooden doors fly open to take you in from the New York rain I just thought to myself I'm in the right place! The lobby is calm and peaceful, the staff are happy you have arrived. Just perfect! Only a minutes walk to Times Square on a quiet side street but you are right in the heart of the city that never stops. Loved the room, spacious, plenty of storage. It's the little things I always think that separate great hotels from the rest. A few notable examples are:- STAR manager always available - service tailored to any request! - great concierge service!!!!! Complementary continental breakfast. Free coffee in the lobby!!!!!! It was my birthday in NYC and a card was left signed by the staff with the yummiest cup cakes!!!! Great place!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing such a great experience with us here on tripadvisor.

We make every effort to provide a S.T.A.R (Service Tailored to Any Request) experience for everyone. As we continue to aspire to go above and beyond, feedback such as yours motivate us to continuously improve upon the services that we provide.

Should your future travels bring you back to NYC, I hope that you think of the Sanctuary Hotel. We would love to have you back.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thionville, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I recommend this hotel for many things:
- his emplacement just near Time square (at just one street),
- the service which is greatful, people are so nice,
- the room is proper and beautiful
Thanks to the sanctuary for this very good trip.
We'll come back.

Room Tip: we were on the 5th level and have big windows. very good place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of us.

We appreciate the feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We can't wait to have you back for another great stay.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We booked a room for one night at this hotel for my birthday. The room was as expected, true to the pictures. It was quite small but perfect for us and our one day stay. The bed was super comfy and big. The shower was big enough for two. The bathroom was in a separate area with a door which is good.

We liked the mini bar with small bottles of liquor and soft drinks. Of course you had to pay extra but the prices are clearly stated on a sheet of paper.

The hotel is close to Times Square, which is perfect for tourists.

All in all we liked this hotel and would recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.